We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“just right”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Leon

Chalet Leon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Leon
Chalet Leon The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Chalet Leon
Chalet Leon
The lounge
The lounge
Wood burning stove
The kitchen
The kitchen
Double bedroom
Twin en-suite bedroom
The mezzanine area
Morzine in the Summer
View of Mont Blanc from the top of Pleney
Great for mountain biking
Tour de France 2010
Chalet Leon in summer
Its snowing!
The ski slopes
Amazing mountain scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montriond, Morzine, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Simon D
1 review
“just right”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a great time, the chalet was just right. It was clean and warm. A lovely log burner.I would stay there again. 15min to 20min walk to Morzine . Shop and pub about walk 5mins away and bus stop 100m away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: chalet, owner was great
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
It's great that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBucking...
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful cosy chalet in quiet location”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Do not be deceived by the outside of chalet Leon! It may look like the smallest chalet in Montriond but it provides spacious accommodation for a couple of small families. We were there over New Year and especially enjoyed the wood burner in the snug lounge - it also heated the mezzanine bedroom above very effectively.
The whole chalet is well equipped and large fluffy white towels are provided. Do specify if you would like the double beds or twin beds made up with linen. We found it best to place one family in the two rooms down stairs with one shower room and then ourselves, a couple, in the mezzanine.
The bread shop in Montriond village is just an 8 minute walk down the road so we had warm loaves and croissants each morning (it is also a well stocked supermarket). In the other direction it takes about 15 minutes to walk to central Morzine.
The start of the 2015 ski season will go down as one of the worst in memory but at least there was limited skiing available at Avoriaz. We were blessed with several sunny days and opted for long walks instead - superb (although a bit wierd walking up grassy red runs above Morzine).
We would certainly recommend this accommodation and the owner was available by phone and very helpful when we needed advice on how to change a gas bottle one evening!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Self contained accommodation for a samll group
Liked least: Steep stairs with limited headroom could be a problem for people who are not very mobile.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the chalet. It's a shame that the snow arrived just as you were leaving.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewbri...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great location and a super little chalet.”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We very much enjoyed our stay at Chalet Leon. Both Montriond and Morzine were an easy walk for us and our two children aged 13 and 11. As a family we made full use of the Multi Pass which allows you to use the lifts, tennis courts, ice rink, swimming pools, etc. for only 2 euros per person per day.
We were particularly pleased to find that the bed linen was included and that basics such as condiments, sugar, washing up liquid, etc., were also provided. All too often when renting in France we have had quite barren accommodation, and these little things can make a visit go much more smoothly.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“2nd visit and we will be back again”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The booking was simple and easy. On arrival the chalet was clean with some useful local information. Parking directly outside on a quiet side road. The chalet is superbly situated, only a 10-15 min walk to Morzine and 5-10 min walk to Montriond. The chalet was well equipped and spacious enough with the room layout for some privacy. The outside chairs were a real bonus sitting on the balcony gazing across the valley to the mountains. For families or couples this is great chalet to stay and explore the local area.This was our 2nd visit to the chalet and we will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the balcony
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
1 review
“A gem of a cabin”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here as two couples with young adult offspring and we had plenty of room in the chalet for 6. In the warm August weather it was delightful to relax with windows and doors open with the sound of the mountain stream and views across to the mountains. Good for lazy hot days and cosy for the couple of huge thunder storms.
Having the living room floor between the upstairs bedroom and the lower floor bedrooms gave a sense of quiet privacy too.Well equipped kitchen and good seating at the table for 6.
A short walk down the pretty road to the excellent cafe tabac , supermarket and pizza restaurant in Montriond when we stayed local, otherwise plenty of choice in Morzine town.
Really comfortable and enjoyable stay in a lovely chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character of the chalet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer6...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy, characterful chalet in a great location”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in Chalet Leon over Christmas with our two grown-up children, and had a lovely time. The owners had thoughtfully provided both a Christmas tree and logs for the woodburner, which made for some relaxing evenings by the fire. The location is excellent, with great walks on the doorstep and easy access to a large ski area. Both Morzine and Montriond are pleasant, with plenty of cafes and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: real fire
Liked least: no dishwasher or wi-fi (but don't let that put you off!); steep internal stairs might not be ideal for very small children or people with mobility problems
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing