We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Chalet, good food and good skiing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
kids chill out area complete with toys, games, books & dvd player.
heated boot room
exterior of the chalet
Balcony view
Enter a caption for your photo
View of the lift from Chalet Balcony
The lifts are open in July & August in the summertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oz en Oisans, Isere, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TerryS298
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Chalet, good food and good skiing”
Reviewed 21 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Hi,

I have just spent the first week of the season at Tom & Ash's chalet. I have stayed here before and would not stay anywhere else in this resort or Alps d'Heuz.

The location is super, you get your ski boots on and walk to the first lift. No bother or transfers or ski lodges. It's refreshing to get to the top of the mountain fresh, and then get exhausted on the piste, not on the journey there. The same can be said for when you return from your day on the slopes. Off the ski lift, walk for 2 minutes, then home for a shower and a quick drink, or maybe the other way round!

It's worth mentioning that the village now has a blue run, right back to the L'Alpette Ski Lift, next to the Chalets, which much improves things for the beginner skiers.

We were lucky that the other lodge was quiet, so Tijn and Michaela (from the other lodge) cooked for us on two nights. Tom is good, well excellent actually, but this season he has got some good competition. What was nice was the fact that if we had a busy day, the meal was very filling. On the quiet days, Tom changed the menu so it wasn't so calorific. It's nice to be able to talk to the hosts and do that. Rather than a set menu, even if you don't want it.

The lodges are well equipped, and last season we had fun on the Xbox and Children's area upstairs. This time was more for the adults, and although quiet ( not full of drunk teenagers) we ventured to the Oz bar one night and Le Poutran which had live music on the night we ventured out.

So to recap, this is a good value holiday. Not at the lower end of the market admittedly, but worth every pound.

Looking forward to my next visit in 2012, assuming it's not all booked up!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JezEvans
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Late summer cycling training”
Reviewed 21 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Chilled Mountain have two exceptionally attractive and modern chalets. They have a large number of bedrooms / bathrooms, good communal lounge and well spec'd kitchen. Both have a fantastic clear view over the valley to the village of Allemont. There is also a large storage area / garage essential for cyclists safe storage and "tinkering" ! Tom and Ash are two fantastic hosts - this is my second time at this chalet (both cycling related) and these two guys are incredibly helpful, friendly and professional - nothing is too much trouble. Their maturity defies there youth.The location is literally next door to the ski station (at 1450m high) - it leads upto L'Alpe d'Huez so ideal for skiers and dedicated cyclists alike. It's also a great location for mountain bikers, with a specific downhill run accessed from the chair lift. I would recommend to anyone, i'm confident this venue compliments any alpine visitors needs.My booking was simple and efficient with the help of Rosie. I'm about to book a return next August i like it that much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff_in...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful summer scenary and adventures”
Reviewed 4 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The chalet was of a very high standard and offered breath taking views. Tom continually served up delicious delights and Ash looked after all our needs. We were lucky to have sampled 'roast pork belly'. My wife was so impressed that she told me it was better than Gordan's! Green tea cheesecake was sensational. We really enjoyed the summer walks on the mountain and challenging mountain bike tracks – thankfully there were ample lifts nearby and bike runs. A thoroughly enjoyable getaway experience!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damosuzuk...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, friendly hosts, great location, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 31 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We had a fantastic week staying in Chalet Galibier. We were greeted at the airport by our private transfer organised by chilled mountain and welcomed to the chalet with champagne and canapes. The food throughout the week was excellent and any preferences or dietary requirements were catered for with care and the vegetarian option was not just an after thought as is sometimes the case. The chalet itself is modern, comfortable and is only about 50m from the Alpette lift in Oz. From here you can head towards Vaujany or carry on up the cable car and ski down a red run to the main resort. The Poutran lift is a short walk, but has access to the lovely wide green slopes that head down to Alpe D'Huez. Its true that Oz is very quiet in terms of night life but it was generally a quiet week anyway which didn't help. Of course for some this will be a plus point! Overall I would highly recommend Chilled Mountain especially to families and those seeking relaxing evenings after their day skiing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamKat...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“It was all that the Chilled Mountain website promised. Excellent.”
Reviewed 11 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

This was a real find, with a quick reponse to our initial enquiry and helpful advice from the chalet owners. We had a wonderful family Christmas in a beautiful chalet with great views. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The food was superb - every dinner was inventive and delicious. Oz is a lovely little village with easy access to the main ski slopes. We found pistes and off piste to challenge all abilities. We would reccommend this holiday to other families as there is nothing better than reflecting on a great day's skiing, digesting after a lovely meal, in front of a roaring log fire in the chalet.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTin...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome chalet, close to great ski slopes”
Reviewed 12 June 2010 for a stay in February 2010

I have been learning to ski in the village of Oz en Oisans, and it is a very friendly village with lots of varying levels of ski slopes to play on (as well as all the black runs and off piste options to keep the others in the group happy). The best thing though is being able to stay at Chilled Mountain which I've been back to a couple of times now. In short: very comfortable beds, hot power showers, entertaining hosts, delicious cooked breakfasts, superb 3 or 4 course meals at night, and even freshly baked cakes each day when you get off the mountain. You can see in the photo how close the chalet is to the lift, so for newbies and kids, its not far to lug your gear. The extras like the entertainment system, WII and a very comfy lounge to hang out in with everyone really does make it a home away from home - I thoroughly recommend staying here for a skiing holiday!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldciti...
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Skiing Holiday”
Reviewed 27 March 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Had a fabulous time with Chilled Mountain. The Chalet is on the hillside with a magnificent view out over the valley, and is only a few minutes walk from the lift system. The accommodation was clean, tidy, modern, with a homely atmosphere; and was equipped with a DVD collection, flat screen TV, and a Nintendo Wii.

The staff were very friendly and always ready to help. The food was restaurant quality, with an imagination and variety not expected in a catered chalet holiday. I would certainly recommend this to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing