We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ski village but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence le Chalet des Neiges
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oz en Oisans
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed in March great location with excellent access to the Alps D'huez, the apartments are not cheap and are very plain. There are better deals to be had renting personally owned chalets which we have done in previous years. The pool is nice and the village is also very nice.
The biggest problem if you are self catering and driving is that you have to carry everything from the car park up to the chalet. It's not too far but after 12 hours in the car it's a real pain up three flights of stairs. Then you have to find somewhere to park the car. There is free on road parking but its about 500 yards away. As long as you are prepared to do it then its no problem but be prepared use lots of smaller bags and not a huge suitcase.

Room Tip: Take your stuff in bags you can carry up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatboygto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hello! Thanks for your comment. We are sorry that you have been disppointed by the pedestrian access to the residence. We try to inform the best our guest about it in order that they are not surprised and only enjoy the positive side of a "no-car" resort.
You seem to have appreciated the residence and the ski area and we are happy for that.
Best regards, Le Chalet des Neiges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in the Chalet des Neiges (CdN) apartments in February and April. Snow was great, weather was great. We skied from the door and back to the door every day. Its great not to have to carry skis to the lift or to have to take a bus. the red runs back to CdN are very enjoyable and there is even the black mogul run back to the apartments. We tried the restaurant in the complex as well as other restaurants in Oz and they were all pleasant. The Alpette restaurant above Oz is very good, see separate review. The CdN team were very helpful and welcoming, organising the keys outside office hours. Looking forward to returning next season

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hello Mark! Thanks for your feedback, it's very positive. We are glad that you enjoyed you stay in Chalet des Neiges.
Kind Regards, Le Chalet des Neiges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Nice clean well equipped apartment just a short walk from the bubble lift which takes you up into the vast skiing area of Alps D'Huez you can ski back at the end of the day . The swimming pool is small but nice and warm we just went once , the sauna was not working that day. the staff in the reception were pleasant and helpful spoke very good English . we had problems trying to get Internet connection in the apartment which you have to pay for it was terribly slow , but if you go to reception they give you a print out code and you can sit there and use it for free. Other reviewers have mentioned the fact that as the apartment is in a pedestrianised area you have to carry your gear all the way up which is not good and to be honest would put me off going back but everything else about it was fine .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz101Worthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hello, thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you were happy with the standard of service we provide. We are sorry that the pedestrian area would put you off coming back in Oz. We try to be clear in the description of the village and its access to avoid that.
Nevertheless, we have other residence in Les Arcs and Val Thorens which have an easier access and could satisfy more if you wish to stay with Les Chalets des Neiges once again. Fell free to contact our booking service for further information.
Best regards, Le Chalet des neiges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment at the Chalet les Nieges via a private owner's website. Our holiday was early January and after ready TA, I felt I had a good idea of what we could expect. The apartment was clean, VERY well equipped and a fantastic location.

Yes, it is a bit of pain to drag cases up to the chalet but the ski in/ski out aspect makes it worth the effort. The view was breathtaking and we found the chalet staff to be very helpful. We tried to use the pool on Monday to find it was closed and managed to get in Tuesday only to discover it was really too cold to use for any length of time.

The market in Oz had a limited supply and would be expensive to use for all of your cooking if you are that way inclined. If you drive, there are so many hyper markets en route that you will be spoilt for choice. I prepared (and froze) several meals in advance and brought them in a cool bag. So easy to pop them in the oven or on the hob and you have a meal in minutes.

We really enjoyed the evening skiing as well as the street shows. The resort was lovely and clean and the locals very friendly. Both my daughter and I had private ski lessons with Annick at the ESF. She speaks impeccable English and is an excellent teacher. I would highly recommend her for any levels of instruction.

This was our first self-catering ski holiday (having used Esprit and Club Med for the past 6 years) and we were pleasantly surprised how relaxing it was. We are already in contact with the owner in hopes to book the same apartment next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partyb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Eight of us, spanning 3 generations, have spent our 2nd fantastic half term in Oz, part of the Alpe d'Huez area. The sun shone & the snow was very good. We booked the tunnel & Chalet des Neiges through Peak Retreats & it worked very well. It unfortunately is an 8-10hr journey from the tunnel including breaks & the odd queue. But having skied in many resorts, Oz is the best resort that we have found for children as the chalet is ski-in ski-out through the small traffic-free village, ESF ski school meets right outside & there are good shops close (sadly meat only from the supermarket). The Chalet des Neiges apartments are in keeping with the wooden chalet style of the attractive, purpose-built village and are run by very friendly, helpful people. There is a swimming pool, sauna & restaurant but we have never had time to use them, but we did use the ice-rink on the last day. On some evenings there were street performers for the children.
There are 3 green runs & a toboggan run, with a magic carpet and 2 button lifts, plus 2 gondolas up to Alpe d'Huez(huge including lots of greens) or Mont Frais(1 red, 1 green and 5 blues).
Four of us are red/black skiers, one blue/red adult, one green/blue adult and 2 children (nearly 6 & 9 yrs). Last year the last 3 had private lessons but having taken the children for 12 lessons on a dry ski slope, Snowtrax, before we came, we risked putting four into ESF ski school. It was excellent for the children in spite of having 15 in each group, and they loved their teachers, made friends & passed their 1* and 2* respectively. They also took part in the ESF evening torchlight procession on the green runs. Their parents also enjoyed their level 1 & 2 groups, which were smaller, and often hilarious. The remaining 4 of us skied the reds mainly, plus the longest black in Europe(16km), the snow park and some red/black mogul fields. Something for everyone and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Hello! Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you appreciate the services offered by our residence and the resort. We look forward to see you again in Chalet des Neiges. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Loved this place. Just got back from a brilliant weeks skiing. The resort is great for families, and the skiing was top notch. The Residence Le Chalet des Neiges is right in the middle of it. It has lovely apartments, with great facilities. Everything is great except for one little niggle. It is a bit of a schlep from the car park to the apartments, so unloading the car was a bit of a drag. But that really shouldn't put you off.

The view was great and the pool area is very nice too.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattbradney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hello! Thanks for the positive feedback. We are happy that you liked the residence and the resort. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We've stayed in Oz en Oisans three times. Last year was the first time we stayed in Chalet Des Neiges and we were so impressed that we chose to stay there again this February, and we can't wait until next year!
Compared to other ski apartments it is very spacious and comfortable. It's location is great - you can ski to/from the door. In winter the village is pedestrianised with the snow fall which is brilliant for the kids. It's true that you have to carry your luggage up from the car park but it is not as far as other apartments and there are public lifts so that is a small price to pay for a good place to stay. Comments about the staff not wanting to speak English seem at odds to our experience. Though we like to speak French, when we arrived the reception staff asked if we prefer to speak in French or English. In fact all of the staff were very friendly. We were given two bottles of wine on our first night after being allocated a larger apartment than the one we had booked. Logs for the fire were delivered to our door as was bread early in the morning. Fresh towels were delivered half way through the week. When we checked out we were told about discounts on booking for next year.
If you are looking for raucous apres ski, Oz is not the place for you. That's it's appeal. A small village with half a dozen restaurants/bars, one shop, a couple of boulangeries/patisseries and tabac. It has a charming, cosy and safe feel to it. But in winter the biggest bonus is that, compared to bigger ski resorts, there are no huge queues for the ski lifts. And from Oz you can access the whole of the Grandes Rousses ski area.
We would love to go there in the summer too.
One tip for driving there, or back to the airport, on Saturdays (main changeover day) - to avoid the huge traffic jam on the N85 from the motorway, take the Eybens to Vizille route.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoxieandBaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hello! We are very pleased that you were happy with the standard of service we provided. We look forward to you coming back for your next skiing holiday! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oz en Oisans hotels
0.0 mi away
Moontain Hostel
Moontain Hostel
#1 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Lingayoni
Chalet Lingayoni
#2 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Oz
Le Chateau d'Oz
#1 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auberge La Cure
Auberge La Cure
#3 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Passoud
Chez Passoud
#4 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Gelinotte
Chalet Gelinotte
#4 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence le Chalet des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le Chalet des Neiges

Address: Zone d'amenagement concerte Porte Tarentaise, 38114 Oz en Oisans, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Oz en Oisans
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oz en Oisans
Price Range: £79 - £854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence le Chalet des Neiges 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Madame Vacance, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence le Chalet des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Chalet Des Neiges Hotel Oz En Oisans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing