We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, in a family-friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence le Chalet des Neiges
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oz en Oisans
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, in a family-friendly resort”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a great week's skiing at halfterm 2014. The accomodation is comfortable and spacious for the price. There was enough room for all 17 of us (half children) to eat together if we wanted. Definitely ski in/ski out and only a few minutes walk from ESF meeting point. Wifi is only in the reception building, 50m away. The swimming pool was a nice touch.
It was also easy to collect from ski school and have simple lunches together in the chalet from time to time, rather than paying mountain prices.
Oz is pedestrian, so perfect for allowing the children out for early evening tobogganing/churros etc. There are half a dozen restaurants of middling standards - best in our view was the small bar/resto opposite, which was very friendly. The charcuterie in the village was good, and the rotisserie chicken from the little Casino supermarket were a good option - book early for the end of the week, as they run out!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rodandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello!
We thank you warmly for your positive feedback about our residence and the resort.
We hope to see you again in Chalet des Neiges,
Best regards,
Chalet des Neiges Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    31
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for a week in 3-floor, 5-bedroom apartment (A-9). Wel maintained, clean, spacious, nice spacious balcony facing south-west. Located at the building that contains the reception desk. Very friendly, helpful and English speaking staff. Spacious livingroom with large diningtable and enough seats and sofa's. Beds are very good! Not possible to regulate the temperature in the apartment (only by opening windows and doors). In our week it was too warm inside.
Possibility to order bread, which is punctually delivered between between 7.30 and 8.00 AM at the frontdoor of your apartment. Skibox in basement is too small to store all the ski-boots, so you have to take them inside. Located at a distance of less than 100 mtrs of everything. Recommended!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment A-9 with 7 persons. 10 persons fits without a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCdeJonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello! All the team of Chalet des neiges thank you warmly for your comment. It's very positive and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our residence.
Please feel free to contact our booking service for an other stay!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just returned from a weeks skiing in Oz en Oisans. We stayed in a 3 bedroomed apartment in the Chalet des Neiges complex in the heart of the village. The standard of accommodation exceeded our expectations and the location of the apartment (C4) was literally a few metres from the ESF ski school meeting point in the heart of the village. It was the first truly ski in ski out accommodation we have stayed in. The village itself is small and car free which was perfect for the children and they enjoyed the sledging in the evenings. The Sherpa supermarket opposite our apartment was well stocked and very convenient. There are several restaurants and bars within a few metres away.
The resort offers easy access to the whole of the grand domain ski area and we particularly enjoyed the L'Alpette and Vaujunay side which did seem to be quieter than the main Alp d'Huez areas.
It was half term for everyone the week we were there but we hardly had to queue for any lifts and generally found the slopes, if not quiet, certainly not as busy as expected for that particular week.
The access to the accommodation is a little bit of a hike with your luggage but we were pre warned about this and so we were prepared. You can park in the depose minute for 40 mins to unload the car (still up a lift and some stairs) before parking it in one of the car parks. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we were thrilled to have access to our apartment at 1pm rather than 5pm which we had been expecting. The kids were able to have a couple of hours skiing on the saturday afternoon which was a bonus.
My only gripe is that there was no wifi in the apartment. You could get a code and sit in the reception area but I think that in this day and age wifi is essential. My husband had work to do on holiday and the lack of wifi just added to his stress!
All in all a great family holiday which I would recommend but for my family the lack of a wifi connection in the apartment would probably mean we would be unlikely to book in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello! We thank you warmly for your positive feedback. We are glad that you were happy with the location of the residence and the apartment. We took note of your comment about the wifi and hope to be able to offer this service in the flat very soon.
Best regards,
Le Chalet des Neiges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just returned from our second trip to Les Chalets Des Neiges in Oz and have had an excellent week. Good points include:
The chalets are well kept and well located so it is possible for most standards of skier to ski in and out.
It is across the road from a Sherpa supermarket which is well stocked with most things you would need for a week self catering. Fresh milk tends to sell out early in the day.
There is a bread and croissant delivery service which arrives between 7.30 and 8.30am each day if ordered.
Reception staff are extremely helpful and very friendly, with very good English spoken which was much appreciated as we are not the greatest French speakers.
Oz is quite small (and fairly quiet in the evenings), but it is very easy to reach Alpe D'Huez for a vast expanse of runs. Alpe D'Huez is possibly the best resort I have found for beginners with loads of blue and green runs round the town centre.
Our chalet had a luggage room (referred to as the Cave) which meant we could leave our suitcases when we arrived early and also on our last day as we left late.
Points to note:
There is no DVD player but we had a laptop with an HDMI lead which we could plug in to the TV.
The wifi is only in the reception area of the chalets and can get busy and slow at peak times.
We used Taxi D'Oz for our transfer from Grenoble and they were very efficient and prompt. On our first visit the baggage carousel at Grenoble broke down and they waited over an hour for us and offered to take us and come back later for our bags if they didn't arrive in time. Fortunately they all arrived in the end, but we appreciated the offer.
Only 2 small niggles:
One was that there was very little clothes storage in our apartment this year (C7), last year it was much better. However reception arranged for an extra set of shelves to be delivered.
Also a couple of our group found the beds were very firm.
All in all a good residence and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithkids_NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello! Thanks for this detailed feedback. It's very positive. We are pleased that you were happy with the standard of service we provided and the residence.
We look forward to seeing you back in Oz,
Regards,
Le Chalet des Neiges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just what we wanted! Great apartment with enough room for us all, a hop off the balcony onto the snow so the kids sledged outside continually in the evening. Genuine ski to and from the door - you couldn't get any closer to the slopes as the back door from boot room corridor opens right onto the snow. The reception staff are the most lovely, smiley people you could find who can answer any question. Bread and croissants can be delivered to your door every morning. And do not go self catering - go for the dinner option as the food is absolutely fabulous. We ate at 6.30pm so not too late for kids and had a delicious 3 course set menu every night, very varied and masses of it. The pool was not the warmest but kids didn't seem to notice and loved it. Lovely wee village even with night ski-ing one night and one telecabin and you are into massive Alpe d'Huez ski area so you will never run out of runs.
If you really want to find a negative there could do with a few more hooks to hang jackets and ski kit up on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Anna!
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the resort.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Le Chalet des Neiges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just returned from our first visit to Oz ! We stayed in the Chalet des Neiges appartments which were excellent. We had a three bed appartment with log fire and excellent facilities. Reception staff were first class. Could do with a laundrette though.
The village itself was fantastic with everything we needed and as it's traffic free, the kids could sledge everywhere without us having to worry. We were there over New Year and thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment, not only on New Years Eve but also the night skiiing on the Thursday plus all the other touches that make it a truly family orientated resort.
Skiing was good apart from the odd run that was closed queues weren't too bad, we've seen worse. Our 5 year old had a few lessons one - one with Lionel from the Stance Ski School. He was very patient and an excellent teacher.

OK so I suppose I should mention the struggle from the car park to the residence .... you only have to do it twice and it will keep you fit !!!

We'll be there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello! Thanks a lot for your positive comment. We are happy that our residence, services and resort brought you satisfaction.
All our team look forward to seeing you next year!
Kind regards,
Chalet des neiges Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed in March great location with excellent access to the Alps D'huez, the apartments are not cheap and are very plain. There are better deals to be had renting personally owned chalets which we have done in previous years. The pool is nice and the village is also very nice.
The biggest problem if you are self catering and driving is that you have to carry everything from the car park up to the chalet. It's not too far but after 12 hours in the car it's a real pain up three flights of stairs. Then you have to find somewhere to park the car. There is free on road parking but its about 500 yards away. As long as you are prepared to do it then its no problem but be prepared use lots of smaller bags and not a huge suitcase.

Room Tip: Take your stuff in bags you can carry up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatboygto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hello! Thanks for your comment. We are sorry that you have been disppointed by the pedestrian access to the residence. We try to inform the best our guest about it in order that they are not surprised and only enjoy the positive side of a "no-car" resort.
You seem to have appreciated the residence and the ski area and we are happy for that.
Best regards, Le Chalet des Neiges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oz en Oisans
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Roma
Hotel Le Roma
#5 of 8 in Albertville
92 reviews
2.5 mi away
Les 4 Vallees
Les 4 Vallees
#6 of 8 in Albertville
50 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de Costaroche
Auberge de Costaroche
#1 of 8 in Albertville
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Million
Hotel Million
#2 of 8 in Albertville
67 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel balladins Albertville/Tournon
40.6 mi away
Moontain Hostel
Moontain Hostel
#1 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence le Chalet des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le Chalet des Neiges

Property: Residence le Chalet des Neiges
Address: Zone d'amenagement concerte Porte Tarentaise, 38114 Oz en Oisans, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Oz en Oisans
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oz en Oisans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence le Chalet des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Chalet Des Neiges Hotel Oz En Oisans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing