We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Typing this whilst sitting at the bar. Very helpfull and friendly staff and approachable manager. Our second time here and we were going to go our for the afternoon but we have decided to chill here.

If you want an escape then why not visit. Handy enough for a visit for bourton but nice that you are away from it all.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLambInndotcom, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for your comments and I'm delighted you enjoyed a nice, quiet and friendly experience. We feel our location in the village of Great Rissington is perfect as all the local villages and attractions are just a short drive away.
Kind regards
Paul and all at The Lamb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    164
    55
    20
    12
See reviews for
77
482
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Very old building, slightly too expensive for what it offers. Bathroom w/o window, toilet flushing proved quite an adventure, restaurant good food, breakfast OK. Some noise comes from guests talking quite loudly on the terrace if you happen to get a room on the road. Quite some waiting time before staff actually shows up, there is a bell, but no one comes, so I called "hello" after alomst walking into the kitchen....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwerver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLambInndotcom, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for you comments all be it with mixed messages. Being a very old building some of our toilets are within the rooms so do not have windows and I really cannot see how this is an issues, most hotels/inns have the shower/toilet facilites within the rooms and you are the first to note this in the many hundreds of reviews I have received. Again we are a counrty inn basically a great pub offering great food and with superb rooms and not a hotel with a dedicated reception area. Myself and my staff pride ourselves on customer service so I'm sorry if you had a slight delay when checking in we were obviously dealing with other customers. Its a shame you didnt give more info on the "good restaurant food" you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Due to my wife's disability we could only stay in ground floor accomodation which turned out to be 'The Stables'. The room was just about big enough for the double bed and the wc/shower room was tiny. Not suitable for wheelchair users though to be fair it was not advertised as such. I'm sure the rooms in the main building are fine but ours was next to the 'smokers courtyard' so no chance of having the windows open during pub opening hours. They could be quite noisy come closing time too. We also had a small dog with us who just about fitted between the bed and cupboard. The pillows like pancakes and the mattress wasn't aligned to the dusty headboard. We would have only stayed for one night but 2 nights was the minimum stay. I would say the food was poor one night and very good the next so pot luck really. The staff were friendly and addressed the problems we brought to their attention but because of our needs it really didn't suit us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLambInndotcom, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that you felt your stay didn't suit your needs. Being a coaching inn over 350 years old and a listed building does limit what can be acheived for wheelchair users. If you would have called and explained your needs I would have explained what we can offer, what rooms would best suit you and taking on board you review would have advised a stay with us may not be in your best interest. You mention that we donot advertise as being suitable for wheelchair uses, this is because we are situated over looking the Windrush valley several steps and slopes need to be negotiated from the car park and in and around the inn.
The last thing I want is for guests not to enjoy their time with us and I would rather explain this over the phone than read it in a review.
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

stayed just the 1 night, had issues trying to use TV as it was left on radio, and had a great deal of trouble trying to switch to TV very poor quality TV and remote. Nice and comfy large bed only gripe is the shower could do with something like a soap dish, to place your shower gel on, rather than the floor. Breakfast was very nice and service was swift.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLambInndotcom, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for your review explaining of your bed and breakfast stay. In your words "breakfast was very nice and service was swift" "nice and comfy bed" but to gripe over a lack of shower dish when their is amble room along the edge of the bath and indeed in the soap dish our complimentary toileteries are offered in is a little unfair. I recall changing the TV channels for you this was a simple case of pressing the TV/radio button on the control so you could enjoy watching the HD 24inch freeview flat screen I in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience. Room overlooking the beer garden was cosy, clean and comfortable. The restaurant provided an excellent dining experience- delicious and unusual.I would recommend making the vegetable side dish option a little more obvious on the menu as we did not work out that additional vegetables were possible until the 3rd night.
It was great to talk with Matt and hear his enthusiasm for fresh local food The cod "scampi" was particularly good.
Thanks Lamb Inn

Room Tip: Did not know a spa bath ws an option! The British double bed is way too short and small if one is us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with a party of walkers. Really friendly staff, super food and good accommodation. We were in the Burford room in the front which is very spacious, other friends had smaller rooms - so worth checking in advance. Breakfast was amazing - all freshly cooked, local produce.
Location only 5 mins from Bourton.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for a special celebration for two nights in the two "garden suites". Both were spacious, although I was very disappointed with Jemima's and neither should be called a suite. One expects a "garden suite" both to be in (or have a view onto) a garden, and to be a suite. This was a room, nothing more (with ONE easy chair so to watch the telly we had to sit on the bed) with a view over a grotty patio with a mossy sunlounger and various bags of builders waste and fertiliser. The bathroom needs a good going over, with a leaky shower, wonky loo seat and grotty floor. Similar story in Millie's, the other garden "suite". For the price, frankly the garden suites are not acceptable.

Evening meals were very good indeed; breakfast however somewhat haphazard with errors in every serving (eight over the two days) bar one. Difficulties sorting out the agreed price for the stay put the icing on the cake. We definitely wouldn't return but as I say the front line staff were very nice indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeridianMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Rissington
4.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Great Rissington | Nr Bourton On The Water, Great Rissington GL54 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Great Rissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Rissington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington is one of the Cotswolds' most welcoming country inns. Overlooking the Windrush Valley, The Lamb is surrounded by heritage sites and visitor attractions, antique shops and art galleries, cultural and sporting events.In May 2011, we are pleased to announce we received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Great Rissington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing