We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing overnight stay”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing overnight stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Lamb Inn is set in a beautiful location in Gloucestershire. It is a pub as well as a very nice bed and breakfast. Our room was small but extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. The staff were extremely welcoming and because we had special dietary needs they went to great lengths to cater for us. We had an issue with some noise from the pub because we chose a darts' evening but Paul, the owner went out of his way to make our night comfortable and and turned the music off earlier than was normal. The food was good and overall I would recommend it as a very peaceful lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julc190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    171
    56
    21
    13
See reviews for
81
503
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

A large group of us had dinner at The Lamb Inn the night before a funeral. I had scallops, followed by ribeye steak and the chocolate nemesis pudding, all three courses were delicious. The service was good and very friendly my only comment would be that the staff could have popped back more frequently (we were drinking quite a lot). The finger food provided following the funeral was also excellent. Overall very impressed and a little surprised to find such an delicious locally sourced menu in such an unassuming village pub. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryRachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bland, MO
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had three rooms. Older property, well kept. Quiet, Good service. Had 2 of the suites.. very large. Great buy for the price. Good food service for breakfast and dinner. Very nice stay. Internet not so greqat and thick stone walls.

Room Tip: get suite on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the lamb inn for a short break .we thoroughly enjoyed it . Paul the proprietor was an excellent host . The girls worked tirelessly to ensure all guest s were catered for . The food and service was exceptional . You get what you pay for and we certainly got that and more .
Thank you Paul and staff for our wonderful stay ,we will return
( only down side was your choice of football team ARSENAL )

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janeannlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at the lamb inn. We stayed in the Rissington Suite. Although the place itself was picturesque with very nice grounds, it was definitely not worth the £150 we paid. I initially booked this hotel expecting a little bit more luxury, however, it certainly did not meet my expectations for the price. Firstly, we experienced a problem with the TV in the suite which was rectified once we spoke to reception. The wi-fi did not work at all - and although we advised reception of this when we checked out and they informed us there was problems with the signal which they had attempted to rectify recently - they really shouldn't be advertising the wifi or at least advise customers of this when checking inn or asking for the password. The radiator in the bedroom would not turn off due to the dial being disconnected so we were boiling hot all night! Finally, the shower was barely working on the morning and kept going hot and cold and turning itself off. There was a thermostat on the wall which we turned off (assuming this was the heating as you would)- explained this to the lady on reception to which she said this was for the shower! Maybe the staff should explain this to customers when they check inn. Although the suite itself was quite nice, there was very limited privacy due to its location, and it was also extremely noisy with people walking past and people smoking outside our room late at night. We raised the issues at reception upon checking out and was given a discount off our bill which was fair.

We would encourage a better variety of dishes on the dinner menu and were a little disappointed, so we chose to eat somewhere else.

If this suite is priced at £150-£170 per night, the experience has to be excellent as people such as we have a far greater expectation for price.

Please take these comments as constructive feedback for the hotel and so these little mishaps can be resolved for a better stay for people in the future. This hotel has the potential to be truly wonderful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Penn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch. Not terribly full, so would have hoped for fairly good service, particularly as all we wanted was two starters. Shame the good food was not matched by the service. Drinks came in dribs and drabs, n waitress forgetting whether we wanted ice or no ice, and failing to serve both our drinks together. Then interminable wait for the food. When I asked for a second starter, another 25 minutes elapsed with no food. Decided to leave, and when I asked for the bill, man suddenly emerged, asked which of the starters we hadn't had, said they weren't charging for it(!) and took the money without the slightest apology. Clearly not sure whether they are open for non residents or not.......shame! because the food was good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night with our small dog. The hotel, fantastic food and most of all the friendly and welcoming staff made our short stay a real pleasure. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff went out of their way to accomodate not only us but Tinkerbell our dog, who thoroughly enjoyed all the attention she received. We had an evening meal which was exceptional and breakfast was superb. All in all, we couldn't fault anything. We will definitely recommend to others and hope to return in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doddy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Rissington
4.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
725 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,080 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
552 reviews
4.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
965 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Great Rissington | Nr Bourton On The Water, Great Rissington GL54 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Great Rissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Rissington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington is one of the Cotswolds' most welcoming country inns. Overlooking the Windrush Valley, The Lamb is surrounded by heritage sites and visitor attractions, antique shops and art galleries, cultural and sporting events.In May 2011, we are pleased to announce we received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Great Rissington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing