We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn to lay out heads - so peaceful and quiet”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
somerset, uk
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn to lay out heads - so peaceful and quiet”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday evening - we checked in late afternoon after enjoying the gorgeous surrounding countryside. Very friendly welcome on arrival and shown straight to our room.
This was a small double with ensuite. Perfectly adequate as we didn't plan on spending much time in the room.
We quickly unpacked and went down to the bar to enjoy a pint from their selection of local ales. As it was a gorgeous evening we took them out to the garden. There are 3 areas of seating - one in front of the pub / another to the side more for families with a large sand play area - we opted to relax in the garden behind the pub - very quiet and peaceful.
We had already made plans elsewhere for dinner so cannot comment on the food.
However, we arrived for breakfast served between 8.30 - 9.30 just in time as we had a great nights sleep - very peaceful and comfortable and overslept our alarm call.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant and a large choice of cereal. Toaster with 2 choices of bread. Tea and coffee is served at the table as is breakfast. We both opted for the full English without the spicy beans - very generous portions and all very good. Our tea and coffee was topped up and we again took this out to the garden whilst we read the papers - again very peaceful and quiet.
As our bedroom was over the kitchen we were concerned that we would be woken up at silly hours in the morning as we slept with the window open but not so.
Check out is 11.00am so plenty of time to walk off the breakfast before setting off.
Staff are very friendly at this Inn and we both had a lovely stay and would definitely return again for a 2 day night stay and visit more places around the area

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night we do recommend booking a slightly larger room - our rooms was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    171
    56
    20
    13
See reviews for
79
498
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just stayed at' The Lamb Inn' in the 'Rissington Suite' for three nights, what a great place to stay. The staff were attentive, the food was way above what we expected for a local pub, the breakfasts out were out of this world. What a selection! Excellent is the only way to describe it. Roger and Daphne

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in the stable room . We found the room very comfortable and quiet . We had a two course evening meal and it was very good the restaurant was pleasant and the service was of a high standard too . We had breakfast and that was lovely with plenty to choose from again the staff were very helpful . We will definitely be visiting again . Many thanks for an enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syze1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brockley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went here on a Groupon deal for my husbands birthday treat and were not disappointed in any way! We decided to upgrade to one of the suites and take advantage of the 3 course evening meal offer. Everything was exactly as it should be. The suite was comfortable, nicely furnished with a soft decor which was relaxing. The food, both for dinner and breakfast was tasty, with a good choice on the menu, locally produced food, well served and piping hot!!! The staff were friendly and had a good sense of humour! We will definitely go to the Lamb Inn again!! GREAT!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Lamb Inn in late May. Our room was clean, and the beds very comfortable. We also ate in the restaurant and found the food extremely good - both breakfast and dinner. The service was great, especially from Polly who helped us out with buses, and some extras.. We were made to feel very welcome. Thanks we would definitely stay at the Lamb Inn again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We booked bed and breakfast via groupon. For £49 we stated in room 4. A basic double room with a nice ensuite ( no bath ) that was modern . The room was fine and we know nicer rooms are available but we were only there for one night so room four was find and we were woken by the birds in the garden

The food here is really lovely and I had the best fish I've ever tasted . One grumble if I had one about the good as that my scallops came in a bowl not on a plate so too much if the sauce went back as I only had a knife and fork . The chicken liver was yummy and the triple fried chips were fab. We didn't have room for pudding but we wished we had as do much of it sounded great

We have been toying with what we felt about the time between starter and main course. As we were there to relax and were well into out second bottle of wine ..... Having enjoyed bottle number one in the garden ... It was fine but we also agreed that on another night we might conclude the drums was too much

Breakfast service was a bit too slow . There was a new young girl on duty and we heard one of the other ladies say it was her first day and it showed . My eggs were hard boiled so I had no use for my soldiers which was a shame but the black pudding was yummy

I'm sure these little things can get better

All in all we had a great night and we will go back

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Lamb Inn and were checked in with ease and shown to our room.
I would advise anyone who finds stairs difficult to book a ground floor room. The room was quaint with everything required for a short stay. We booked with a voucher and received the same attention to detail as everyone else.
The bar area is really clean and friendly with reasonable prices. We ate in the restaurant and this is where the Lamb really excels, the food is of a very high standard and produced locally.
The staff were very attentive and helpful.
After a good night's sleep we had an amazing breakfast experience, I would recommend the Lamb at Great Rissington to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Rissington
4.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
710 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,073 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
546 reviews
4.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Great Rissington | Nr Bourton On The Water, Great Rissington GL54 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Great Rissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Rissington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington is one of the Cotswolds' most welcoming country inns. Overlooking the Windrush Valley, The Lamb is surrounded by heritage sites and visitor attractions, antique shops and art galleries, cultural and sporting events.In May 2011, we are pleased to announce we received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Great Rissington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing