We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, next to noisy camping”
Review of Chateau d'Herbelon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Treffort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau d'Herbelon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Treffort
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The building and gardens are beautiful! The staff is rather arrogant and unfriendly, as if friendliness is not necessary in a place like this.
The food is fine, but not as good as you might expect for this price.
Really annoying was the discobeat from the campsite just next to the hotel during half the night. The staff couldn't care less about the noise and about our night's rest: they just advised us 'to close the windows'. But the large wooden roof is a perfect resonance-box for the beats of basses and drums. So we had an rather expensive sleepless night.
If you like to go to this hotel and you're not a fan of discomusic: check the campsites entertainment programm before you check in!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarSchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Chateau d'Herbelon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2010

Just aside of the lake, this wonderful chateau with his beautiful gardens are a very good place to stay. We just enjoyed the peaceful environment, took a (cold) swim and enjoyed a very good dinner! The rooms are large and cosy, the breakfast is a bit poor. In the evenings you can only hear some birds and the wind. Lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_monique_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This hotel is truely at the end of the road: it stops at the bottom of the valley next to the lake. The setting is magnificent and the calm impressive.
The insides of the Chateau are really old, which does not stop the rooms being comfortable. Their windows are small however mine had a wonderful face on view of the lake.
My evening meal was delicous in the bright dining room, complete with a roaring open fire : tasty food, each dish's ingredients a good match for each other, and well judged helpings. On the other hand the continental breakfast was a bit sparse.
The service is friendly and correct, although maybe a trifle off-hand. For example not showing you to your room upon arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berdafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

This hotel has great food, large rooms (though with creaky floors) and a beauitful location right on the lake front. It's a little old fashioned and out of the way but a great spot.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank BMJAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

I hesitated to write a review - why make it more difficult to get into this super hotel? - but others deserve to know about it. The site is magnificent, the rooms lovely, and the food is outstanding. If you want a break in the most peaceful place imaginable then this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AnneN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank miccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank FloLaFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treffort
5.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Chalet
Hotel Restaurant Le Chalet
#1 of 3 in Gresse-en-Vercors
153 reviews
5.3 mi away
Logis Murtel
Logis Murtel
#1 of 2 in La Mure
111 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
#2 of 2 in Correncon-en-Vercors
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Chateau & spa de la Commanderie
11.6 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#1 of 2 in Correncon-en-Vercors
270 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxie
Hotel Galaxie
#9 of 13 in Villard-de-Lans
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Herbelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Herbelon

Address: Lac de Monteynard, 38650 Treffort, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Treffort
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Treffort
Price Range: £49 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Chateau D'Herbelon France/Treffort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing