We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, peaceful place”

Abbaye de Silvacane
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing, peaceful place”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This wonderful old abbey is just the definition of peace and tranquility. We visited on a beautiful day, there was hardly anyone there, and we had an amazing time. The abbey is empty, and almost devoid of decoration, but that only adds to its sense of awe-inspiring peace.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ngriffit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    69
    27
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful Abbaye”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Enjoyed a peaceful few hours wandering this Abbaye amidst the summer sun - it has a very peaceful feeling and even though other visitors were there the atmosphere was generally quiet - one could spend the afternoon just sitting with a book in such a contemplative site!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rendejo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Interesting, but not as nice as the Senanque abbaye, which is located in a superb natural environment and is surrounded by nice lavender fields

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rendejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lo-Reninge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Not the biggest nor most beautiful abbaye I've ever visited. But nevertheless worth a visit! When we were there this summer, there was a lot of work in progress, so we didn't get to visit everything. But overall it's a very beautiful site. I like the sobriety of the Cistercienzer building style. Definately worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sowier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbaye de Silvacane also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Abbaye de Silvacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing