We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Star accommodation at best!”
Review of Aalbaek Gl Kro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albaek
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The disappointment began when we turned the corner of the road after the roundabout and first glimpsed the Kro! It looks nothing like the lovely glossy, photo shopped pictures on their site. This is a tired, well-worn roadside motel. The room was so disappointing and upsetting we almost turned around and left - only we had nowhere else booked at time was getting late. The bedroom furniture is old and exceptionally cheap. The carpet is very worn, and doesn't even fit the room properly. As for being able to lock your room door, the signage telling customers how to lock the door is so well worn, it is only just possible to see where instructions once were.
On a positive note - yes, there is one, and it is only fair to give credit where credit is due - the Kro's restaurant provided delicious food. The menu choice is not extensive, however both meals we received were very good. I enjoyed the beef with onions, replacing the butter with a very delicious gravy ( brown sauce, in Danish) and my fiance chose the fish of the day. His meal was very colourful, with fresh real vegetables and a lovely accompanying sauce. Wine seems to come by the bottle, but staff happily point customers in the direction of their few options by the glass. Our young waiter serving in the evening was very polite and helpful, and the time to receive the meals was appropriate for what was ordered. One must look past the dirt on the wallpaper beside some of the tables - old food stains - past the clashing old decor, and 1970s pine ceiling with ill fitting light fittings.
The reception staff do not like it when customers checking out question their 1.4% charge levied upon people paying by credit card. We thought passing on bank charges to customers within Denmark was now illegal - will be checking the facts for ourselves.
All in all, the beds were reasonably comfortable, the food was good.
Walls of rooms are thin, and you can hear people beside you as well as people walking around above.
Stay here only if you dare.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank FionaAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel because everywhere else in Skagen was fully booked. The room was small and tired looking. Having a glazed door and windows gave anyone passing the room full view unless you wanted the curtains closed. Even the breakfast wasn't as good as the other hotels we stayed in, so I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you are looking for somewhere you can park outside your room and see straight in. The walls are so thin you can hear all the other guests. Depressing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlepiggy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

A 20 minute drive south of Skagen lies the quiet town of Ålbæk, and by the roadside the friendly Ålbæk Gl Kro. The rooms are fresh and clean (stayed in a standard+ room) with flatscreen tv, a comfortable bed and blankets, and a decent bathroom. The restaurant prepares some typical danish dishes at fair prices and with great taste. It's not a restaurant that will ever make it into the michelin guide, but we enjoyed having our dinner there. There are often special packages such as all inclusive deals, or weekend prices so check their website or give them a call regarding this.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globalnomad-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We stayed three nights at the Aalbaek Gl Kro in July 2009. We ended up here only because not a room was to had in Skagen, but I'm very glad we stayed here. One downside: they didn't have a room large enough for two adults and two teenagers, so we had to book two rooms. But the rooms (while dated) were clean and quiet and the breakfast was nice. We ate one night in the restaurant and enjoyed some Danish specialties (including fresh fried eel). The walk to the small Aalbaek beach is not short (maybe a half-mile?) but this was our favorite beach in Denmark. Even though it wasn't our original destination, Aalbaek ended up being perfectly situated--a short drive to Skagen/Grenen, not a very long drive to Lokken, and a fast trip to Frederikshavn where we caught the ferry to Sweden. We would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank gingerbreadgirlSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HrVej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulla M, Manager at Aalbaek Gl Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Gode parkeringsmuligheder tæt på værelserne i østfløjen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albaek
10.4 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
286 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ruths Hotel
Ruths Hotel
#1 of 4 in Skagen
236 reviews
11.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
#7 of 16 in Frederikshavn
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 16 in Frederikshavn
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
11.3 mi away
Brondums Hotel
Brondums Hotel
#6 of 27 in Skagen
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalbaek Gl Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalbaek Gl Kro

Address: Skagensvej 42, Albaek, Frederikshavn 9982, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn > Albaek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albaek
Price Range: £83 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalbaek Gl Kro 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aalbaek gl. Kro is a cozy Inn near Skagen. The Inn has 59 rooms with desk, Tv, and bath/toilet. The Inn is situated between Frederikshavn and Skagen and is the perfect base to your adventures in Northern Jutland. The beach is within walking distance from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aalbaek Gl Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing