We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a " Kro" not a hotel”
Review of Rold Gl. Kro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rold Gl. Kro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rold Skov
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It is a " Kro" not a hotel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed ome night 14th July 14. Nice warm welcome , shown room and asked if I would like to eat evening dinner all with a smile. Room was in the annex , ok standard slightly worn but ok. Had a very good and large helping , meal with local beer from Aalborg Brewary. Slept very well but curtains were thin and did not keep out the light but thats just me being abit fussy. Some of the review are well over the top. This is a country inn not a city hotel. I was late up so didnt make breakfast but got a free treat bag , water and an apple and some local info leaflets , again with a big smile from the Inn keeper. So all in all very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been to this small hotel (or motel, as you drive your car to the terrace houses and park in front of your room) five years ago, and liked it then. But five years is obviously a long time. The place is shabby and not that cosy anymore. The cleaning of the rooms could have been better. I wonder if they plan to renovate it, as it really is in the need of it.

The restaurant was nice, with very good food and service. But I also recalled the food as beeing better five years ago.
The breackfast buffet was very good, with everything you would like.
The hotel is (to my Danish standard) not a three star hotel, but only two.
For a one night stay it's okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

If you like good food, go to the restaurant, but beware, we were billed 9 euros for a 1 litre bottle of tap water!! That is daylight robbery (with a smile, of course)! Avoid staying at the hotel, as I don't know how on earth they manage to gain 3 star rating... not worth 1 star in my book. You would expect more for 150 euros per night (inclusive of breakfast for two)... Dirty toilets, mould in the shower area, filthy chair in the room, dust everywhere you look, and not enough lighting to shave/make up. My general opinion of Danish standards is that they need to renovate many of their hotels, they may have gained three stars in the 1970's, but today they definitely don't meet the requirements of the modern traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rold Skov hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Berkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Rold Kro is in the forest area south of Aalborg ,it was very busy with 2 large parties we booked dinner for 2 and had a good meal of scallops/apple salad and mozzarella salad followed by plaice dishes with lots of potatoes.
The inn keeper was a jovial, rotund character almost out of fiction, however be aware that using a foreign credit card in Denmark adds a fee to the costs and in this case added £4 to the meal

Well worth finding just 25 minutes by car out of Aalborg

Room Tip: Book in advance, we did from Aalborg touist office
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rold Skov
3.8 mi away
Rold StorKro
Rold StorKro
#2 of 2 in Skoerping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comwell Rebild Bakker
Comwell Rebild Bakker
#1 of 2 in Skoerping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Amerika
Hotel Amerika
#1 of 1 in Hobro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
St. Binderup Kro
St. Binderup Kro
#2 of 2 in Aars
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hvalpsund Faergekro
Hvalpsund Faergekro
#1 of 1 in Hvalpsund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
16.1 mi away
Purhus Kro
Purhus Kro
#1 of 1 in Farup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rold Gl. Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rold Gl. Kro

Property: Rold Gl. Kro
Address: Hobrovej 11, Rold Skov 9510, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Rebild Municipality > Rold Skov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rold Skov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rold Gl. Kro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Rold Gl. Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing