We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brief visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voila Bagatelle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Voila Bagatelle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moka
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brief visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good clean hotel, with helpful staff, and good breakfast. It's close by a shopping centre but not near any beaches, so wouldn't suggest it as a holiday destination. Plenty of good restaurants close by. Room was a bit dark, but clean and well appointed

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoilaBagatelle, General Manager at Voila Bagatelle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Nick,

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at Voila Bagatelle

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent Cavalot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    119
    63
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
26
10
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked the hotel last minute. It was very nice, Great service and very friendly, helpfull Staff and next to the mall which you can get absolutely everything. Rooms are just too small and not that friendly at all if you have a friend. Its more suitable for couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yves_2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoilaBagatelle, General Manager at Voila Bagatelle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Yves,

Thanks for your comments and glad to see that you `ve enjoyed your stay at Voila Bagatelle.

Should you travel with someone, I would recommend you book a Corner Studio. This room category is larger (40 m2) and have more privacy with a closed bathroom.

Looking forward welcoming you very soon at Voila Bagatelle,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was my fourth visit to Mauritius and I was looking for an economical but clean and comfortable place, close to good restaurants. My earlier stays were in more expensive hotels, which I found not worth that much for business travel.
This was a surprise find, minimalistic and good.
Plus points : Close to Bagatelle Mall, which has super markets + good restaurants. If you have a meeting at cure pipe, this one is ideal. The backdrop is amazingly beautiful hill, which was green when I visited. The rooms are clean and the AC is comfortable. there is one hour of internet free every day and you can buy add on packs as you go.
Minuses : The Washroom area has no privacy. So if you are travelling with someone, its impossible to use the washroom when some one is in the room. Secondly, the room facing the malls should have an additional curtain to allow the light at the same time ensuring privacy. These may be overcome by opting for rooms which are not facing the mall.
Staff is enthusiastic. Restaurant is average and good only for Breakfast. Which is okay as the nearby mall (50 m away) has lots of good restaurants.

Room Tip: Dont select mall facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawan_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoilaBagatelle, General Manager at Voila Bagatelle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Pawan,

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at Voila Bagatelle.

Should you be travelling with another person, please note that we have corner studios which are larger and have a closed bathroom for more privacy. If not, we also installed window blinds in the Mall view rooms for more privacy.

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Voilà Bagatelle Hotel is very well-located if you are here on business and not for the beach. It’s within 5 minutes’ drive of Phoenix and only a little further to Port Louis. In particular, it’s handy for the Mall of Mauritius – probably the best shopping centre on the island. Just turn right at back of the breakfast room and take the first left.
The staff in the hotel are generally friendly and attentive. For example, we assumed that it would be best to attack the Mall of Mauritius from the front of the building and headed off in that direction only to have some reception staff run after us to inform us that it was best to use the back entrance. The only exception regarding staff is the breakfast team, who don’t seem to be bothered about the quality of service they provide. Ordering tea or coffee was a major hassle as they hid in the kitchen and came out rarely to interact with customers. We also had to scavenge cutlery from neighbouring tables as none seemed to be set out everyday when we arrived. This is pity as breakfast could be a defining feature of the hotel (they don’t do lunch or dinner) and the room it is served in great – we particularly liked the partial ‘al fresco’ environment. There is plenty of protection from wet weather but the Breakfast Room is still sufficiently exposed to give you a feel for tropical nature.
The bedrooms are clean, quiet, adequately spacious, and it is easy to set up the internet in them. The number of power outlets in the rooms are a bit limited but tolerable. The bathroom in my room was fine although I personally don’t like overhead showers – IMHO it’s much nicer to have a hand-held showerhead as you can focus on your ‘nooks and crannies’ and easily avoid getting your hair wet if this is an issue.
One of the advantages of the hotel is that there are eateries in the Mall to suit most tastes. We particularly liked the ‘Talking Drum’ restaurant, which, contrary to its décor it has very little to do with Africa. Its seafood is superb – as fresh and clean as you will find anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Consider getting breakfast in the Mall of Mauritius, rather than in the hotel - it might be faster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky_Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoilaBagatelle, Manager at Voila Bagatelle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Ricky_Brent,

Thanks for your comments and glad to see that you `ve enjoyed your stay at Voila Bagatelle.

I am sorry to read about the service at breakfast. Rest assured that the issue has been addressed and that we trained our staff to be more efficient and rapid at breakfast time.

Looking forward welcoming you very soon at Voila Bagatelle,

Kind regards,

Vincent Cavalot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is located outside Port Louise, next to a mall with shopping and restaurants. Great location. Good breakfast, nice and quite room and the perfect price. I paid for what I needed and got it on the best level.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoilaBagatelle, Manager at Voila Bagatelle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear David B,

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at Voila Bagatelle and that the hotel was up to your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent Cavalot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here for two weeks during a business trip. The room was very comfortable (great bed/shower), good air conditioning and a good workspace. The room design is indeed quite odd with an entirely glass bathroom. Not a problem for a solo traveller but could be weird for some couples. Soundproofing is great too - I'm a light sleeper and was not disturbed once during my stay.

The internet worked fine. I had a problems logging in on a couple of days and the staff sorted it out immediately. 100mbs is fine if you just want to check a few emails but you'll soon burn through that if you have to actually work: I ended up buying another 100mb ticket on several occasions.

There is no hairdryer or iron in the standard rooms (I believe there are in the ladies' rooms). I bought my own dryer and ended up having to use the laundry service which is really, really expensive.

Breakfast was fine but it is the same every day (but surely that's the same in every hotel the world over). If you want a quick breakfast (which most business guests do) make sure you get someone's attention immediately, before you even sit down, and ask for your coffee/tea otherwise you will be waiting forever. This was my main complaint; loads of staff clearing tables while new guests needed to be attended to.

All in all, my stay was fine. I was out at the office most of the day but after 2 weeks in any hotel room you're going to be a bit bored/claustrophobic. The mall has everything you need and my top tip is that all of the three supermarkets sell homemade takeaway food (in Food Lovers you can even eat whatever you buy in the cafe and the quality is better there than at the others. The sushi there is surprisingly good).

As a solo woman, I felt perfectly safe at all times.

Suggestions to the management: a small fitness room would be a welcome addition!

Room Tip: My mall view room was totally silent; If you are on the ground floor remember that the blinds are NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kleintje78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoilaBagatelle, Manager at Voila Bagatelle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Kleintje78,

Thanks for your very comprehensive feedbacks on our property. Your comments are most welcome and some suggestions has already been addressed.

Where the room design, with the glassed bathroom is seen as a nice feature for most of our guests, I understand that it can be disturbing to others. If it is the case, please note that we have corner studios with a closed bathroom should you need more privacy.

We also designed a room adapted to your needs...The Great view Ladies is equipped with hair dryer, ironing board, extra security and magnifying mirror.

As stated earlier, some improvements has already been done namely for the variety at breakfast and the efficiency of service. We now propose a hot breakfast. A different selection of pastries is also proposed every morning.

Once again, thanks for your feedbacks and comments.

Looking forward welcoming you back at Voila Bagatelle.

Vincent Cavalot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
190 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

What a place to get stuck in for 2 weeks. luckily we were able to move after one week. After arrival I complained about my room being dirty. i left and came back an hour later and the bathroom was a bit better. the next morning I again requested them to properly clean the place. The rooms are really small and no place to put your things. no bedside table. The breakfast is not great and every morning the same. The service is very bad. And the worst is that they dont have their own restaurant. After a long days work I dont always want to go to the mall to get food. You then end up eating junkfood. The tv system doesnt always work. Being a business hotel they dont accept Amex.... now that I dont understand

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoilaBagatelle, Manager at Voila Bagatelle, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Lynn0416,

Thank you for your constructive remarks and criticism on our hotel. Be sure the here above will be addressed in the shortest delay and corrective actions will be taken where needed.
We apologies for carpet and shower cubical not being cleaned to your expectations and standards. A remedial training have been given to the housemaid looking after you at that time.

The hotel does have an internet protocol TV system which is currently not 100% reliable and we are constantly working with our service provider from RSA to ensure uninterrupted content.

In the meantime, as you may have seen on our website we have different size of rooms. Our Corner Studios would be more appropriate for longer stays. Also note that our restaurant only serves hot breakfast and a light lunch as you do have a few options in the mall (15 metres from the hotel), from the fast food to the fine dining Indian restaurant. The full breakfast menu in online and should you have any other requirements we would have appreciated your feedback whist at the hotel.

Currently due to high charges AMEX is not accepted at the hotel, we are currently in negotiation with them and we are hopeful that AMEX will be available for customer payments in a near future.

I would like to thank you again for choosing our hotel and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Please feel free to contact me at any time, should you wish to come back or for any assistance,

My best regards,

Vincent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moka
8.3 mi away
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
#1 of 1 in Baie du Tombeau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hennessy Park Hotel
Hennessy Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ebene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
#2 of 4 in Port Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
16.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Anakao
Villa Anakao
#3 of 4 in Port Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voila Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voila Bagatelle

Property: Voila Bagatelle
Address: Bagatelle Mall of Mauritius, Moka, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Moka District > Moka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Voila Bagatelle 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauritius' Only Value Hotel - Voilà Bagatelle is your ideal hotel accommodation choice in Mauritius for business, leisure & shopping; offering successful travellers an alternative experience. Reflecting the new spirit by which people live today, Voilà Bagatelle offers an affordable yet valued hotel experience in an efficient and relaxed atmosphere typical from this country. For shopping, holiday & business in Mauritius, our accommodation offers a fresh & welcoming experience of an unsurpassed worth. We have no ‘eyebrow-raising’ restaurant & bar bills; no frustrating internet charges; no swimming pool that you have no time to use & no unpleasant surprises at check out! Instead, at Voilà Bagatelle, you will only pay for the things you want; not for the things we think you need. We cater to those who want all the basics done exactly right – like a good night’s sleep on a great bed, a refreshing shower, instant & fast connectivity and a good breakfast to start the day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Voila Bagatelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voila Bagatelle Mauritius/Moka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing