We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but......”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dwight
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, but......”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have been frequenting this establishment since 1995. Our last stay however, will be our last. The noise from the adjoining rooms, the partying on the outdoor corridors until 1:00 am, the crashing and banging which were audible from the room next door, were unattended to by the owner. When we complained the next morning, no attempt was made to assuage us, but instead, the reply was "We don't know who is checking in. If you are not satisfied, perhaps you should stay somewhere else." We will. I don't think this is the best way to treat customers who have supported this resort for almost 20 years. A simple offer of something as small as a free breakfast or off season rates would have rectified the situation in our eyes. If you check into this resort, be aware that the set up of the resort is such that everyone talking on the outdoor balconies can be heard in all the rooms. The hotelier does not seem to be willing to ask his clients to be quiet after a certain hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneDwight, Owner at Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
As we explained before, you did not take any action that night to recify the situation. We check accomodations every night between 10:30 PM and 11:00 PM to see what the noise level is. If anyone is noisy around those hours we enforce our 11:00 PM quiet time policy, but at that point the motel was quiet. Please be aware that we have to sleep as well, we cannot station our employees between 11PM to 6AM because you are unwilling to either notify us via cellphone or walk less than a minute to notify us by intercom. When we brought this up with you in person, your solution to us was to install a mutli-thousand dollar phone system which is highly impractial. When asked why you did not notify us about your discomfort, you told us that you could not be hassled to walk less than a minute to ring our service bell. You instead opted to complain to us the morning after in hopes of recieving a discount. It is for this reason we suggested you stay elsewhere.

We are sorry to hear you will not be coming back, but as we stated before: we accomodate people on first book basis and this incident could just as easily happened elsewhere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
100
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The room was nice and very clean, with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The reseraunt is cosy and the food is very good. The grounds are beautiful and between the lake, beach, canoes, paddle boats and muskoka chairs, you don't have to leave to have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The room was very good. It had everything we needed. The location is amazing, the motel is standing on a "private" lake. It has its own canoe, boat and several more attractions for children.
The room itself was very clean !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here in July. It was around a 15 minute drive from the park entrance, so quite well located. The room was clean & tidy & had mosquito nets on the windows which helps in Algonquin! We ate there both nights, tasty & reasonably priced. Breakfast was also good with a fair bit of choice. There is a little lake at the back where you can use canoes etc without charge. Very nice setting!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked this motel on a whim when we took a weekend trip on our motorcycles. Little did we know we booked the last one ! That was a good thing as it was extremely hot that day riding and we were exhausted. When we arrived we were escorted to our room given a "special spot to park" our bikes .
The little sand beach on the lake was most welcomed to cool down. The rooms were clean and comfortable and offered all necessities we needed ...fridge !!
We had breakfast at the restaurant and enjoyed fun conversation with our server. And were on our way ....thanks for the friendly stay !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have stayed here a few times already and always have a great experience. It has a restaurant on site and the food is delicious with very reasonable prices. The waitress, Nancy is there for breakfast and dinner services and is always smiling and can tell you the best places to see. We stayed in a suite. It had two separate rooms, one with a queen bed and sectional couch and the the other had two double beds in it. This was great for the kids as they stayed in our room but were "separate." The lake was very warm with cold springs in various places. They have two canoes, two kayaks, and two paddle boats with a new this year addition of a big party float/raft. The kids and us could swim for hours. We took advantage of the half price admission to Algonquin Park as well. The owners have a very friendly Golden Retriever named "Ozzie" and he wanders around and greets guests. Our kids laughed and played tug of war and fetch with him. There is also trails on site which are very scenic. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The owners are friendly and take great pride in everything. This is the place to stay when up near Algonquin. It is impossible to be disappointed and if you are then you're probably someone who is never happy anyhow. Kudos to all the staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

you wouldn't expect such a lovely and peacefull place from the street. We had a slightly outdated but spacious suite with a great view on the beautiful garden and the small spring lake.

The hotel has a small sand beach with all kind of water equipment like canoes, kayaks, etc. It even had a big water trampoline which was our kids favourite. Everything was free to use, as well as the different bbq's that where at the beach.

The spring lake resort is very close to the Algonquin park which was of course our main reason to visit the area.

We had a wonderfull time here and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwight
23.4 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
168 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
11.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
462 reviews
4.6 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
352 reviews
7.8 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant

Property: Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Address: 2893 Hwy 60 | Rr # 1, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dwight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Lake Resort is convieniently located in the heart of Muskoka,within West Gate of Algonquin Park and Hunstville. We offer lakefront accomodations in comfortable and specious suites and rooms, as well as delicious homemade food in our enticing restaurant or on the lakeview patio.In summer, our guests enjoy breathtaking scenery of Muksoka complimented by sandy beach, walking trails, and beautiful gardens.In winter, snowmobiling is the blast, we are directly on trail 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Lake Resort Motel And Restaurant Dwight, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing