We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Stay!”
Review of Blue Spruce Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dwight
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Spruce Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Stay!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Wow! What a wonderful weekend of relaxation, and fun with family.

We stayed in a suite for the weekend and found that the resort was the perfect little getaway for us. The view of water from the front window was gorgeous, and a variety of activities from tennis, to canoeing, swimming, boating, and fishing were only a short walk away!

The cabin was cozy , clean, and comfortable. The hosts were caring and interactive with guests.

It was a perfect spot to get away and take a break from the busy bustle of the world. There are convenience stores a short distance from the site, and Huntsville a thirty minute drive away if you want to spend a few hours in the town.

A wonderful weekend! The only disappointment was that we couldn't stay there longer! Hope to return next year.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hailey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillyAlgonquinPark, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Goodday Hailstorm 120
Thank You for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit soon. Lynda and Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Immaculately maintained with similar attention to all amenities, this is in many ways the definitive Canadian country resort. Located lakeside on a small road hard by Rte. 60, these 60-year-old cottages combine the grace of yesteryear with up-to-the-second maintenance. On sunny days, use the beach chairs at waterside, or the free pedal boats or modestly-priced motorized rentals. At night, you have your own BBQ on the water view decks. On those infrequent occasions when there are any issues to resolve, Scott, one of the owners, is there on his golf cart within seconds to resolve things. If you need advice on the best spots to catch fish - and which ones to look for - he's similarly helpful. Our family of four (including two teenagers who were equally smitten) were first-time visitors, but it's not hard to see why many families have been returning year after year after year. Recommended for all ages with one caveat -"city" life in the form of Huntsville or bigger towns is a good half hour away, so those who get restless in one place might be challenged. For others, that quality is simply one of many charms. Great owners + great property = great time for all.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Ranch" - three bedrooms, all perfectly laid out - but heard similar praise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillyAlgonquinPark, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Wow Thank you So much for your 5 Star review. We are happy that you had such a great time here. Our team all work hard to make sure that everyone is enjoying their well deserved holiday. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you for celebrating our 60 years with us.
Lynda and Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just got back from renting Cabin #9 for a weekend stay and cannot say enough good things about this resort. Having owned our own cottage for many years we have come to expect a great many things and this cottage lived up to all of our expectations and excelled above that. The cottage smelled clean from the moment we entereded the door and we found that the owners provided everything we could possibly need for a great weekend. The proximity to Algonquin park is amazing. Oxtongue lake itself is a wonderful lake to canoe on and we thoroughly enjoyed the paddle to the rapids. We will certainly return to this place and I have already passed out a few brochures to people I know telling them about the place. It was recommended to me by a couple after I mentioned a horrible attemped rental of a cottage last summer that left us very wary of ever renting again. Again, thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillyAlgonquinPark, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank You for your Great Review.

We here at Blue Spruce take great Pride in offering exceptionally clean and well cared for accommodation to our guests. So glad you had a Great holiday. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My Fiance and I stayed at the Blue Spruce March 8/9, 2014 and had a fanstaic time. Our room was extremely clean, right from the cuttlery in the kitchen to the windows. Kitchen was very well outfitted and the view from our front windows was beautiful. They have a great selection of avtivities and their hospitality makes you instantly feel relaxed. I would highly recommend the Blue Spruce. We will plan to go back there next winter and stop in this summer as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a great place. We stayed in AJ's cabin and enjoyed xc skiing, skating, and being lazy. The service was excellent and friendly, and the accommodations were well considered, having everything that we wanted and nothing more to get in the way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoistherealchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have stayed here a number of times over the last few years and have never been disappointed. The staff is accommodating and friendly, the property and facilities are well maintained and there's lots to do on the resort and in the larger area. It's located on Oxtongue Lake and has a sandy beach along with several boating options. The Algonquin Park west gate is only a 5-10 minute drive away. It's our first choice whenever we vacation in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent four nights in a suite at this family run resort. Our room was very clean and well equipped with a full kitchen and BBQ out the back door. Out the front door there was a table and two chairs with a beautiful view of Oxtongue Lake. This is a very family oriented resort and every guest we talked to had been enjoying this retreat for many years, I understand why as it has every thing you need to enjoy a vacation in Muskoka. Highly recommended !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotlerRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwight
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
0.2 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
358 reviews
4.5 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
472 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
0.4 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spruce Resort

Property: Blue Spruce Resort
Address: 4308 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Dwight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Spruce Resort is an outstanding fully equipped Cottage Resort and Motel, perfectly at home in its ideal setting of pristine lakes and diversified forests. Located near the West Gate of Algonquin Park, Ontario, Canada, it is one of the largest fully-equipped housekeeping resorts in Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Spruce Hotel Muskoka
Blue Spruce Resort Dwight, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing