We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curio Bay Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed in one of the Boutique rooms and really enjoyed it. The view of the ocean is stunning, the bathroom is modern and clean, the kitchen is well equipped and the matress was the most comfortable one during our holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahout333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

You should by all means try to visit the Catlins if you are on the S Island, and if you visit the Catlins you should definitely stay here! We didn't have reservations and picked this rather randomly … and when we got there, immediately wished we could stay for longer than a night. We did happen to meet the owners on check-in and out, and thought they were lovely. The other reviewers have mentioned the main selling points - penguins, dolphins, beach, solitude - all of which are fantastic. Many have also mentioned the weather, which can be very iffy (we got lucky).

The one main point to reinforce is that you should stock up on supplies in Dunedin if you can. The closest supermarket (I can't remember the town) is quite far away from Curio Bay and pretty lacking. The nearest restaurant, about 8k away, was unexpectedly closed the night we were there. There are no shops or other eating options anywhere in the area. Luckily, there was a little takeaway shack that happened to be open during the summer, and although the food was terrible at least it was something. So, stock up, plan to stay a few days and enjoy relaxing in a remarkable spot!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MayWhentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Curio Bay Accommodation actually has a few properties to stay at. I stayed at the Beach House Apartment. This was a studio apartment attached to the owners house - though you would never know it. It is a beach front room with a glass door that opens up to the back lawn and path to the beach. You can sit in your room or on the deck and watch dolphins play in the surf. It is a wonderful spot!

There were a few things that I did not like, but we stayed two nights, so they did not bother me at all; however, had we stayed longer they may have been more of an annoyance. First, the curtains are a very thin white linen, very beautiful, but the sun shines directly into the bed at dawn and the only privacy to be found is in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were not - I ended using a bath towel and my husband used a throw pillow from the couch. The bath towels were big and think, but they were line dried, so they were also hard and crunchy. The room is full of windows so you can take in the beauty of the bay, but only one window had fly screen (and it did not open very much). This was a big problem for us, because the room was very hot and stuffy, especially when the sun was shining directly into the room and the sand flies were very bad so opening the door was not really an option. If I were to go back (and I would because even with my complaints, this place is beautiful) I would bring a mosquito net for the bed at night so I could open the door for fresh air while sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G0neExpl0ring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I am in two minds as to whether to write this review, because the accommodation is limited, and I want to go back and find it vacant! However, that will be a while away, and others deserve to enjoy the place so here goes. This place is simply beautiful. The setting on the beach with a private track to beach is perfect. There were dolphins in the surf (summer only), penquins under the house, and a sea-lion on the beach. The yellow eyed penquin rookery and fossil forest are a short walk away. We were there in marginal weather, but still loved it. The accommodation is excellent for a couple. The couple that own the place also run a farm, and there is a self check in process that works fine. Check out can be done on the phone, so you may not even see the owners. So go and enjoy it - but not when I want to book in!

Room Tip: Boutique Studio Left probably has better views than Right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is a really really great little house (we had the right hand unit). No oven but there is a microwave and a stove and dishes, silverware, dish soap, glasses, etc. Very clean. Shoes not allowed in the house (which we approve of). Very comfy bed. Free washer and dryer and soap is on-site. One of the best views you'll ever see. Bring your own dinner and breakfast. There are no stores or restaurants anywhere. Also bring your own shampoo and body soap (or use the dish soap as I did). They supply shampoo but it doesn't foam and the "conditioner" in the shampoo is non existent. The body soap is equally bad. The soaps they supply look really nice but just don't work well. But in all fairness this is a new supply of soaps they just recently bought. This is not the owner's main job so don't expect to be greeted. Though you can reach them by the phone in the room if you have questions and they are nice about answering you. Make sure to drive down to the end of the road (turn left out of your unit, turn right when the road ends, make an immediate left in the parking lot). This is the petrified forest. The waves crash dramatically. The petrified forest is neat. We saw 4 penguins come ashore just before dusk. Their timing in coming ashore was spread out by maybe 2 hours (they arrived one at a time). It was really amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Looks lovely and an awesome location. But.....this is an apartment set up to WOW on first impression and look good in photos rather than actually live in. Not a drawer nor a shelf, not a hanger, nor a hook, so the tenants live out of suitcases on the floor and drape clothes on the bedposts - which does rather spoil the aethetics of the place. Having said that, waking up to that view is worth tripping over a few piles of damp clothes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The Apartment is spacious, has a grand hand made wooden frame & king size bed and a view that is difficult to adequately describe. The bathroom boasts a tub with an ocean view and a separate shower with a ceiling rain head and a hand held.

It is worth a two night stay and more if you have time.

The price well worth it.

Room Tip: If you are in Invercargil, make an overnight trip here. It is well worth it. If you are in Dunedin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDCwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
0 mi away
Catlins Beach House
Catlins Beach House
#2 of 3 in Tokanui
3 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Curio Bay Salthouse
Curio Bay Salthouse
#1 of 3 in Tokanui
142 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Accommodation

Address: 501 Waikawa Curio Bay Road, Tokanui 9884, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Hotel Class:3 star — Curio Bay Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Boutique Hotel Tokanui
Curio Bay Accommodation New Zealand/Southland Region - Tokanui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing