We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curio Bay Accommodation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curio Bay Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Certificate of Excellence
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice stay in Curio Bay- the studio is clean and ideally located on the beach. Unfortunately the lack of a mini-market close by impacted negatively our experience. The travel agent "forgot" to mention the lack of any grocery stores in vicinity and almost ruined an otherwise nice place/ experience.If I happen to go back, I would not spend more than 1 night there. Having spent more than 14 nights in B&Bs throughout NZ and connecting with the owners, this place seemed cold and impersonal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JustMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
118
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Recently we stayed for two nights at Curio Cottage. We had just had a very busy week doing the touristy things at the glaciers, Queenstown, Milford Sound etc. so this was a perfect break away from it all. The cottage is old and has a certain rustic charm about it. It had everything we needed though. Situated right on the beach, the view of the bay, white sand and rolling green hills is magnificent. With no TV or Wi-Fi, I was wondering how our two kids would go, but they settled themselves into doing puzzles and playing cards. We enjoyed plenty of walks along the beach. We went to the petrified forest in the evening and watched the penguins come ashore after their day at sea. One of the highlights of our stay was the first sea-lion of the season parking itself on the beach right in front of the cottage. Curio Bay is off the beaten track and a lovely place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmFam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Sea views, quiet and clean. We stayed at the Cottage and loved it. The soak in the bath was fantastic and the fire to lay in front of and read books fantastic. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was sell set up. The whole setting was just so relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a dream of accommodation, a hideaway in the Catlins! We stayed in one of the boutique studios. We could see the beach and the ocean from our bed! There is a very big King size bed, a couch, sitting area and a full Kitchen. The bath is modern and big. Between the units is a washing machine which you can use for free. There is no telephone or WIFI in the unit. You will find payable WIFI in the Niagara Falls Café, about 10 min by car away. But if you are inside this unit in the Curio Bay you will never leave it again because it is so beautiful. Thank so much to our hosts Dani und Nick for everything. Do not forget to buy foods before you enter the Catlins. And have Bush Man spray or balm with you – the sandflies are not so nice in the evening. With a little luck you will see hector dolphins in the bay. The Studio and the beach are amazing! We highly recommend this accommodation –we are planning to come back some day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here end of March for 2 nights. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The studio was in great shape and had wonderful beach views. In fact you could see the dolphins surfing the waves right from the balcony! In some places in New Zealand you have to pay to swim with dolphins so the ability to do it here for free is an added bonus! There is so much to do here with most activities within walking distance. In the late afternoon the yellow eyed penguins are only a 10 minute walk away and there is the famous petrified forest as well. Dany the owner was very friendly and informative.

Our only disappointment was how cold the water is! We desperately wanted to enter the water and swim with the dolphins but the water was way too cold. However down the beach near the campground you can do surfing lessons at a good price which includes a wet suit. We would recommend coming here when the water is at its warmest.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed in one of the Boutique rooms and really enjoyed it. The view of the ocean is stunning, the bathroom is modern and clean, the kitchen is well equipped and the matress was the most comfortable one during our holidays.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahout333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

You should by all means try to visit the Catlins if you are on the S Island, and if you visit the Catlins you should definitely stay here! We didn't have reservations and picked this rather randomly … and when we got there, immediately wished we could stay for longer than a night. We did happen to meet the owners on check-in and out, and thought they were lovely. The other reviewers have mentioned the main selling points - penguins, dolphins, beach, solitude - all of which are fantastic. Many have also mentioned the weather, which can be very iffy (we got lucky).

The one main point to reinforce is that you should stock up on supplies in Dunedin if you can. The closest supermarket (I can't remember the town) is quite far away from Curio Bay and pretty lacking. The nearest restaurant, about 8k away, was unexpectedly closed the night we were there. There are no shops or other eating options anywhere in the area. Luckily, there was a little takeaway shack that happened to be open during the summer, and although the food was terrible at least it was something. So, stock up, plan to stay a few days and enjoy relaxing in a remarkable spot!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayWhentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
2.7 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 2 in Waikawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
#15 of 74 in Southland Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Accommodation

Property: Curio Bay Accommodation
Address: 501 Waikawa Curio Bay Road, Tokanui 9884, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Hotel Class:3 star — Curio Bay Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Boutique Hotel Tokanui
Curio Bay Accommodation New Zealand/Southland Region - Tokanui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing