We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curio Bay Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We LOVED this place . We had read all the reviews and it totally lived up to our high expectations . We stayed for 2 nights .. We stocked up on food and drink in Invercargill . We knew them was no TV or internet . FanTASTIC . Each studio had its own barbecue and we used this on night one . On night two we went to the excellent Niagra Falls Café for dinner
We stayed in the right hand studio . It was spotlessly clean, roomy and the bed was oh so comfortable The property is actually at Porpoise Bay . This is where you see the cute Hector Dolphins cavorting in the waves . We were lucky to see them two days running . The adjacent bay is Curio Bay and that is where the petrefied forest is and where the Yellow Eyed Penguins come ashore before dusk, which we saw . The whole area encompassing Porpoise Bay and Curio Bay is called Curio Bay . We stayed in the Catlins area for a week at 2 other locations
Our stay at Curio Bay was not only the highlight of our holiday but also something we will always remember as a life highlight . The dolphins . the penguins , the stunning location and peace are a wonderful memory . Nick and Dani really have created the perfect getaway spot to take a break from our busy world .
We used it as a base to visit McLean Falls , Cathedral Caves , Tautauku Board Walk Lake Wilkie and the wonderful Lost Gypsy at Papatowai (don,t miss it(him ) !!! closed Wednesdays and winter ).Whistling Frog at Mcleans Falls turn off excellent for lunch or dinner or just coffee rather than a cafe

Room Tip: Both studios had excellent views . The left hand one would probably have a better view of the Hector...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwifreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
122
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for one night while touring through the catlins . We realized when we booked that one night was not going to be enough and that proved correct. Unfortunately our schedule prevented a longer stay.

What a beautiful location and great accommodation. The attention to detail throughout the studio at 507 was much appreciated, as was the amount of space. It was nice to be 'off the grid' for a few days and we didn't miss the Internet. Although we were a bit surprised by the huge gap in cellular coverage between Dunedin and Invercargill.

I wish we had known our unit included a barbecue grill on the veranda as that would have changed our dinner choices. And while coffee beans, grinder, press and sugar were provided (thanks!) it would have been nice to also have cream. This was the only place in our travels that excluded this condiments so we were not in the habit of travelling with it.

No sign of penguins near the studio, but the dolphins in the surf did not disappoint.

This is a perfect location to chill out and enjoy what mother nature has to offer. We can't wait to return and enjoy more long walks on the beach!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The apartment is as described direct onto the spectacular beach, the golden sands spread over at least 3 miles before you, with deep blue/green sea and entertaining Hector dolphins putting on their own show each morning and evening. There is nothing else at curio bay other then the beach so if you want to relax and do nothing it's perfect, the only draw back is that you don't get your room serviced, bin not emptied or towels not changed, and no one who speaks English to great you on arrival to explain how things will be, that was the only disappointment about our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at home
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for only one night in the left Curio Bay studio. The studio was great, huge bed, nice bathroom, kitchen, couch and an amazing view to the beach and the ocean. You should be aware that there is no cell phone reception or TV, but this was no problem for us at all. We could see dolphins in the bay while we were at the beach but also from the verandah and from the room, stunning. We didn’t see any penguins, we waited for them on the verandah and we could hear them in the garden and near the studio. But the penguins were very considerate in the night and did not disturb our sleep.
There are no restaurants or supermarkets nearby, so remember to stock up on food and drinks before you go.
We enjoyed our relaxing stay very much and would have loved to stay one or two more nights in this perfect location on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milmiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

It is such a treat to wake up, open the curtains and see a beautiful deserted beach...before you even get out of bed. This is a super comfortable, clean place. Very plush, in fact. Could kick myself we only stayed here one night. Penguins and surfers on the beach. We loaded up on food and wine in Invercargill and prepared our food when we we were hungry. Who cares if you don't have TV or cell service or internet. We never missed it! Stayed until the last possible moment. Thank you, Dani & Nick from Alabama!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly hosts. The apartment was immaculately clean. The owners have thought of any comfort that makes a homely place. The heaters were on as we arrived which was such a treat after arriving rain soaked, wet and cold. Great selection of teas and coffee. Lovely toiletries. Super comfy bed. Husband missed a tele while I was glad there wasn't one to ruin the serenity. With wildlife, waves and surfers to watch on the beach while having a cuppa or vino on the deck who needs a tv?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nAndyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice stay in Curio Bay- the studio is clean and ideally located on the beach. Unfortunately the lack of a mini-market close by impacted negatively our experience. The travel agent "forgot" to mention the lack of any grocery stores in vicinity and almost ruined an otherwise nice place/ experience.If I happen to go back, I would not spend more than 1 night there. Having spent more than 14 nights in B&Bs throughout NZ and connecting with the owners, this place seemed cold and impersonal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JustMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
2.7 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
24.3 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
#15 of 77 in Southland Region
57 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Accommodation

Property: Curio Bay Accommodation
Address: 501 Waikawa Curio Bay Road, Tokanui 9884, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Hotel Class:3 star — Curio Bay Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Boutique Hotel Tokanui
Curio Bay Accommodation New Zealand/Southland Region - Tokanui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing