We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of the South NZ holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curio Bay Salthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Tokanui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best part of the South NZ holiday”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Catlins was the best part of our trip. Curio Bay Salthouse is a very clean and pretty place. We had a lovely view of the beach where we watched the sunrise right at the comfort of our room. We visited the petrified forest which is a hop and skip away from our accommodation to see the penguins return home at dusk. Such a treat! The tourists who were also present got really close to the penguins to take photos and used the camera flash many times. Please future visitors, don't use your camera flash and flash lights as penguins' eyes are sensitive to bright light.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
98
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at Curio Bay for two nights earlier this month, our only regret was that we could not stay longer. The view from our studio room was outstanding. I keep telling people to add Curio Bay to their bucket list - a must place to visit. The accommodation was of a high standard and spotlessly clean. We could not have been happier with our choice - the only thing my husband thought was an outside bbq would have been handy. You literally slide open your glass door and walk a few paces to the most stunning beach. We plan to return and keep recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I recently visited Curio Bay on a 2 day visit to the Catlins. It was a fantastic experience.
Our hosts were very friendly, the unit was spacious and comfortable. The beach was only 10 steps from the door. I could have stayed for days just watching the Hector dolphins in the surf only a few metres offshore. They live in Curio bay from about November to April and were just enthralling. It was an easy walk along the beach to see the petrified forest ( low tide) and other wildlife.
A wonderful few days.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Curio Bay was the highlight of our recent NZ holiday, nature at is most wonderful. This accommodation was also wonderful, amazing waterfront location with views that take your breath away. Do yourself a huge favour and stay here sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassageNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Salthouse has a wonderful location on Curio Bay - from your room you can see dolphins swimming in the ocean, and it's just down the street from the petrified forest and the yellow-eyed penguins. While there aren't any additional frills, it's a great value! The room was clean, had a full kitchen to use, and an incredible view (which is really why we were at Curio Bay anyway). Thanks for a nice visit!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GooseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Superb fresh, clean, tasteful accommodation, friendly and accommodating owners. FANTASTIC position - beach/dolphin views from your bed, step out onto the beach. Can't fault it. The rooms were very modern - so I'm not sure why someone said they were old fashioned - maybe they stayed in a different part..? We were in the beachfront unit (1 bedroom plus 1 bed/studio) - loads of room.)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vailskiier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Haan, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

What a perfect location: from your terrace you see the beach and from the garden you walk on to the sand. With some luck you'll see dolphins and penguins .
friendly welcome, spacious rooms offer everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Decor of the rooms is a bit old fashioned
Better stay here, then drive on to Kaka Point.
Very few restaurants are and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMIELANDMARLEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
2.8 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
18.2 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Salthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Salthouse

Property: Curio Bay Salthouse
Address: 517 Waikawa Curio Bay Road | No 1 RD, Tokanui, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tokanui
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curio Bay Salthouse is a modern motel right on the Porpoise Bay beach at Curio Bay. Each unit has a well equipped kitchen (no oven) and en suite bathroom. Come and relax, enjoy the panoramic view, and watch Hector Dolphins from your bed (November - April) or spend your time exploring our spectacular rugged coast. A gorgeous fully equiped 2 bedroom apartment is also available, this features stunning beach views, two king beds, sky television and full kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Salthouse New Zealand/Southland Region - Tokanui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing