We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming guest house”
Review of Posada San Pelayo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada San Pelayo
Ranked #1 of 6 Camaleno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming guest house”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Posada is situated in an idyllic spot with stunning views. We were fortunate enough to have a room with a balcony. The style of the building is very rustic but I suspect it is much more modern than first appears. It was traditionally furnished and quite dark inside but had real character. We had no problems with noise from other guests. It was clean and comfortable and a great place to use as a base for exploring the Picos. A little Spanish, and understanding of Spanish etiquette, will go a long way as most of the guests are also Spanish. The owners were very helpful and friendly to us but all communication was in Spanish. It is more like a quality guest house than a hotel. If you want a drink when you return to the hotel you have to find one of the owners. Bear in mind that the Spanish guests run on a very different timetable of eating etc than other Europeans so you have to be prepared to ask for what you want. The breakfast was very good in comparison to other hotels we stayed at during our road trip. A bit of a problem with flies though, could have done with an insect light or food covers. Potes is a short drive away and worth a visit. It had a very ski resort feel but without the snow. I have given the fitness centre an excellent because with all those mountains and walks on the doorstep who needs a gym?

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony because the view over the garden to the hills beyond is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CamandJacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    33
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
109
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A very friendly, family run hotel with stunning views of the mountains. It has a lovely garden with a pool.The breakfast was good. The room was spotless, bright and airy with wonderful views and a balcony. Large comfortable lounge to relax in. This is an excellent place to stay both for walking and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulls_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Beautiful Posada located about 5 km from the village in a beautiful hillside by a small river. Visited in May and the weather was fine,the location is spectacular with lambs and sheep in a field right beside the posada, cows with bells on the other side over the river, and an orchard and fruitgarden on the other. This was topped off by snowcapped mountains in the distance and a new outdoor pool, just completed so yet to be opened. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was simple and tasty (cereals, yoghurt, fruit, coffee/tea). We really enjoyed our break there which felt like something out of postcard.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPHarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We booked a triple room....our daughter had a single in the loft. Breakfast on the patio. Read my book while in their lounge chairs in the back yard with a fabulous view of the mountains. Close to Potes for restaurants. Terrific breakfast. On the road to the cablecar...Feunte de (did I spell that right?)...which is a terrific place to hike for the day. You almost need 4 days in the Picos de Europa. We only stayed 2 nights at this hotel but we were thoroughly pleased.

Room Tip: They have rooms with balconies....and stunning views of the mountains. Ours was a side view room, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snitz020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Could not fault this place in any way ! Very very impressed. Stunning location. Waking up and looking up the meandering valleys to mountains sky high was imaginable. They went beyond our expectations on some extra breakfast requests. Breakfast was served super fast. Cleanliness was perfect. Very friendly. Will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkiewiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is very good looking posada with very typical decoration that feels like home. The service was good. Only good to stay here if you have a car, it's around only 15min (by car) to Fuente Dé if you want go up the mountain, also near Potes.
The room was very clean and pleasant but didn't have much space or quality in the furniture. Also, you could easily hear every noise in the other room.
Free wifi (but reception in room was poor) and free parking outside.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outlanderlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We enjoyed 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Superb location in the picos. Gorgeous garden adn gracious home. The hostess and host are most helpful. Breakfasts were good, variety good. Our only complaint is that the rooms aren't very sound-proof.
An enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaleno
6.5 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Las Espedillas
Posada Las Espedillas
#1 of 2 in Camaleno
33 reviews
2.3 mi away
Posada el Bosque
Posada el Bosque
#1 of 1 in Mieses
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Baro
La Casona de Baro
#1 of 3 in Camaleno
90 reviews
4.4 mi away
Posada el Corcal de Liebana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Pelayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Pelayo

Property: Posada San Pelayo
Address: Barrio San Pelayo, 39587 Camaleno, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Camaleno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Camaleno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada San Pelayo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada San Pelayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing