We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly B&B in a stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada San Pelayo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada San Pelayo
Ranked #1 of 6 Camaleno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B in a stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A beautiful, quiet rural posada in the middle of the Picos, with quick access to the Fuente De cable care, which is a very convenient benefit. Good breakfast, clean rooms, all with good views. We could not have a balcony room as there were none available , but it did not matter at all. Our room at the top had a little Juliet balcony/window and overlooked a field with sheep and then some mountains in the distance. Very tranquil, also family friendly with many rooms with extra beds. Some sound issues from other rooms with creaky floorboards- the price you pay for a lovely quirky old place. Short drive to Potes for dinner. Sadly Potes not blessed with great dining experiences- more of the cheap, basic/hearty variety! Not the posada's fault, but was a bit of a downer... Meant we felt 2 -3 nights was enough, but all down to personal preference.

Room Tip: Does not matter, balcony would be nice but do not panic if all are booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissFussyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    32
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Relaxing and welcoming, this beautiful Posada provides a great base from which to explore this stunningly green valley on the western fringe of the Picos de Europa. The hosts are friendly and chilled and you're well looked after on all fronts. Deserving of its great reviews. Very popular with walkers and hikers of all levels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crumpledink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Benito, Extremadura, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a beautiful home where you feel like a guest of the family. It has gorgeous rooms with luxurious touches, lovely lounges and a hearty breakfast. The garden is heavenly as are the views. The location is perfect for discovering the area either by car through the pretty villages, or on foot on one of the many signposted trails, and there are lots of restaurants where you can eat in nearby Potes.

We stayed over the Easter weekend and it was quite expensive (for Spain) but you get what you pay for. We would definitely return. They even have a kettle (take your own teabags)!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here 3 nights for a family trip and can warmly recommend it. This is a very nice and friendly family-run place set in the most beautiful location with mountains all around. Nice rooms with views. Very good home-made breakfast in the mornings. Helpful and friendly owners. Very child friendly place and close to many great sights, incl. the teleferico at Fuente De. Stayed there in October so weather was a bit tricky, sunny somedays, colder on others, but it was still nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanishFamilyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This family-run guest house is located in a spectacular location, with astonishing views of the mountains from every window and balcony. The couple who manages the place are very friendly and helpful. It used to be their farm house. Breakfast is delicious, with home-grown vegetables and fruits and home-made pastries. There is a swimming pool and a large yard. Every little detail in the house is carefully designed, with simple and elegant taste, making use of old farm house tools as furniture. San Pelayo is an isolated, quiet little village with a just few houses by the river. Potes, the closest town, with restaurants, supermarkets and shops is less than a 10 minutes drive. I truly recommend this place. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have balconies. The ones on the back side of the house directly face the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aya92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's an amazing place with a very family friendly feel. It's close to most places by car and so was an ideal location for us. The owners were so friendly and made us feel so welcome! Not only is the location stunning but so is everything there! A place we will definitely return to.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bhavini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This posada is a few Kilometres out of Potes on the road to Fuente De. We stopped by, as it was a fantastic location with views of mountains. We wanted a room with a view, however, the owner was not there, but were told, it was unlikely. There is another posada higher up the hill, however, I believe this one has the better views, unless you get a room with a view. The lobby area is very nice...

Price quoted was in June 2013 was 60 euros (including breakfast).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashback1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaleno
6.5 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Las Espedillas
Posada Las Espedillas
#1 of 2 in Camaleno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.3 mi away
Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Posada el Bosque
Posada el Bosque
#1 of 1 in Mieses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de Baro
La Casona de Baro
#1 of 3 in Camaleno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Pelayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Pelayo

Property: Posada San Pelayo
Address: Barrio San Pelayo, 39587 Camaleno, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Camaleno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Camaleno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada San Pelayo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada San Pelayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing