We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget your old Bucket List”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Forget your old Bucket List”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Don't put this place on your bucket list.

Put it on your Absolutely-Totally-Definitely-Must-Do-Now list.

The best fine food I've had since that famous restaurant in The Rocks in Sydney (can't remember the name!). Pea risotto wrapped in slivers of oxtail; fresh mushroom and marjoram soup; avo and olive melange wrapped in springbok carpaccio; Norwegain salmon topped with ginger, chili and garlic topped with dorado, prawn and steamed asparagus (every layer a new sensation!); Mediterranean potatoes and finally crème brulee made the old fashioned way. Even my breakfast omelette was incredible; lofty floaty foam filled with soft camembert, bacon and cranberry.

Phillipa explains the menu before dinner, beside a roaring fire. Also, the history. Met fellow-travellers from Tourism Indaba and we talked and talked. Bed has a feather mattress cover and a down duvet. My own fire. A river. A shimmering lake. Rows of cutlery predict how many courses to expect! Owner Richard's son's wine to die for. Incredible staff always there, but never intrusive.

I would rather stay here once than anywhere else twice! Remember when you check the price, it includes your gourmet meal; so not as expensive as it first seems. Memories are made of this. Thank you Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    69
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
224
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheathampstead,
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a fantastic place, we were greeted with lemon juice ans refreshing towels as soon as we had parked the car, whilst we stood by the car a friendly individual was there to help with our luggage.
We had the original farm house accommodation, spacious, immaculately furnished, a book case, open fire place and crisp bed linen.
After an absolutely superb dinner, (it was a Sunday evening and we were the only diners) where we were royally treated, each course of the menu being explained to us in great detail and a visit to their extensive wine cellar to choose our wines.
After dinner we retired to our bungalow to find a log fire burning in the lounge, it was a chilly evening!
In all, a great three day stay and we really hope we can return.

Room Tip: Try and get the original farm house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I spent a few days here and loved it. The setting is beautiful and the view over the dam surrounded by lots busy nest building weaver birds was lovely. The food was superb quality and very creative, the wines excellent. We enjoyed the open fire and the relaxed atmosphere in the bar, which included the hotel pets, who were usually in there. The staff were all very helpful and the rooms were spotless and nicely decorated. We couldn't fault the place and would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary at this lovely farm house.
Every thing is perfect, the accommodation is charming and warm, the location is blissful, views are phenomenal. The food is delicious, rich and beautifully prepared, just what you would expect in a luxury farm house. People who don't like it, don't understand it! It's fantastic! A South African institution.

Room Tip: Feed the trout whilst having tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Visited on 3 occasions enjoying the tranquility / peaceful surroundings & very good food
One of a kind place .Only real disappointment was on first visit coffee was @ R 12.00 per cup., without a doubt very good value ., 2nd visit ( 20 days later ) R 12.00 per cup., 3rd visit ( 15 days later ) R 25.00 per cup ( over 108 % increase ) I don`t know any one else that charges R 25.00 per cup.or pushes prices up like that.
If only catering for overseas clients., fair enough but the locals should be Cleopatra`s first priority

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed many a leisurely afternoon here during our stay in the Kamberg valley. Not sure if this is stanard but we were, on each occasion, welcomed at the car park before being directed to the reception.

From here it only gets better! Great views, an assortment of comfortable sitting areas to lounge, very hospitible staff and great food.
Well worth a visit or to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for one night in March 2014 as we had been recommended by a friend. We found it very hard to find (it was a long way off the beaten track) and when we arrived our room was 'shabby chic' but more shabby than chic. The cupboards had shower curtains for doors and the fridge had a make shift cupboard around it. There were wires hanging from the TV and the mirror over the sink was so low that my husband couldn't see in it! The food was good, especially the orange and chocolate torte, but the meal we had (smoked trout mousse, cauliflower and courgette soups and steak was not that exciting) and we felt the 'chat' before hand rather pretentious. The highlight for us was the surrounding area which was quite beautiful and wonderful for walking. Although the staff were lovely, we felt that the experience was expensive for South Africa which has great places to stay, amazing restaurants and superb fillet steak almost anywhere you go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowan
24.5 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
843 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
200 reviews
22.8 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
23.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
26.5 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse

Property: Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Address: Highmoor Road, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Hotel Balgowan
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Kwazulu Natal
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse South Africa/Balgowan, KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing