We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 24 February 2007

We stayed in Cleopatra for 2 nights.
The food is really wonderful. Diningroom, like the rest of the rooms, where decorated rather excentric, but it does fit in.
For example, no place mats on the table cloths but bathroom tiles, very different.
Before dinner, you can go in the wine cellar and pick your wine, which is much more fun than looking in a wine list.
The breakfast was as lovely as the dinner. You won't need any lunch, although scones, muffins and cheese are there to eat from the whole day.
The area is beautiful and very pieceful, quiet.

We were not very charmed of the room, cleanlines was just okay, but we do not like carpet in the bathroom and the toilet.
The rooms do need a proper renovation. In most of the rooms, the roof is a tin roof, which doesn't look very nice either.

I would return here, but only for the food and the area, not for the rooms.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — quality of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mellissa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    70
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
225
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

We stayed in Cleopatra for 3 nights of our South African honeymoon and it was one of the highlights of our 4 week trip. This place is all about the food, but equally about relaxing in spectacular scenery.
The food is without doubt the best we have ever eaten (equally as good or better than michelin star restaurants we've been to) and certainly the best we had in South Africa. The nightly description by Richard Poynton of the menu and its preparation is both charming and entertaining! Also there is a very impressive wine cellar from which to select your tipple.
Situation is spectacular, nestled into the folds of the mountain at the very end of the valley. We had booked a standard room and were in it for 1 night before being upgraded to the honeymoon cottage. Standard room decor is lovely - would describe decor style as a bit alternative meets quaint country - the honeymoon cottage is fab and had a log burning fire, which we used.
The hillwalking in the locality is superb, highly recommend going to Giants Castle.
Make sure you go for at least 2 nights so that you get in 1 full day's activities (hillwalking / fishing / horseriding etc).

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Oonagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

The farmhouse was recommended to us by our travel agent Rainbow Tours. We were looking for a tour OF the Drakensberg Mountains as this was our third visit to SA. The Farmhouse is in a wonderful area and offeres a lot of opportunities for tours, walking and other experiences. The staff are very helpful in advising you on this.

The Farmhouse is advertised as a gourmet reterat and this was certainly confirmed during our first night stay and the following breakfast. The menu was very well thought out and everything went very smoothly. We spent a wonderful day visiting the Nzational Park and returnded to a welcoming tea. nfortunately the chef and proprietor had their day off during the next day and this is when the problems started. The sous chef is not up to scratch and obviously not very well trained. The second's night menu was neither well though nor well cooked. Neither my comapnion nor I were able to eat the main course and no alternative was offred to us as the menu is set! We went to bed rather hungry that night! No effeort was made to prepare something alternative for us and no apology was offered to us.

In conclusion the farmhouse has potential but also can be a very unrewarding experience. If the chef/proprietor is around things develop as expected. However his days off are also the farmhouse's days off!!! During the latter the experience could be compared to Faulty Towers!

Find out beforehand whether the chef will be present during the stay. It makes a whole diffrence!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2005

My husband and I stayed at Cleopatra for just 1 night and we wish we had stayed for more (although our waistlines are relieved we didn't). This is a serious gourmet experience and is definitely not rustic home cooking. We had some of the best food we have ever eaten in our lives both at dinner and at breakfast. I adored the smoked salmon bisque, my husband loved the springbok loin and we both were in heaven with the pear and butterscotch dessert. All 6 courses were cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. We got up early the next day and took the lodge dogs for a pre-breakfast walk. We were so glad we did as breakfast was 3 courses with lots of homemade bread, scones and pastries to help yourselves to too. Lovely. However this place is not just about the food, it is in the most stunning setting high in the mountains and we were lucky enough to watch a very dramatic thunderstorm rumble round the mountains from our covered terrace. We had room 7 which was a suite comprising of 3 rooms, lounge, bedroom, bathroom. It was beautiful. A huge bed, a huge roll top bath and a real log fire in the lounge. Little touches such as sherry and homemade biscuits made it really special. Our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank superstarhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 June 2005

3 nights was just about all we could manage at this wonderful small hotel with the best food we have EVER eaten, anywhere. Very peaceful location and very comfortable rooms but the main reason to go is for the gourmet experience.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowan
24.5 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
863 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
207 reviews
22.8 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
23.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
26.5 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse

Property: Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Address: Highmoor Road, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Hotel Balgowan
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Kwazulu Natal
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse South Africa/Balgowan, KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing