We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and spacious villa in the "real" Spain”

Review of Finca del Alamo

View from pool to house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from pool to house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View from pool to house
side sitting room 2
garden
side sitting room 3
View from porch
Garden chess set
side sitting room 1
Side elevation
view from porch
garden
Garden
Local Beach - Monsul
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Nijar, Province of Almeria, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham210...
Tunbridge Wells, UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful and spacious villa in the "real" Spain”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We needed an away-from-it all break and this villa in Nijar, Almeria province, suited our extended family of 11 perfectly. The villa, which has apparently won architectural applause, is stunning and spacious. Situated on a slope, the exotic gardens literally tumble like a stream beneath it leading to an ecologically filtered swimming pool. The rooms are filled with lovely antiques and it has a real lived-in feel. The on-site caretaker, Isobel, welcomed us and cooked a lovely meal for us on one of the evenings (almond chicken with spinach and chickpeas). The villa is half an hour to some beautiful beaches (we liked Agua Amarga where there is also a first-class restaurant caked La Villa) . It is close to the mountains and desert landscape (Sorbas is an attractive village) and we even stumbled across a lovely restaurant called Almendro owned by a British Couple in a village near to Sorbas called La Mela. Nijar itself lacks any real restaurants, but there are a couple of café-bars and a pizzeria. The whole area is non touristy, English is not widely spoken and if you want to experience the "real" Spain, this is definitely the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignLol...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value, space and scenery”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling as a large group is always fraught with issues; you end up paying over the odds for extremely average properties. However, Finca Del Alamo is a veritable haven for the price. Lots of living and dining space, gorgeous decor, fresh lemons, olives and almonds within the grounds, shaded table tennis area and the surrounding towns are a ceramicists' heaven. The beaches within a 30 minute drive are stunning and I'd highly recommend a visit to Fort Bravo in Tabernas. BEST DAY EVER if you like an authentic wild west/shoot-em-up experience. Bar el Pipa in Nijar serves the best granizados around.

For any budding footballers, the astroturfed grounds in Nijar (5 minute drive from the house) is the best we've seen anyware and it's free. Beware of kids who want to play in the heat.....heat exhaustion is not a pleasant ailment. Late afternoon is perfect and there is a swimmig pool on site too.

The only slight issue with the Finca in the height of summer can be the heat at night. Only 2 rooms have air conditioning (the others are equiped with fans) and some of the bathrooms need a bit of TLC. The caretaker lives discreetly on-site in separate quarters. The pool is more geared to adults but the beaches more than compensate for water-crazy kinds. All very minor points. If you like affordable, far from the madding crowd, eco-granduer in a remote but beautiful setting, the Finca is the place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Numerous areas for dining, indoors and out.
Liked least: Cleaning routine was infrequent
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Since Sharon stayed at Finca del Alamo, we have upgraded all the bathrooms and the bedrooms now have air conditioning in them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rikalus
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Finca as a part of a group of 12.
Never having been to Spain before, with only tales of lads holiday to use as what to expect, I was blown away. The area of Nijar & nearby Almeria is beautiful, stunning scenery, lovely architecture and wonderful things to see/do. Nijar (5 minute drive) offers all local amenities, however I would recommend for any big food/alcohol shops to venture into Almeria to a supermarket as the prices are much cheaper (especially alcohol).
Further afield, we visited San Jose which has a lovely beach, and a few of us ventured off to Granada to visit Alhambra - I would highly recommend this. It's about a 2 hour drive each way, and you need to book tickets in advance, but it's a full day out.

The Finca itself is immense. The photos on Tripadvisor do not do the place justice, it felt like we were staying in a mansion. The décor of the Finca is top notch, very warm and welcoming, like you are staying at a friends place. All bedrooms are of a generous size, in fact all rooms are substantial.
Having beautiful weather everyday meant most of the time we were outside by the pool. The area around the pool again is beautiful - there are lovely views of Nijar with a mountainous backdrop, and a view of the coast in the distance. There is also a Ping-Pong table near the pool which kept us entertained with many a match being played. There is also a box of inflatables by the ping pong table which was unexpected. I loved the pool, although its not the widest of pools, its sufficient enough to swim in, play in and cool off. Sun loungers are provided, however if you seek shade, there are no parasols, but there are shaded areas around the trees, walls and balcony. My only word of caution is that the internal sides of the pool wall are not smooth - be careful not to graze your limbs/feet against them with too much vigor as you will feel it afterwards!

Isabella showed us round the villa upon arrival, however with no Spanish speakers in our group it was more of a pointing exercise. If you are in a larger group like us, I would recommend maybe just one or two people follow her round rather than everyone following her like a herd of sheep. It's easy enough to figure out what is where.

All in all I would recommend Finca Alamo to everyone, I have no negatives to offer. I can honestly say that all 12 of us left the Finca feeling relaxed. We all had a lovely stay and if the opportunity arose, I would happily revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to pin point one thing
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great villa”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Finca del Alamo for 1 week. We were an extended family group of 14 aged from 3 yrs to 67 yrs.
The house was fantastic with lots of space and large bedrooms and good showers.
We spred ourselves out, used the pool, had great communal meals and enjoyed the fabulous weather and surrounding towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general feel was relaxed and so we could be relaxed
Liked least: that is very hard to choose
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The facyt that although there were rumours abounding we never got to see any scorpions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LONDON
Reviewed 26 April 2011 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 18 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing