We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic castle stay (and some logistical advice)”
Review of Dragsholm Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragsholm Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoerve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our visit to Dragsholm Slot was one of the highlights of the trip. We wandered around the castle, the grounds, and walked to the beach. Our room had a nice little sitting area and view of the grounds. It also had a rounded door. There were all kinds of beautiful rooms to walk through and sit in. We ate at the Eatery (Spisehus) for dinner as part of the seasonal package and the food was fresh, uncomplicated and excellent.

Just a few bits of advice/notes about getting here if you are planning on using public transportation. These are NOT by any means reasons not to go in my opinion, but just information that is useful to help you plan your visit:
-There is NO taxi stand at the Horve train station. Either bring a mobile phone with the hotel or taxi numbers, or pre-arrange a taxi with the hotel to pick you up at the station. Pre-arranging it would probably be your best bet because I don't know how long it would take for a taxi to show up if you didn't call it until your arrival. The hotel had offered to arrange a taxi but I hadn't realized how critical this was! Take them up on this.
-If you want to buy your return tickets at the station, note that there is no ticket counter and the current ticket machine is coin only, no cards.
-The ticket machine is all in Danish. It is not Copenhagen!

Also, if you have large luggage, be prepared to lug it up and down the stairs: this is a historical property and there is no lift.

That said, if you plan around/consider this, you will have an amazing time at Dragsholm Slot!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Dragsholm Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is an authentic castle with moat, and even a skeleton in the walls! It is stunning and all that you expect. The chef has won awards for the being the best in Denmark so plan on an expensive, but worth it, dinner. The grounds have beautiful trails for walking, and the museum portion of the castle is left open for guest to wander through and enjoy. About 1/2 hour from a ferry port, this is an exceptional option for a quiet, country night of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent a weekend at Dragsholm and enjoyed very good locally sourced food. The castle location is magnificient with the surrounding gardens and view over the sea. The highlight was the phenomenal guided tour by 'the old one' (Niels Ewal) who is the best guide I have ever encountered in any language based on his vivid and funny story-telling. The rooms a very nice, but quite small.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms outside the castle itself, as they have small balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here last weekend, it is a beautiful place, steeped in history, with all sorts of activities on offer like horse riding and clay pigeon shooting. The room we had was very small but pretty and had a lovely little terrace at the back with a view. The castle itself is amazing, with room after room of beautiful things. We had a formal dinner in the evening and the staff were wonderful and really looked after us. All in all, a fabulous experience. It's about an hours drive from the airport, depending on traffic, well worth the trip!

Room Tip: We were in what might have been the stables just down from the main building and as the party went o...
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Candida13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a weekend at Dragsholm Slot celebrating an after wedding party. Delicious food, really good accommodation and a lot of history. The chefs preparing the food are really skilled and the food is excellent! The staff will do anything to assist you with your requests (we wanted to move to a different room and they handled that without any problems). Waiters are attentive and very professional. Definitely a place to visit for relaxation or just a good dinner in excellent surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is perhaps the most authentic castle stay I've had... The public rooms are filled with antiques which you can touch, sit on, read.. nothing is off limits. The room I had was the only let down in comparison, though modern enough, perhaps a little too tacky contemporary.. with a poorly made lavender head board and odd Ikea imitation furniture, if you can imagine anyone wanting to imitate Ikea, here it is... Staff where friendly if useless, Your bags will need to be lugged up stairs with no help. The restaurant was excellent, and the gardens charming.. The entire experience, even with its let downs, were well worth the effort. Even the Grey lady walking on the roof at 3 am was worth it. ( Her bones can be seen in the walls off one of the public rooms !!)

Room Tip: arrive before 4 pm I arrived late and had to take what they offered simply because I was too tried t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for a company seminar - the conference facilities are great - combined with the beautiful castle and landscape, I can only say that this place is highly recommendable. The food is excellent. The place is even more recommendable for a romantic get-away - it's hard to find a more suited place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greve2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoerve
18.1 mi away
Kragerup Gods
Kragerup Gods
#1 of 1 in Ruds Vedby
81 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Sidesporet
Hotel Sidesporet
#1 of 2 in Holbaek
78 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Strandparken
Hotel Strandparken
#2 of 2 in Holbaek
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kalundborg
Zleep Hotel Kalundborg
#1 of 3 in Kalundborg
14 reviews
18.8 mi away
Rorvig Centret - Hotel
Rorvig Centret - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roervig
12 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosengarden
Rosengarden
#1 of 1 in Foellenslev
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragsholm Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragsholm Castle

Address: Dragsholm Alle 1, Hoerve 4534, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > West Zealand > Odsherred Municipality > Hoerve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoerve
Price Range: £257 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dragsholm Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing