We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location and Great Service”
Review of Summer Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Homes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stay at Summer Homes quite regularly and the location is second to none! Eating breakfast whilst sitting in the garden over looking the beach and clear blue sea is a stunning experience not to be missed. Couple that with good clean rooms, good food and extremely friendly and helpful staff and you have a 5 star resort

Room Tip: The cheaper priced rooms are on the second row but for a fabulous experience try one of the 4 front...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Summer Homes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hi there, my family stayed at this resort on April 26 as a stop over between Thelma & Toby's Island Camping Adventure at Tandan Beach (30 minutes north) and Puerto Princesa, and it would have been the cleanest and most cared for resort of any that we saw all along the beach front at Port Barton.

The rooms were basic but nice, very clean, the 4 garden cottages are painted in bright red, blue, green and yellow, resturant/bar was beautiful, the food was terrific, the staff were wonderful, and the gardens were a real treat, and sadly we had nothing bad what so ever to say about this place, and i gave it a 5 star rating based on what we got for our money, php1500 ($40au) for a garden room with a queen bed plus an additional single for our daughter, and we had a great evening meal for around php800 ($20au) including a few beers and drinks for my wife and daughter.

We will be returning to Palawan next year, and this will be our destination once again.

Oh, and right in the middle of the long Port Barton beach, not at the northern end, which we found to be somewhat dirty and untidy, with a river running from it out into the ocean.

Cheers

Room Tip: All 4 garden deluxe rooms are great, if you are a solo traveler or a couple doing a trip on a budget...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glenpinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Summer Homes was probably the nicest and best cared for place we stayed in this price range on all of Palawan. The rooms are spotless and bathrooms are super nice. Great grounds area, fun tiki like bar that was willing to make whatever cocktail we wanted, and great food. And finally, the staff was hardworking and friendly, which seemed a rarity at that point in our trip.
Couldn't recommend this place more, and quaint Port Barton is definitely worth a night or two on your trip!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gingerbritches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We rented the cottages with ocean view. Beautiful! Extremely clean room and bathroom. You can hear the ocean all night long, or go into the garden or the front beach and relax there.

The restaurant has excellent dishes and amazing variety for a small town. In fact, after trying a few places, we realized that this restaurant was the best option available in regards to food quality and price.

One issue was that we were told that the room came with hot water. However, the water heater never worked in the 4 days that we spent in Summer Homes. We were told that it was because the solar panel had not had enough sunlight to be in working condition. In the end, it was a minor situation, although we had to shower pretty fast because water was icy.

Overall, a very relaxing experience. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages if you can. The contact with the ocean is relaxing and an experience so diverse...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mili262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Summer Homes for 3 nights in March 2013. We paid 700 Peso's for a small double room (not a bungalow) with bathroom. We didn't eat at the restaurant because the menu looked very overpriced. There was free wifi, but the connection was extremely slow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Summer Homes is a great choice when in Port Barton. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. The restaurant attached has good food but is a little overpriced. Be prepared for an expensive ride either to/from Puerto Princerra as there is only one bus or jeepney that travels back and fourth. If you miss that, you will have to hire a private that charge $100 one way. Also, there is limited Internet access and electricity while in PB. Overall, a great quiet, peaceful, and beautiful beach getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_C100889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The resort is a great deal. Very good rooms and the best bungalows in front. Brother had a room, we (family with small kid) had bungalow. Bungalow was really the best what you can get for 24€. Nice, clean, cosy room. With ok bathroom. Beautiful terrace with sea view and between the terrace (bungalow) and sea is only nice grass and sand beach. The best, esspecially for familys with small kids.
We have only one problem and this problem could be big if would miss the flight. We rent van with driver in the resort. Everything was ok, but when we came to Puerto Princesa the driver become strange. He saw the police and turned away from the main road. And this happened few times and we were a little bit nervose because we had flight. We were drving around PP like that for one hour and he turned from main road each timehe saw police or because there was some police control. We were in PP for the 4th time so we knew that we are close to the airport and it was only 15min left to check in. And than he drove somewhere were it was deadend street, of course I completelly pissed off, two times. I asked him what kind of problem does he has with police and if he has a driving license.... I said also that I wont pay him for the van if we will miss the flight and that I will call the police. Than he went through police controle, he had luck, they didnt stoped him and we were on time on the airport. So be careful when you rent the van. We just trusted the summer Homes but maybe we should check the driver first.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjeta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Barton hotels
19.0 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
15.1 mi away
Blue Cove Island Resort
Blue Cove Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Port Barton
87 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 21 in Port Barton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 11 in Port Barton
100 reviews
14.7 mi away
Deep Moon Resort
Deep Moon Resort
#4 of 21 in Port Barton
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
#2 of 11 in Port Barton
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Homes

Address: Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > San Vicente > Port Barton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Summer Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Homes Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing