We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly remote, romantic, secluded vacation rental...”
other travellers have booked this property
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Gilligans has 180 metres of semi private beach and 2 acres of grounds with no neighbours for 200mts. Our kayaks and paddle boards are available for our guests to use.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Gilligans has 180 metres of semi private beach and 2 acres of grounds with no neighbours for 200mts.
Our kayaks and paddle boards are available for our guests to use.
Thanks to our guests the Jones girls for modelling for us.
Relax beside our calm waters
You'll love our beachfront cabanas.
Gilligans new kitchen is available for guests to use.
Our boat is available for island hopping. Good for 8.
Gilligans Hideaway guesthouse is an ideal private holiday home for lovers or groups up to 8.
Great for private romantic evenings
The beds are comfortable and nets are provided for your protection.
Guests can lunch on the beach or nearby islands. Our package includes an island trip and beach lunch
Freshly cut coconuts are provided for guests by our caretakers.
Enjoy an evening bonfire on the beach.
Enjoy an evening bonfire on the beach.
Our caretakers.
Kayak around to the nearby water falls at Bigaho.
Gilligans from the water.
View from the beach
Our house is right beside the water
We have 2 paddle boards available at each home.
We have screens for your protection.
Contact us for our information sheets and links to our Flickr photo site.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island, Palawan Province, Mimaropa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
rbrown406
Tanjay, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Truly remote, romantic, secluded vacation rental property!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My new wife and I stayed Gilligans for 3 nights. The owner was so very kind to work with us since that time had already been blocked off but he make an exception for our honeymoon! While a typhoon passed to the north and it was very windy, storm, and rained alot we enjoyed our short stay there. Very private beach, house with everything we needed including the wonderful care takers who attended to all our needs. We had great fresh food and lots of private time to enjoy this vacation home "off the beaten path"! I wish we could have stayed longer to truly enjoy this special spot and perhaps we can in the future! Thanks to the owner for his willingness to make this special time happen for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded rarely seen spot for a honeymoon or a family.
Liked least: The weather that no one could control!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bean0123
West Country
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon paradise - a perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed 1 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Where to start??? Not only are there so many wonderful things to say about Gilligans, there are so many great things to say about the owners and the people on hand to help make the holiday so special.

The location is amazing. I can't really imagine many places on earth that could be more idyllic & relaxing. If lying on a private beach, snokelling in the crystal clear waters, kayaking round the bay, drinking in the cabana and eating seafood which has been caught hours earlier is your type of thing, then you'll love Gilligans.

The house itself is great. Everything is catered for, from the fully equiped kitchen to the brilliant stereo set-up - you can sit on the veranda watching the sunsets, listening to all your tunes through your ipod. Bathrooms are clean and the beds are comfy.

The owners have a house keeper (Estralia) and her husband (Alvin) who look after the place when it's empty and look after the guests (if you want) while it's occupied. We were told by Mal (the owner) that Estralia & Alvin would be happy to look after us purely as and when we needed, and they couldn't have been more hospitable. Estralia cooked all our meals - she asked us what we fancied eating every day and what time we wanted to eat - and all the food was great. When we went on day trips to the islands with Alvin, she packed us a lunch or sent us off with a fresh fish which Alvin bbq-ed for us. Estralia also cleaned the house every day. She really is the most lovely person you could ever wish to look after you and Mal is extremely lucky to have her. Alvin is also amazing - whenever we fancied taking a trip to a deserted island to go snorkelling then he would take us in the boat. He also has a helper (Ray) who is equally fab...and smiles 24 hours a day!

Day trips to the islands & waterfalls really are incredible. Just when we thought that Gilligans was paradise, we were taken somewhere else which made you feel you were a million miles from anywhere.

We were due to leave Gilligans at 6 a.m on our last day, to be taken 3 hours up the coast in a boat to our next destination. However, a storm was forecast so Mal's helpers in his other house (Villa Margerita) in the nearby village of Port Barton picked us up the night before and took us to Villa Margerita so we could leave by jeep the next day instead (which they kindly organised without being asked). Not only was this very thoughtful of them (my wife & I would not have been able to get to our next detsination on time if they handn't) but the helpers at Margerita cooked us a 3 course meal surrounded by candles and music! Evidently Mal had heard about the change to our plans and asked his staff to make sure we had the perfect end to our stay. When we asked how much the meal cost they refused to take any money - they just said they wanted to make it special for us! We were quite simply lost for words. The food was amazing and the staff (Apple, Arnold & Marilyn plus others) are so lovely.

As for Mal - he only has one interest, and that is to make sure that guests at his houses have the holiday of a life time. That is his Number One thought. Booking the holiday was easy and he answered all our questions and concerns compeletly honestly. He also made sure that we bought everything we needed from the supermarket when we landed in Puerto Princesa (as Gilligans is obvioulsy not near a shop).

Booking Gilligans was a bit leftfield for us. We were slightly in two minds because it is remote and thought that for our honeymoon perhaps we should book somewhere which was tried & tested and more on the beaten track. All I can say is that this was the most amazing holiday - totally unique and original - and my wife and I could not have wished for a better honeymoon.

Massive thanks to Mal and all his team for being ace. We could not have asked for more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2011
That brought a tear to my eyes! Thanks for trusting our team to make your honeymoon so special. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Warm regards and many thanks for your kind words. Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 8 June 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mitch1952
Yamba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it felt like home”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We (two adults,one teenager and one 17month old infant) stayed at Gilligans for just about two weeks..we had stayed at the owners other property(the Villa Margareta) for one week at the end of April.We all felt that Gilligans is more suitable for younger children and teenagers,after staying in both rentals..The owners are very considerate,helpful and go out of their way to inform you before you book as to what you need to bring and whats available....We all picked up some sought of virus in between manila and port barton,and ended up with fevers and loss of weight etc.etc.....The owners went out of their way to help and even offered the Villa Margareta 4x4 utility to take my baby back to the hospital for check up.They only asked for gasoline...this is the type of thing that makes you want go back again.Plus the fact that the location of Gilligans is fantastic and very quite and peaceful.We personally found Alvin ,Estralia and Ray (caretakers) to be very honest,thoughtful and helpful...Their children are great company.The house itself is very comfortable and easy to keep clean.Great newly renovated kitchen and bathrooms..Hot water via solar ,was a nice luxury at the end of a busy day fishing,swimming,kayaking and hitting golf balls on the property between the coconut trees.(wedges only) TIP.There is a few very old clubs and plenty of balls in the shed that houses the generator...Ask Estralia to let you pick one out and a bucket of balls .if your a golf nut.Saves taking your own wedge on the plane...If you have time get Alvin,Estralia to take you to the waterfalls at Bigaho(next bay north).Its an easy walk but take something other than flip flops if your elderly or carrying a baby or heavy pack.The track up near the falls can be a bit tricky if your wearing flip flops and they get wet.Dont forget to leave a small donation in the box on the track.The local community do all the work on the track and only ask for donations to purchase new materials for the track maintenance .Remember to take plenty of water and some snacks if you want to stay awhile at the falls.(no shops)When your working out what to buy at Puerto to take to Gilligans ,remember that the nearest small store in Port Barton is twenty minutes (each way) by boat.Minumum cost is approx php400+.So it makes sense to take extra to start with..We had one free island hopping trip for every week we stayed, as part of our package...Its a great day out..TIP .remember to buy some different size resealable plastic bags at the NCCC in puerto..Especially if you want to take cameras.ipods etc on the boat trips.The wind often gets stronger in the afternoons and water /spray finds it way into the boat with the choppier conditions.........Ray can climb the coconut trees on the property if you want fresh juice.(dont forget to tip him)......If you get anything done by Estralia,like laundry etc..dont forget ..php220 ..and if you ask to go to the falls etc..then you should be mindful of payment to them for the use of the boat and their time...Alvin and Estralia are VERY shy when it comes to accepting payment.So it would be easy to abuse that situation..Please..dont..they are lovely ,honest caring people and they should be paid for any extra work they do for you...the cost of living in the philippines has risen a lot in the last few years.Especially in the provinces...They have three children going to school at Port Barton(boarding house)and bills to pay ,just like all of us visitors there...................In regards to insects..i found there was no more insects at Gillgans block than any other provincial part of the philippines i have visited over the last five years..TIP.we tried to keep the front and back doors closed ,from about 4.30.I also covered the one open drain in each bathroom with paper at the same time..keep ALL the louvered windows and internal doors open during the day and night and you wont even probably need to use the solar fans near the beds.Cool wind comes down from the hills behind the property at night..........The generator is turned on at approx 6.00 pm and off at 10.00pm.Plenty of time to charge ipods,cameras,mobile phones etc...Plus catch up on the news on the flat screen tv with Dream cable supplied.The generator is at the very back of a large property so the noise level is minimal.My one complaint is that the area housing all the tv,dvd, etc. needs to be wider and the wiring soughted out a bit better.(minor thing)The two solar powered "eskys" work great.Beer was supa cold every night........The owners have done an excellent job in providing the right blend of comfort and yet you still feel like your on your own private island sometimes...loved it..Our best holiday ever in the Philippines.Thanks again to Mal and Mitch for their concern over our health in the first week and to Arnold and Marilyn .Jay,Apple etc. for their help.We cant wait to get back to see our new friends Alvin ,Estralia (and kids) and Ray.Thanks for making our holiday so special...take care........................ps.the only rating i didnt give a "five" to was "value"...There are so many variables on this type of holiday that can make it Great value or Not so great.. A bigger group and remembering to budget for your need to pay the staff for services rendered (on top of your payment to the management)will ensure that this is good value.If your just a couple and are on a tight budget to get a few days at Gilligans ..then maybe its not so great..One mans rubbish is another mans treasure!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2011
Thanks Paul for you well considered review. We appreciate the time you spent writing about your experiences. We're very happy that your vacation turned out to be your "best holiday ever in the Philippines". We reward our staff when we receive good reviews. We hope every visitor to our homes has a happy experience. I'm happy that you enjoyed the first hot shower in Port Barton. It was a exciting for us to have the first solar hot water system in Palawan. You learn to appreciate the little luxuries when you are in remote areas such as Port Barton. All the best to you and your family. Mal Mich and staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 14 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2011
You Canadians sure know how to have fun! Our staff are still laughing about the fun they had at "THE PARTY".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Reviewed 30 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Mar 2011
Wow! That's a great review beachcomber, and thanks for the generosity you showed to our staff. We'd love to have you visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai
Reviewed 3 October 2010 for a stay in March 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2010
Thanks David for your lovely review and for sending me you terrific photos, some of which I have used on my web site and in my Flickr photo pages ( with credit to you ). Alvin and Estrellia enjoyed your company and generosity with your tip and they commented on the good behaviour of your boys. You were all so easy to please and a pleasure to host. Hope to see you again soon! Regards Mal and Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing