We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Margarita and Gilligans”
other travellers have booked this property
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Gilligans has 180 metres of semi private beach and 2 acres of grounds with no neighbours for 200mts. Our kayaks and paddle boards are available for our guests to use.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Gilligans has 180 metres of semi private beach and 2 acres of grounds with no neighbours for 200mts.
Our kayaks and paddle boards are available for our guests to use.
Thanks to our guests the Jones girls for modelling for us.
Relax beside our calm waters
You'll love our beachfront cabanas.
Gilligans new kitchen is available for guests to use.
Our boat is available for island hopping. Good for 8.
Gilligans Hideaway guesthouse is an ideal private holiday home for lovers or groups up to 8.
Great for private romantic evenings
The beds are comfortable and nets are provided for your protection.
Guests can lunch on the beach or nearby islands. Our package includes an island trip and beach lunch
Freshly cut coconuts are provided for guests by our caretakers.
Enjoy an evening bonfire on the beach.
Enjoy an evening bonfire on the beach.
Our caretakers.
Kayak around to the nearby water falls at Bigaho.
Gilligans from the water.
View from the beach
Our house is right beside the water
We have 2 paddle boards available at each home.
We have screens for your protection.
Contact us for our information sheets and links to our Flickr photo site.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island, Palawan Province, Mimaropa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
cmitch99
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Villa Margarita and Gilligans ”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at both Villa Margarita and Gilligans for a chill out holiday. All the staff were so very friendly and helpful, Arnold and Marilyn at Villa Margarita and Estrella and Erica at Gilligans. The boatman was lovely taking us out fishing on a couple of occasions where dinner was caught.
Both houses are spacious and clean with everything you need for a holiday away from it all.
Mal the owner was always available for questions, keeping in contact by text and phone.
We would recommend these houses to anyone wanting a beautiful hideaway from it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thanks Colin and Paul for your lovely comments. Sorry the weather wasn't in your favour. Kind regards Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise found! ”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We booked 4 nights at Gilligans on our way to El Nido. Our trip to Palawan was arranged at the last minute so we weren't too sure what to expect from Port Barton.

Luckily for us we booked our stay at Gilligans, an absolutely stunning hideaway on what is virtually a private beach - we didn't see another tourist on the beach in the 5 days we were there. Mal arranged a driver from the airport who took us to the supermarket in Puerto to stock up on supplies then dropped us at the boat to Gilligans (approx 15 mins and very scenic) - getting in from Puerto takes a little while but is easy and quite beautiful along the way.

The house itself is roomy and comfortable, and has a huge lawn with coconut palms all around us with the beach immediately in front. The house is also set up with solar power so there is no issue with the supply at any time of day or night. We didn't use the TV but good to know it's there. The stereo set up was great for playing our music through. Everything you need to self cater is supplied, but we opted to have Estrellia and Erica make our dinners for us which we are really happy with. Erica was great with our kids as well so we really had all bases covered there.

During the day we had the kayaks to explore the neighbouring bays and the waterfalls, went for countless swims in the bath temperature water and went on an island-hopping trip that Estrellia organised. While the scenery may not be quite as spectacular as El Nido the water is just as clear, the coral about as good and the beaches also awesome - overall a great day out. There is also sports equipment, books and a few movies to watch.

One thing I'd recommend is to bring plenty of insect repellent - not many mozzies around but plenty of sand flies during the day which took us till day 2 to wake up to - a day too late!

Lastly, Mal was great to deal with, both before we arrived and in answering questions once we are settled in, and couldn't have been more helpful to us. Hopefully we'll be back soon!



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thanks James for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil L
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family paradise adventure”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our families would like to take the opportunity to thank Mal and the crew at Villa Marguerita and Gilligan’s for their outstanding hospitality. Our families had a fantastic time at both locations.
Arnold & Marilyn were of great assistance and made our stay enjoyable knowing they could organize our day to day activities.

Thank you Arnold & Marilyn for organizing the Lechon, which was a great experience for all involved. We all have wonderful memories of Port Barton, with the relaxed atmosphere and beautiful scenery.
The kids still talk about Moi-Moi and Titi Moi-Moi, what a great experience. Everyday seemed like an adventure.

Thank you also to Estrella and Roger at Gilligan’s for their hospitality, and to our cooking needs.
Thank you Marilyn for organizing our food for Gilligan’s.

We would also like to thank Asil (Captain) for taking us out fishing at night. Wow, we didn’t think we were going to land that 9kg Mackerel on a hand line. Now that was an experience in itself.
Thank you Asil for the Island Hopping trip. Our families loved the snorkeling, and you also cooked a great lunch to be enjoyed on the beach, couldn’t ask for more.

Thank you Abner for getting us there and back from Puerto Princesa, he sure knows his off road expertise.

The staff at both Villa Marguerita and Gilligan’s tended to our needs and also provided us with the mindful space and privacy.

Both families hope to have the opportunity to experience this wonderful place again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was like our own private paradise.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thanks Virgil. 9kg mackeral. I'm jealous. Thanks for lovely review. Our staff also spoke highly of your group. Hope to see you all again sometime, regards Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fogodog
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Paradise!!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Gilligans at Port Barton is a true paradise! Everything about it my wife and I loved. From the crystal clear ocean and the wild life, island hoping, paddle boarding to the house and cabana to Estrella and Roger who went out of their way to make sure we had the greatest time possible. Their cooking is fantastic! Chicken adobo, fresh fish and squid, pancakes...... Mal the owner of gilligans was equally great. Gilligan's is truly a place to get away (we didn't see anyone except staff for 3 days). Thanks again, we will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks Chris for your kind words. Our staff spoke highly of you guys! We'd welcome you back. Mal and our team in Port Barton.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieful
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“The best place to stay in Port Barton if you want an amazing view and absolute privacy”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Palawan and we loved our stay at Gilligans! You're basically given a spacious, homey, wooden beachfront house in a secluded part of San Vicente with and AMAZING VIEW and lots of lounging options. They have hammocks, rocking chairs, swings, even a mini zipline (Lol). The place also has kayaks and a paddle board available for free use. Two very hospitable staff (Estrella and Roger) are there to assist you with your household and travel needs (transportation arrangements included). Estrella makes great banana pancakes and PERFECT calamares btw. Make sure to try those if you're there!

If you decide to stay here just make sure you're expectations are adjusted to reality. My husband and I got home with a lot of jellyfish/sealice bites, but that's common all over Palawan. There will be bugs and falling coconuts too so beware of those. Nevertheless, the house is pretty well equipped to survive Palawan. The bedrooms have mosquito nets, the house has bug spray and insect repellant. It's also interesting to note that they have electricity throughout the night (from solar energy) which is not common in Palawan. The owner (Mal) was very helpful. He guided us through all these 'realities' - food options, transportation in the area, etc. Make sure to seek his advice on these, he's contactable at all times on Viber.

This is a great place to stay (best for a group of 4 to 8). We definitely recommend this to friends wanting to explore San Vicente!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks for your nice review. I really try to portray our homes as accurately as possible. I just returned home to Australia from Palawan last week and I saw from our guest comments that Jellyfish have been a problem for the first time, so we have installed a 90 metre jelly fish net on the beach for the protection of our guests for when Jellyfish are a problem. Over the last 18 years I've never had a jellyfish sting, so maybe I'm lucky, but I always look before I enter the water. The water is very clear at Gilligans so you can usually see if there is anything in the water. This is the tropics, and, just as we see here where I live near Australias Gold Coast beaches, from time to time stingers will be blown toward the shore. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, Regards Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brestauro
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a place to be shipwrecked”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If there was ever a place to get away from it all Gilligan's is the place to be. Covering all manners of transportation to get there ( 1 hr. via air from Cebu, 2 hrs. via land and 30 min. via water) just adds to that feeling like an Indiana Jones adventures minus impending doom and bad guys. The pictures,and all the reviews I have read about Gilligan's, do not do justice to the amazing place that you will call home for awhile. The mixture of water activities available (kayaking, paddling, outrigging and whatever your imagination can conjure up), playing volleyball or some variation thereof and just plain old relaxing (on a hammock on the beach, rocking chairs on the deck, playing board games) was more than enough to entertain my 5 kids (ages 3 - 17) and my aunts and uncles. The best part about all of the above activities is that equipment is included with the rental. The house itself was very comfortable and had all the amenities needed and wanted. The caretakers took care of us very well as well as the staff from Ville Marguerita. All in all if you like to be spoiled when sleeping/relaxing in a house to the sound of the waves with the breeze coming off of the ocean or having a white sand beach all to yourself as your front yard then Gilligan's is where you want to be. Here are my tips: 1) plan your daily meals to a degree so you know what to get in the grocery store and not spend a lot of time wasted figuring what is missing or do you have enough of something.
2) book your van through the Gilligan's in advance and not when you get there with some other local van service ( this was a costly lesson for us). Was an amazing adventure/experience and would come back again and highly, highly recommend Gilligan's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Beach all to your self
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Thanks for the great review, and for the travel tip. Yes please use our recommended driver as we have negotiated a good price. Don't use your own, or one of the airport drivers, who may tell you the road to Port Barton is closed and try to take you to another resort that pays them a commission as happened to you. It really cost you one night at Gilligans. Happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leetje
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place to detach”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beach villa is hard to get to, but so worth it (fly to Manila, transfer to Puerto Princesa, mini van to Port Barton, boat to the house, total some 7+ hours). The caretakers are really great and helpful, your villa is lovely with all the right touches, for example our kids loved playing with the toys that were there - so well thought through - and they loved the kayaks, which we took to a nearby village or just for exercise into the ocean. Can definately recommend the island hopping (picture perfect beaches and corals) and the fishing trip. Ate fresh fish every day! Loved the beach bar and the seemingly endless sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The empty beach (private!) and the staff on site
Liked least: Noting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Getting to any of the resort areas in Philippines requires travel, particularly the remote areas such as Palawan, but the travel is well worth while. You won't find crowds of people at Gilligans, virtually none at all. There are only around 20 in the village 300 metres away. That's the beauty of Gilligans. Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing