We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tropical escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful tropical escape!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Secret Paradise Resort - what a wonderful experience! From the moment the boat pulled into Turtle Bay, we could see how beautiful the setting was! The small size of this resort is perfect - it lets you enjoy the beach, snorkeling, baby turtles, and free kayaks with your fellow guests but never feels crowded. We enjoyed meeting the owner and learning about his mission to protect the marine life of Turtle Bay - it is clear that this is truely an important goal of the resort and preserve.

There are several beachfront cottages, which are comfortably appointed, clean, with clean bathrooms and air-conditioning as well as mini-fridges, and safety deposit boxes. The cottages are set right on the beach, which was great for swimming and snorkeling (we borrowed snorkel equipment, which is included). Enjoyed kayaking around the bay and visiting the different beaches.

Staff is very friendly and helpful - the food is quite good, very reasonably priced, and there is a large menu. The included breakfast of fruit, toast, eggs, and coffee/tea great for us.

We also would recommend the island hopping tour, which was a fun filled day visiting a local waterfall and two very nice beaches. We were lucky enough to see a turtle and dolphins on the return trip!

Overall, very nice accomodations, kind staff and owner, and spectacular setting. We would highly recommend to our family/friends, and would come again ourselves!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    60
    15
    13
    4
See reviews for
42
129
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

me and my wife planed our entire trip in Palawan according to the availability of this place, and it lived up to our expectations, it is breathtaking beautiful.
the resort totally secluded from the island and there are only 6 cottages in one beach and 2 on another, so you get the filling like your on your very own island, which make the experience even more unique.
the staff is very attentive and kind, and the manager, Mark, always makes sure that every one is enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: get the beachfront villa, it is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yk4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After having travelled to 5 of the other Philippine Islands the quite peaceful beach was a god send. Half the fun of the experience was getting there!! Having come from Cebu there was a mini van, 4x4 and boat ride. Well worth it if your looking for a remote place to hide and relax from civilization.

Room Tip: make sure you have air con if your not acclimatised to the heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wow, what a beautiful place to explore! We stayed there for 3 nights. I think it's great you can only get there by boat, makes it even more special. There's so much to do. Please be aware that you are at a beach so of course there will be sandflies! Just take precautions and you'll be right :). The other guests were friendly. Staff were great, and we met the owner on our last day. He's a lovely bloke, and I think he's doing a great job keeping it 'paradise'. Highly recommended this beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A really fantastic place. The location is truly stunning. The resort consists of only 6 cottages so it will never feel crowded and the resort staff are always polite and make your stay special. The food is excellent and the accomodation very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The British owner Mark is happy to talk about the resort and is making a real effort to conserve the surrounding environment and make the resort as sustainable as possible. To make your stay trouble free be sure to book the airport transfer in advance. It is a long trip (3-4 hours) from Puerto Princessa but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The first time we enter with the both( don't book the hotel without asking help with your transfers ) to spr's sanctuary, is a moment me and my wife won't forget all our lives.
We got the feeling that it's true paradise and we are lucky enough to be there. The resort is strongly recommend for couples .
We stayed four nights at the or orchid cottage , its good enough , by letting you enjoy the view and the beach. The stuff was really nice and welcoming and did all they can to give us everything.
We did the island hoping tour, you don't want to miss that.
Kayacing, snorkeling, hiking, it's all there and free of charge. The resturant and the food can be better , but when you are so isolated that's a fact that need to be taken.
The baby turtles and all the protection the stuff are trying to give the animals , diffrenite the place from other luxuries resort .
That's a place for privacy and quiet fans . Enjoy the sunsets!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ido s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We throughly enjoyed every minute of our 5 night stay and would definitely recommend S.P.R to anyone who wants peace and tranquility in a beautiful paradise setting.
We stayed in the Song Bird cottage which is one of two cottages on Turtle Beach, you feel like you have the whole island to yourselves as there are so few cottages and therefore few guests.
The booking was incredibly simple to do online and we was very impressed by the efficient service of the private transfers.
The resort is full of wildlife, we saw a family of monkeys everyday, lizards, beautiful birds, hermit crabs and of course the turtles. We was there in the middle of a busy hatching week which was great to see. Mark is really trying to conserve and protect the turtles to the best of his ability, but if anyone can offer any advice then it is greatly appreciated. They have a big task on their hands preserving the lives of hundreds of turtles.
We did not have any problems with sand flies or mosquitos, we used the free oil and incense that is provided which we thought was a nice touch.
Another positive is that you have free use of the wooden kayaks, snorkel equipment and pool table.
The cottage had its own comfortable padded sun loungers and hammock, air con and plenty of hot water for the shower, we was impressed with the facilities considering how remote you are. That goes for the food and drink options as well.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly and made our stay a very comfortable one.

Room Tip: Song Bird is one of only two cottages on Turtle beach and a couple of minutes walk from the dining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Barton
67.0 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
223 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
48.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.3 mi away
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
#6 of 86 in Palawan Island
586 reviews
40.7 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#7 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
504 reviews
50.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary

Property: Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
Address: Turtle Bay | San Vicente, Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > San Vicente > Port Barton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Paradise Resort is the only official turtle sanctuary endorsed by the government and WWF-Philippines. We are the only Marine Sanctuary & Nature Reserve of its kind in Palawan, set in 2 private coves with a 4km private coastline, lined with coconut trees and 4 private beaches with our own waterfalls. Our exclusive 90 hectare Nature Reserve has plenty to offer everyone, from hiking to kayaking to explore our 4 beaches, snorkel with the turtles and fish in our Marine Sanctuary called "Turtle Bay", or just view the beautiful 2 house reefs. Tour activities ranging from Island hopping with waterfalls, Underground River tours & more. Private transfers to/ from the resort from any destination in Palawan. Situated between Port Barton's Marine Park and Sabang's world famous Puerto Princesa Subterranean Underground River, voted one of the 7 Wonders of Nature in the World 2013. All our six cottages are detached beach front. All our 8 accommodation have air-con, mini bar, 24 hour hot water showers, safety deposit box, balcony with hammock & private beach loungers. All superior cottages & rooms have LED satellite TV/DVD. Free WiFi- snorkel/mask/kayaks. We accept credit cards/ currancy. Why share paradise with 100 other guest. Relax and experience true paradise in nature with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing