We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great oasis on New South Wales Coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallidays Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great oasis on New South Wales Coast”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We spent a week on a family holiday from Auckland New Zealand. It was a great location that ticked all the boxes for us. It was quite without being isolated. Huge spacious three bedroom apartment. We loved the bird life and was complimented with great golf course in super condition and cheap! The kids loved the pool and the tennis court was fantastic. The club house had two restaurants and the staff were really friendly. The apartments are spotless, although only serviced weekly. We had some friends come and spend two days with us and could accommodate two families quite comfortably. This is much better than overcrowded Forster. I would go back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonoclarkhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just got home from spending the weekend at Tallwoods. We stayed in villa 3 overlooking the golf course and pond. It was wonderful and so spacious . We attended a wedding there last night and I have to say the staff were among the friendliest I have ever encounted. I would definately recommend and look forward to visiting again. ( by the way.. the food at the reception was wonderful, Thankyou to the chef)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Get out of the expensive rat race in Forster and stay here. High recommend !!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTraveller808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights staying in a golf course facing 2 bedroom house with my wife and 2 teenage kids. Nothing flash, but had everything we needed, including 2 televisions, large kitchen, BBQ. Very clean and well maintained. Everyone from reception, to the golf course, the restaurant, and everyone walking along the golf course was very friendly.
I would readily recommend and stay again.
Only downside was the tennis court, which had very little bounce.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Familydrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My family and I stayed at Tallwoods during the holidays. It was so peaceful and relaxing, from feeling welcomed by the nice girl receptionist, to access to the pool at all times, tennis court and austar in the room. Our villa was like a 3 bedroom mansion, and I can't wait to come visit again. Looking forward to chat to all the lovely friendly people up there and the peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthacruz1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our small family spent 6 days at the resort, about 15mins north of Forster in NSW over the xmas new year period (2011). We had a nice holiday, but I was moved to write this review as the resort continues to bill itself as being in the "luxury" category. There is no way that the rooms can lay claim to being luxury... they are instead quite tired, middle of the road accomodation with shared access to a back-yard sized pool and tennis court. Whilst the golf course setting it pleasant and relaxing, the furnishings, floor carpet and general state of our room was no better than 3-star. The other downside is lack of ammenties within walking distance. The major town of Forster is a 15 minute drive and nearest beach is not walking distance, though only a 5-7 minute drive.

We did find the staff attentive, though a little clueless when it came to recommendations of things to do and nearest shopping, beaches etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallwoods, Manager at Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Hi Graham,

I want to firstly thank you for your feedback and review. In response to your comments we have pushed our villa upgrades forward and are currently in the process of replacing all carpet and various other items within the villas, including the addition of pillow top mattresses.

We have also further trained our staff so that they don't come across as being clueless with local area information.

You mentioned that we are not in close proximity to any facilities. It is only a 300m walk to the Tallwoods clubhouse where you will find the Bunker Restaurant, Bistro and Bar. This is also where reception is now located as well as the proshop.

The local supermarket is 2.5km down the road. This stays open until 7:30pm every night. There is also a bakery, chemist, newsagency, day spa, butcher, library, specialty stores and cafes.

The bowling club and tavern both offer a courtesy bus service to pick you up from your villa and bring you home if you wish to go to either venue for dinner or a drink.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards
Melissa Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We enjoy golf and booked a two night stay with another couple. The web site is very mis-leading, it talks about “4 1/2 star villa accommodation and a la carte and bistro dining”. The accommodation is not in a golf resort, but townhouses in a complex near-by but not on the golf course. We drove past the reception which is in a hut on the main road in, we were given keys and directions to the house – but unfortunately when we opened the kitchen cupboard a million ants came out. We refused to stay in this house and were given another house in a different complex. We dined in the A La Carte restaurant the first night but this was not a good experience, the food arrived on cold plates, none of the food was great, one plate was returned. We cooked ourselves the second night, not what we planned on a weekend break. The golf course was not in good condition, the greens were terrible and one of our party refused to play the second day. The man in the pro-shop was basically rude and service non-existent, we had booked carts in advance and when we arrived on time, the carts had to be still collected from the storage shed. The web site also talks about “spa and beauty at Hallidays Point” but fails to mention this is a 15 min drive away. We would never return or recommend this as a golfing break.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SioDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallwoods, Manager at Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Hi Siobhan,

Thank you for your review. I must say that I am very disappointed and disheartened by this review. I remember you well. You didn't actually have a booking with us as you were staying with friends and arrived prior to them. The reason I remembered you is because it's the only time we've had an issue with ants on check in. I believe I was very sensitive to your high allergy to ants and moved you straight away to another villa. I can only guess that you had ulterior motives with your review as the lady who actually booked the accommodation advised that you all had a lovely stay.

If you remember, before I moved you, you were in a villa right on the golf course, so I'm not sure what you are referring to. This is definitely a golf resort and we definitely have more than 50% of our villas with golf course frontage. We moved you to a villa that wasn't on the golf course as this is the only one that was available. In saying that, it is only 100 metres from the course.

To see photos of our golf course frontage villas, please view our photos on facebook where you will also find a link to tripadvisor:

http://www.facebook.com/Tallwoods

Our reception office is located in the Tallwoods Clubhouse (not a hut). You may also see photos on the link above.

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with the golf course and restaurant. This is also strange as the lady who booked your accommodation also told me that there were no problems with the course or dinner.

In saying this, the golf course has since changed owners and the restaurant is completely different now. We are lucky enough to be blessed with a wonderful, well renowned chef and comments are only ever positive.

Our golf course is in the top 100 courses and was awarded a top 100 place again this year (2012).

The last point that you mentioned is the day spa. It is only 2.5km, not 15 minutes. We advise anyone who enquires about the day spa package about the location and we have never had a problem. Everyone loves the day spa.

We very much appreciate all feedback and whilst it is a little odd to read something like this, we are extremely disappointed that for whatever reason, you did not enjoy your stay.

Kindest regards
Melissa Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallidays Point
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#1 of 2 in Diamond Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secura Lifestyle Happy Hallidays
Secura Lifestyle Happy Hallidays
#1 of 3 in Hallidays Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hallidays Point
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hal...
#2 of 3 in Hallidays Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Seashells Beachfront Resort
Seashells Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Diamond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.6 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
7.2 mi away
Meridian Resort
Meridian Resort
#1 of 1 in Old Bar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort

Property: Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort
Address: The Boulevard | Tallwoods Village, Hallidays Point, New South Wales 2430, Australia (Formerly Tallwoods Verve Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Hallidays Point
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hallidays Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes north of Forster on the golf course and within just three minutes drive of the stunning waters of blackhead beach and diamond beach, Tallwoods is the perfect place for either an exciting holiday or a relaxing escape. Tallwoods provides fully self-contained 4½ star deluxe villas. Some villas are located on the stunning 18-hole championship golf course and others have views of the pool, tennis court or landscaped gardens. Each of the one, two or three bedroom villas has a fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with spa bath ensuite, air conditioning, open-planned living areas, LCD 81cm TV, DVD player, Austar and glass sliding doors onto each villa’s private and picturesque outdoor area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing