We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break on trip home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallidays Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great break on trip home”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

After a long day of driving, we put in an SOS call for accommodation to Tallwoods. It turned out to be only a short diversion off the M1. It was quite late in the day, but the staff were amazing and extremely helpful. Our family (4 adults)stayed in a 2 bedroom villa - brilliant. Not a hotel, but just like home with all the mod cons - washer, dryer, full size fridge and very comfortable beds. We staggered down to the bistro for dinner at about 7.45 and were delightfully surprised by a very enjoyable meal. Great find and really saved us late in the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

It's not always that I find photos and ratings on line as true as Tallwoods Hilltop Village resorts advertising.. So very pleased to arrive and find fresh crisp white linen (ready made beds).
Very clean, comfortable and up to date modern accomodation.
Staff were friendly, All of us including the children loved Sundays roast at the near by club house, tender, succulent beef and pork..Beautiful meals.. Checking out the menu prices, nothing was expensive either..
A golfing afternoon with a cart was also a great price..
Short 3 minute drive to Black head shopping center and beach.
Look forward to returning, everyone happy especially the kids with the pool and tennis court right outside the door of this resort..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebbra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived at Tallwoods mid-week in October school holidays, only to be told our Wotif booking hadn’t gone into the system. Luckily, the receptionist was able to offer us another villa and asked us if we’d like to take a drive while she made sure it was ready. An hour later we settled ourselves in a three-bedroom villa that nestled on the side of a hill in the aptly named Hilltop Grove, one of the two Verve resort complexes within the Tallwoods housing estate.

The master bedroom afforded a beautiful view of bushland and a glimpse of the golf course through towering trees. The second bedroom, laundry and main bathroom were also on this floor, the living area, third bedroom and kitchen on the top, along with a balcony that looked out over a stretch of undulating golf course. The apartment was clean and well equipped, with comfortable beds and dishwasher and just a stroll down a shrubbery-lined driveway to the pool and tennis court and an easy five minutes walk along a quiet neighbourhood street to the clubhouse.

While none of us - one adult, two teenagers and a toddler - are into golf, we found plenty to do, like taking walks along the tree-lined streets of Tallwoods Village and visiting Blackhead beach to play in the sand, spending peaceful evenings out on the villa balcony watching the lights twinkle high up on the ridge while the tall trees whispered in the breeze under a sky blanketed in stars.

One day we ate lunch at the bistro within the clubhouse. The fare ranged from seafood baskets, burgers, and chips and gravy to roasts, all reasonably priced. The dinner menu seemed a little limited, classier and much pricier and though I would happily have eaten there for dinner, my picky teenagers wanted Chinese from the little restaurant a few minutes drive away in Hallidays Point, where there is also a supermarket, bakery, tavern and several other shops.

The last day of our stay turned cold and rainy and I spent a blissful evening relaxing in the spa bath off the master bedroom, while the kids watched Foxtel upstairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilacbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Good food, good wine, good service! Albeit, the restaurant menu is somewhat limited in selection, we would have liked more seafood, it sufficed. We had the pepper'n'salt calamari as an entree, lamb shanks and pork belly for mains and chocolate fudge for desert. The wine was a Penfolds shiraz - all in all a very pleasant meal, and for $132.00 it was a nice night out.
As usual, Crystal did her magic with the deserts and Greg his magic with the mains. Hostess was Bernie, and although more mature, she lent a new dimension to friendly service. In short, we would recommend. Downside, restaurant only opens on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Surprise, surprise! Went to the Golf Club with a group and we were gob-smacked - the meals were superb, entree, main and desert - could not fault any - Greg and his Chef, Crystal, were great. 100% recommend. I thought they were joking when they said their deserts were the main event, but they were right. Talents wasted in a one horse town.

Room Tip: We are speaking of the restaurant at the clubhouse. Stay in the accommodation, but eat at the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We spent a week on a family holiday from Auckland New Zealand. It was a great location that ticked all the boxes for us. It was quite without being isolated. Huge spacious three bedroom apartment. We loved the bird life and was complimented with great golf course in super condition and cheap! The kids loved the pool and the tennis court was fantastic. The club house had two restaurants and the staff were really friendly. The apartments are spotless, although only serviced weekly. We had some friends come and spend two days with us and could accommodate two families quite comfortably. This is much better than overcrowded Forster. I would go back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonoclarkhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just got home from spending the weekend at Tallwoods. We stayed in villa 3 overlooking the golf course and pond. It was wonderful and so spacious . We attended a wedding there last night and I have to say the staff were among the friendliest I have ever encounted. I would definately recommend and look forward to visiting again. ( by the way.. the food at the reception was wonderful, Thankyou to the chef)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallidays Point
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#1 of 2 in Diamond Beach
281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secura Lifestyle Happy Hallidays
Secura Lifestyle Happy Hallidays
#1 of 3 in Hallidays Point
68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hallidays Point
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hal...
#2 of 3 in Hallidays Point
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
60 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort

Property: Tallwoods Golf Course & Resort
Address: The Boulevard | Tallwoods Village, Hallidays Point, New South Wales 2430, Australia (Formerly Tallwoods Verve Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Hallidays Point
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hallidays Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes north of Forster on the golf course and within just three minutes drive of the stunning waters of blackhead beach and diamond beach, Tallwoods is the perfect place for either an exciting holiday or a relaxing escape. Tallwoods provides fully self-contained 4½ star deluxe villas. Some villas are located on the stunning 18-hole championship golf course and others have views of the pool, tennis court or landscaped gardens. Each of the one, two or three bedroom villas has a fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with spa bath ensuite, air conditioning, open-planned living areas, LCD 81cm TV, DVD player, Austar and glass sliding doors onto each villa’s private and picturesque outdoor area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing