We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glass on Glasshouse
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

And why leave when you get there. From the moment we saw the pic's on the web we had to book......and were so pleased we did. The design, floor to ceiling glass, kangaroos in the garden and great view of the mountains "perfect". Peace and privacy were certainly top of mind when it came to creating this perfect little get away. We decided that even though a great breakfast is provided .......why would we leave for dinner elsewhere so brought along all our gourmet treats. There is plenty of great exploring to be done in the Glass Mountains. When in the area again we will certainly be back. Maria & Stephen

Room Tip: Re the fitness Center............use the mountains on your door step. Only 3 pods so have absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Maria08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    30
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
149
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed here before and enjoyed it. But it is expensive. So when I realised that next year Anzac Day is a Friday I booked again to stay Friday and Saturday night. So that's 6 months ahead.

I then was told that I MUST book another night (even though my booking was confirmed). The only reason given was that it was a long weekend. Well, duh, that's why I can stay 2 nights and not just 1!!!! When I indicated that I could not stay another night and had a confirmed booking they just CANCELLED my booking. I would never give these greedy b#$#%$s another cent!! Treating your clients like cash cows is no way to build your business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 930Fred10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glass55, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Sometimes you read something that's just so wrong that it might just be better to let the world judge the author without needing to glorify their words with a response. As I can only discuss this issue in general terms I'll attempt it here: If someone books a package that's clealry labelled as a 3-night package, but only wants to pay for 2 of those nights, then, it's not fullyconfirmed until they complete the transaction by paying for the 3rd night. If they don't do this, given every opportunity, then our only option is to cancel their partial booking. This is not rocket science, this is just normal business practice. If someone were to threaten to tell the World what terrible people we were because we don't allow someone to book a special 3-night rate but only stay for 2 nights, -well, I'm afraid that no honest, hardworking business that has such a good reputation as ours, and has been in hospitality for over 15 years will do business with people who would stoop so low.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Forget 4 poster beds and floral doonas, this B&B is modern luxury all the way! From the moment you walk through the glass doors it almost feels as though the outside becomes the inside. The floor to ceiling glass walls down the entire side of the "pod" really opens up to the magnificant views of the surrounding bushland and glass house mountains. The attention to detail is what really makes Glass on Glasshouse very special. From the bowl of macadamia's (complete with nut cracker) to the BBQ on the balcony as well as the intergrated tv/ipod sound system and sleepers and robes, the attention to detail is spot on. Oh and dont forget to try the home made jam & marmalade in the fridge! (part of an amazing gourmet breakfast pack which is a must!) soooo delicious (I even thought about taking it home!!!)
So relaxing and well worth a visit......will be coming back for sure!

Room Tip: all rooms would be ok. We didnt see any other guests all weekend! (eventhough they were booked out!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianwesoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glass55, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thanks for the nice review. I just need to let anyone reading this know that we don't actually offer gourmet breakfasts (though one day we would like to). Whilst it is a very nice locally-sourced breakfast, because we don't have easy access to Delis, and also because we only have the 3 cottages, it's just not very easy or practical to be able to offer this. It seems very strange to be writing something that might lower expectations, but it's better to be honest and realistic about these things, -that way there's a chance that you might be pleasantly suprised. Our strengths lie in the wonderful view of the Mountains, and the stunning modern design of the cottages, along with the wild Kangaroos on the property. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A very special place to relax and enjoy fine modern architecture and superb privacy- yes privacy in these glass pods! Uninterrupted views to the natural environment. The owners Bill and Misao, have provided very thoughtful and generous comfort additions in their choices of furnishing detail and their breakfast and snack provisions. The very place in which to relax and contemplate, maybe make changes to improve your life ?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Glass on Glasshouse for three nights while she was recuperating from surgery and between chemotherapy treatments, and I have to say, it was just what the doctor ordered, a soothing, relaxing, refreshing experience. There's wonderful privacy. We didn't draw the curtains once, and enjoy waking naturally with the early light, relaxing in the bath with wallabies feeding outside. Hot air balloons drifted by. Birds sung in the trees. It was healing on so many levels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Here now on the balcony chilling enjoying the views .... Awesome!
Utter rubbish what other 'overrated' from Sydney says .....staying in a beautiful pod at an incredible reasonable price. The thought and detail that goes into this place is incredible....just so wished that we had booked more than just two nights! The owners Bill and Misao must be really proud of what they have avhieved.
Breakfast provisions more than what was expected and coffee great .... Proper barista so much better than pods!
Bed sooooooo comfy and the whole place is oh so beautiful ..... Went to Australia Zoo today ..great time but couldnt wait to get back to enjoy a glass of wine and some nibbles on the balcony before dinner. ... A very special place .....our last night .... Will be sad to leave......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireSophie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We shared a lovely anniversary here last week, we have stayed here before and loved it. A beautiful spot for 2. Looks like its starting to need a little updating but nothing too serious! You can cook dinner in the lovely kitchen & have a super bath in the spa bath. Very private & natural with a mob of beautiful roo's to keep you company. Could do with some comfier seats on the deck... Super romantic getaway where there are loads of bush walks. Lastly check out the super milkshakes at the cafe you can easily walk to super!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
16.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
15.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
13.3 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
15.7 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass on Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass on Glasshouse

Property: Glass on Glasshouse
Address: 182 Glass House-Woodford Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glass House Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glass on Glasshouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer three luxurious cottages that combine the style of a modern apartment with the comfort of a cottage. These are very stylish cottages with spectacular views of the Glass House Mountains through floor-to-ceiling walls of glass. The cottages have beautiful timber floors, King-size bed, spa bath, whole-of-house sound system and an open fire in winter. They are unique, very different from the usual "country-comfort" style, -you really have to see them to experience their unique exterior and interior design. Winner of the Australian Traveller Readers Award for "Best B&B in Australia" two years running. A great getaway, or a first/last stop between Brisbane and Fraser Island or Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glass on Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass On Glasshouse Hotel Glass House Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing