We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best traveling experience I've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked the ecolodge when I was planning my trip to Australia, choosing it for its close proximity to Glasshouse Mountains National Park and the focus on conservation. I can honestly say that I've never stayed in a more pleasant hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, the kitchen facilities were excellent, and the managers went above and beyond to make my stay wonderful. I've paid much more for hotels that a) were not nearly as nice, and b) were not situated in such a beautiful location as Glasshouse Mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having been underwhelmed by the motel options in the area, we phoned up on the off chance to see if there were any rooms available in the Ecolodge. There were and we were warmly welcomed and shown around the fascinating collection of buildings. We ended up being upgraded to the railway carriage which was a lovely surprise. Spacious, wood lined carriage, with lots of little touches to make our stay memorable. Modern bathroom. Great location with lots of interesting fruit trees and coffee bushes all around. Comfortable bed. Just a short drive to a walk round a mountain and a great lookout, just a bit further on. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynWaitomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed one night in the quirky little church with loft bedroom. Brilliant mountain view from window. Loved the log fire! Breakfast served on terrace attached to converted railway carriages. Included with breakfast is a platter of very tasty exotic fruits all grown on property. Even the coffee is home grown. Lovely touch. Thank you Rick and Robyn.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jacki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place is a wonderful discovery in Brisbane's backyard. I have been to the Glasshouse Mountains many times on day trips but have never bothered to stay there, because it us only an hour's drive from home. Staying for the weekend turned out to be delightful. The walks and other attractions are worth stayng around for, while the landscapes of the various mountain peaks jumping out of the lush agricultural and forestry crops is inspiring and unique. We were very pleasantly surprised with the Ecolodge. Everything was of high quality and very well managed. The welcome from the staff was warm, friendly and informative. They are proud of their place and happy to share their knowledge and enthusiasm. Our room was No 1, and was beautifully appointed. The filtered water is a nice touch. As we were close to the wifi hotspot on the shared deck, we had free wifi in our room. I can strongly recommend the 'tropical' buffet breakfast on the train deck. The morning bird chorus, rainforest outlook and getting to prepare your own eggs as you like them makes for a great start to the day. This is a top place to stay in a beautiful area that deserves a couple of days to explore.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

At first I was disappointed with the accommodation as it was not as private as I had hoped for. It is definitely not suited for a romantic get away. The rooms are very basic with no fridge or coffee making facilities. There is also no TV. What they do provide is a wonderful renovated railway carriage that is a kitchen/dining room where you can cook for yourself and eat. You can store your food in the communal fridge.
I thought our verandah would be a private one but the rooms were all joined together with the one verandah.

I wouldn't recommend this place for a couples get away however it is perfect for a family or a group. It was nice talking to other travellers and the setting was quiet and beautiful. Overall we were happy enough and it provided good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoobylooTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tibroclimber, Manager at Glass House Mountains Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Our standard Orchard Rooms do provide good value at $116 per night. These rooms are the perfect affordable, comfortable base for couples here to bushwalk, mountain climb,explore nearby towns and hinterland villages ; share a travel story or 2 with other guests etc. For the more romantic couples wishing to spend time alone ,away from it all, we recommend our Church Loft, the Bungalow, or our vintage train carriages, each with own balconies and kitchens. $196 per night. Sorry....NO TVs or Spa baths...we offer peace and quiet, a chance to unwind and listen to beautiful birdsong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The accommodation itself was wonderful, but the breakfast was terribly overpriced and the owner/manager was extremely unfriendly and unhelpful (Unusual for an Australian). Very nice location and the standard or accommodation made the room price good value, but would never return due to terrible customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tibroclimber, Manager at Glass House Mountains Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are sorry that the Breakfast service was not up to the usual high standard. Thank you for the positive remarks re accommodation. It has been over 6 months since you stayed, and since then there has been a change of management. As you can see from more recent posts here on TA, our customer service is highly regarded. Thanks for highlighting our good value - we think we are too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was a special touch to have filtered water in the room. Breakfast was lovely, can't praise it enough, service was warm and welcoming. I was even warned about the mossies when I checked in. I promptly bought a bottle of repellent as they were sold at the front desk, excellent investment :-)! I would love to stay there again. There is a wifi hotspot too :-)

Room Tip: The wifi hotspot was really handy as I could not get any mobile phone reception. I used the wifi to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
16.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
13.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
525 reviews
15.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass on Glasshouse
Glass on Glasshouse
#2 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
199 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beerwah Motor Lodge
Beerwah Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Landsborough
110 reviews
7.5 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Mountains Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Mountains Ecolodge

Address: 198 Barrs Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glass House Mountains
Price Range: £72 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glass House Mountains Ecolodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of a National Heritage treasure, the Glasshouse Mountains Ecolodge offers a unique ecological experience of this fascinating area of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland in South East Queensland. It makes a fantastic base from which to explore the 26 million year old volcanic plugs that make up this incredible landscape, as well as the coastal beaches and hinterland villages. During your stay at the Ecolodge (set on 5 acres of orchard and forest beside a small creek) you can discover bush tucker, enjoy nocturnal frog spotting and bird watching (over 60 different types of birds have been seen). A great place to relax and unwind in this peaceful and quiet nature haven with its birds, butterflies, dragonflies, and even kangaroos. National park walks start 400 metres from the front entrance. Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo is just 10 minutes away and the Ecolodge is only an hour north of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glass House Mountains Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing