We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time back”
Review of CrookNeck Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CrookNeck Retreat
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We first went to Crookneck in 2010 and it was magical. We went back last weekend and it was JUST as magical! definatly pay the extra and get the breakfast hamper.. it was so much food and we couldnt get thru it all.. All local produce, maleny cheese, milk, butter, yoghurt. Local bacon & sausages. Tomatoes, eggs. Crackers, cereal, fruit.. wine! Macadamias! So much yumminess! Brett was amazing and so attentive. The room is faultless - fire place, two person bath.. delish bed, and bedding. We will definatly be back for our one year wedding anniversary in July. Cant wait!

Room Tip: All as good as the other.. just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Hi Stacey
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are really glad you enjoyed your second stay here with us. See you in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had 3 nights at CrookNeck Retreat and enjoyed every bit of our stay. We were greeted by Brett on arrival and immediately made to feel at home. The music playing on arrival, the bottle of wine and the cheese made for a lovely start to our stay. The cabins are well appointed and inviting and ours had an amazing view of Mt Coonowrin from the deck and spa bath.

We were looking for a relaxing and tech-free long-weekend and CrookNeck Retreat did not disappoint. From the sound of the rain on the roof, to the misty views of Mt Coonowrin, to the leaves gently dropping from the trees during an afternoon shower. It really was the perfect setting for a relaxing weekend. Close to Maleny, Montville and the entire Glasshouse Mountains region, we will definitely be back and would highly recommend CrookNeck Retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is a great place for a weekend (or better yet a long weekend) away.

The cabins are stunning and have everything you could possibly want (including a spa).
The memory foam pillows provided gave me the best sleep I've ever had!
(Yes, seriously-I went out and bought a memory foam pillow as soon as I got home because I couldn't go back to my old one after the exceptional sleep I had at CrookNeck).

Brett and Megan were lovely and couldn't do enough to help and give tips on places to go and things to see.

The location is fantastic. Close proximity to the various Glasshouse mountains parks which are great for rock climbing and trail running, if you're into those sort of activities. It poured with rain while running Mt Ngungun, but it only added to it- it was the most enjoyable trail run I've ever done.

A short drive away are all the nice little hinterland towns which have great cafes, restaurants and shops- perfect for reading a book.
If you like cheese, don't miss the Maleny Cheese factory. The Chilli Cheddar is fantastic!

There's great trail riding not too far off in the state forest too- I wish we had brought the dirt bikes with us.

The only regret is not staying longer so that we could have enjoyed the room and the property even more- both were beautiful.

We will absolutely be coming back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatGreg_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights during September. We had the end cabin (named Mountain View) which it sure had. The cabin is so romantic & the special touch of having some lovely music playing on arrival just added to the atmosphere. The complimentary cheese, wine & macadamia nuts were just the cherry on top. The cabin is in a great location for sight seeing with many attractions not to far away. We can't compliment the place enough, just go.
A good place for breakfast is the Lookout Cafe at 182 Glass House-Woodford Rd, gorgeous views & good food. Just watch out for the cheeky Magpies & Butcher birds, although we found them fun.

Room Tip: Ask for the Mountain View Cabin although I am sure the other cabins will be lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Wonderful Cabin very romantic setting. Loved the experience of the natural settings very close to Maleny and Montville. The grounds provide a secluded setting making it feel like we were alone on the grounds. The view from the bedroom window was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A gift, one night getaway, from our daughter was very needed and apprecaited in this lovely oasis surrounded by orchards and mountains. Perfectly comfortable , spotless and private this retreat takes you away from 'housekeeping trolleys' or other guests noise ,and, puts you out with the birds on your own patio with a great BBQ and all you need for that perfect little getaway !

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank REMAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Beautiful cabins, super friendly host and great isolated location.

The food hampers are extremely generous and lasted us 3 nights very easily.

There's a lot of nice bush walks and swimming holes in the area but some are a decent drive from crookneck.

Other than that not too much to do, but thats what we wanted. It's a great place to just unwind and enjoy the bush setting.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
13.2 mi away
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa
2.1 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
302 reviews
5.8 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass on Glasshouse
Glass on Glasshouse
#2 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
213 reviews
2 mi away
No photo provided
Jen's Getaway
#2 of 2 in Glass House Mountains
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CrookNeck Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrookNeck Retreat

Address: 2194 Old Gympie Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Glass House Mountains
Price Range: £101 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CrookNeck Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CrookNeck Retreat is nestled in the Glasshouse Mts on a 10acre orchard.Awake to the sounds of birds and the scents of the bush. Crookneck Retreat backs onto Glasshouse Mountains National Park. Explore a number of trails, walks andmountain climbs in the immediate vicinity - just ask Brett or Megan.Close by is Australia Zoo and within thirty minutes drive are the Blackall Rangeand the beaches of the Sunshine Coast. A gourmet barbeque pack (vegetarian options available) can be arranged to take on your day trip or to enjoy on the deck.After a big day out, the flat screen TV and DVD library may get a work-out. On colder nights, the log fire offers an enticing alternative. CrookNeck Retreat also has a pool and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your CrookNeck Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing