We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal wheelchair accessible accommodation”
Review of CrookNeck Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CrookNeck Retreat
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were visiting Glass House Mountains from the UK to see our Daughter, Son-In-Law and 3 Grandaughters. We stayed for 20 Nights, from 20 June 2013 in the "Mango View" Cabin, which has the necessary fully wheelchair accessible toilet/shower. Owner, Brett, could not have been more helpful. He rearranged his bookings so that our long stay could be fitted in. When we arrived he helped out with further wood for the wood-burning stove which made the place very cosy on chilly Queensland Winter evenings. There was a regular supply of clean linen. Brett also very kindly pumped up a flat tyre on the electric wheelchair, which saw us through a week in Adelaide after we left and is still going strong! It is a lovely quiet setting in a Macademia Grove with a variety of birds heard and seen. Cloudless nights are stunningly beautiful and magical, with the South Cross, a myriad of other stars and often the Moon high in the sky. We also saw a possum and a bandicoot (at night on arrival back at the Cabin by car). The main Glass House Township is close and has a Grocery Store, Pharmacy,Post Office and a variety of other small shops/cafes. There is also a Rail Station, Bus Service and Local Taxi.

We stayed here last year on a similar trip and are hoping to do so next year.

Tim & Jill, Leicester, UK

Room Tip: We assume that the other 2 Cabins, although not wheelchair accessible, are otherwise just as cosy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for CrookNeck Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed 24-26 May. Upon arrival we were greeted by Brett who was very welcoming, gave us great tips on local walks and where to eat. Got to our cabin and we were greater with macadamia's, a bottle of wine, maleny cheese and crackers with a toasty fire and relaxing music. Epically clean and has everything you need for tea, coffee, etc. wood was provided and the spa bath had candles. BBQ on veranda and was so so quiet. Highly recommend, worth every cent!! Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhiannonBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My bridesmaids and I stayed here in 2 cabins the night before my wedding and none of us could believe how perfect everything was. So private, intimate, relaxing and welcoming. Fire crackling and soft music playing when we walked in, fridge well stocked with delicious local produce and wines and if we needed anything like extra firewood or extra champagne glasses they were brought to us without delay by the owner himself. After our wedding reception he also came to pick us up and brought my new husband and I back to our refreshed and restocked room and invited us to enjoy a sleep in in the morning. Could not have enjoyed ourselves any more than we did. Brett and his wife give new meaning to the word hospitality.

Room Tip: Mountainview cabin is superb
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unistudent2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Hi Lauren
It was absolute pleasure meeting you and your bridesmaids and then your new Husband on Saturday night. We are wrapped you enjoyed your time here with us at CrookNeck Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had a very nice relaxing 2 days. The cottage was clean an well set out,secluded enough for a private time.The breakfast supplies are very ample and nice and fresh.Highly recommend crookneck for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We first went to Crookneck in 2010 and it was magical. We went back last weekend and it was JUST as magical! definatly pay the extra and get the breakfast hamper.. it was so much food and we couldnt get thru it all.. All local produce, maleny cheese, milk, butter, yoghurt. Local bacon & sausages. Tomatoes, eggs. Crackers, cereal, fruit.. wine! Macadamias! So much yumminess! Brett was amazing and so attentive. The room is faultless - fire place, two person bath.. delish bed, and bedding. We will definatly be back for our one year wedding anniversary in July. Cant wait!

Room Tip: All as good as the other.. just beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Hi Stacey
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are really glad you enjoyed your second stay here with us. See you in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had 3 nights at CrookNeck Retreat and enjoyed every bit of our stay. We were greeted by Brett on arrival and immediately made to feel at home. The music playing on arrival, the bottle of wine and the cheese made for a lovely start to our stay. The cabins are well appointed and inviting and ours had an amazing view of Mt Coonowrin from the deck and spa bath.

We were looking for a relaxing and tech-free long-weekend and CrookNeck Retreat did not disappoint. From the sound of the rain on the roof, to the misty views of Mt Coonowrin, to the leaves gently dropping from the trees during an afternoon shower. It really was the perfect setting for a relaxing weekend. Close to Maleny, Montville and the entire Glasshouse Mountains region, we will definitely be back and would highly recommend CrookNeck Retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is a great place for a weekend (or better yet a long weekend) away.

The cabins are stunning and have everything you could possibly want (including a spa).
The memory foam pillows provided gave me the best sleep I've ever had!
(Yes, seriously-I went out and bought a memory foam pillow as soon as I got home because I couldn't go back to my old one after the exceptional sleep I had at CrookNeck).

Brett and Megan were lovely and couldn't do enough to help and give tips on places to go and things to see.

The location is fantastic. Close proximity to the various Glasshouse mountains parks which are great for rock climbing and trail running, if you're into those sort of activities. It poured with rain while running Mt Ngungun, but it only added to it- it was the most enjoyable trail run I've ever done.

A short drive away are all the nice little hinterland towns which have great cafes, restaurants and shops- perfect for reading a book.
If you like cheese, don't miss the Maleny Cheese factory. The Chilli Cheddar is fantastic!

There's great trail riding not too far off in the state forest too- I wish we had brought the dirt bikes with us.

The only regret is not staying longer so that we could have enjoyed the room and the property even more- both were beautiful.

We will absolutely be coming back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatGreg_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
14.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
13.2 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beerwah Hideaway
Beerwah Hideaway
#1 of 3 in Beerwah
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glass on Glasshouse
Glass on Glasshouse
#2 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
194 reviews
5.8 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CrookNeck Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrookNeck Retreat

Address: 2194 Old Gympie Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Glass House Mountains
Price Range: £105 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CrookNeck Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CrookNeck Retreat is nestled in the Glasshouse Mts on a 10acre orchard.Awake to the sounds of birds and the scents of the bush. Crookneck Retreat backs onto Glasshouse Mountains National Park. Explore a number of trails, walks andmountain climbs in the immediate vicinity - just ask Brett or Megan.Close by is Australia Zoo and within thirty minutes drive are the Blackall Rangeand the beaches of the Sunshine Coast. A gourmet barbeque pack (vegetarian options available) can be arranged to take on your day trip or to enjoy on the deck.After a big day out, the flat screen TV and DVD library may get a work-out. On colder nights, the log fire offers an enticing alternative. CrookNeck Retreat also has a pool and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your CrookNeck Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing