We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene place”
Review of CrookNeck Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CrookNeck Retreat
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Serene place”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a thoughtful surprise we had on an extremely hot day with air conditioning turned on and relaxing music in the background! I truly slept like a baby on our first night which is very rare as it takes me alteast couple of nights to adjust to a new bed. Speaks alot about the nice comfortable and clean bed. We loved the peacefulness and its surrounding beauty. So much fun cracking open those delicious macademia nuts to go along with the complimentary chilled wine. Cabin was neat and tidy with the lovely spa bath to relax in. Throughly enyoyed our stay and even got heaps of Bowen mangoes to take home. Highly recommend CrookNeck Retreat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Arrived on a very hot humid day to celebrate our 34th Wedding Anniversary. Our cabin with the cool air-conditioning turned on and the relaxing music playing, really was a welcome retreat. Beautifully appointed cabins in a lovely setting. Had dinner at the Beerwah Hotel on our first night. But decided to stay in on the second night. Threw a couple of steaks on the BBQ and sat on the veranda enjoying the surroundings and the complimentary bottle of wine. Two very relaxing days. After packing up, we stopped off at Mt Ngungun and climbed the mountain with some lovely views.
If you are looking for somewhere peaceful, clean and cosy. CrookNeck Retreat is the place to go.

Room Tip: The Mango view cabin has wheelchair access in the cabin and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Love staying at this beautiful retreat. Lovely every time we have stayed here. Food is always tasty and fresh. Cabins are beautiful and clean and there is so much to do. Brett is the most accommodating and wonderful host. 10/10 would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello-kellly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Cabin was perfect and the scenery was beautiful....lovely spa bath and delicious food !
Brett was so welcoming even picked us up from the station and dropped us off again...great customer service at this place.
We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
It was a pleasure meeting yourself and Cecil. We are really happy you guys have had a relaxing time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent 2 nights at Crookneck about a month ago and it was so peaceful and relaxing, within 24 hours of being back home we booked another wkd away but for 4 nights and we so can't wait, the cabins have everything we need and they are so clean and cosy, we stayed indoors the last time but since we'll be there for longer we will be venturing out to see the sights. Highly recommend Crookneck Retreat, we are counting down the sleeps till we go back, 6 to be exact, and also being returning guests we got a great discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thanks for your review.
Definitely worth having a look at the great walking tracks right near CrookNeck.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Crook neck resort was a superb place to stay from our warm welcome from Bret his advice for a walk up Ngungun mountain after we arrived to the fantastic selection of local food left including their own macadamia nuts! We felt totally relaxed in the lodge that was fitted out to perfection with everything you can ask for. I would highly recommend it and just wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrippersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed the cabin and climb up Mt Ngun Ngun. Hope to see you next time when in Australia.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were visiting Glass House Mountains from the UK to see our Daughter, Son-In-Law and 3 Grandaughters. We stayed for 20 Nights, from 20 June 2013 in the "Mango View" Cabin, which has the necessary fully wheelchair accessible toilet/shower. Owner, Brett, could not have been more helpful. He rearranged his bookings so that our long stay could be fitted in. When we arrived he helped out with further wood for the wood-burning stove which made the place very cosy on chilly Queensland Winter evenings. There was a regular supply of clean linen. Brett also very kindly pumped up a flat tyre on the electric wheelchair, which saw us through a week in Adelaide after we left and is still going strong! It is a lovely quiet setting in a Macademia Grove with a variety of birds heard and seen. Cloudless nights are stunningly beautiful and magical, with the South Cross, a myriad of other stars and often the Moon high in the sky. We also saw a possum and a bandicoot (at night on arrival back at the Cabin by car). The main Glass House Township is close and has a Grocery Store, Pharmacy,Post Office and a variety of other small shops/cafes. There is also a Rail Station, Bus Service and Local Taxi.

We stayed here last year on a similar trip and are hoping to do so next year.

Tim & Jill, Leicester, UK

Room Tip: We assume that the other 2 Cabins, although not wheelchair accessible, are otherwise just as cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
13.2 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
14.9 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.1 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass on Glasshouse
Glass on Glasshouse
#2 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
193 reviews
5.8 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
11.3 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CrookNeck Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrookNeck Retreat

Property: CrookNeck Retreat
Address: 2194 Old Gympie Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Glass House Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CrookNeck Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CrookNeck Retreat is nestled in the Glasshouse Mts on a 10acre orchard.Awake to the sounds of birds and the scents of the bush. Crookneck Retreat backs onto Glasshouse Mountains National Park. Explore a number of trails, walks andmountain climbs in the immediate vicinity - just ask Brett or Megan.Close by is Australia Zoo and within thirty minutes drive are the Blackall Rangeand the beaches of the Sunshine Coast. A gourmet barbeque pack (vegetarian options available) can be arranged to take on your day trip or to enjoy on the deck.After a big day out, the flat screen TV and DVD library may get a work-out. On colder nights, the log fire offers an enticing alternative. CrookNeck Retreat also has a pool and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your CrookNeck Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing