We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of CrookNeck Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CrookNeck Retreat
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for a weekend in March. Beautiful surrounds, immaculate and luxurious accommodation, friendly owners, close to bush walks and markets. This really was the perfect romantic getaway. Planning to return in winter to enjoy the same plus the fireplace!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AvidWeekender80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our second visit to Crookneck Retreat and it was as wonderful as our first visit. The secluded location was the perfect spot for our romantic Valentine's Day weekend. The cabin accommodation was nestled amongst the macademia nut trees. The staff had thoughtfully put our airconditioning on for our arrival, which in 34 degree weather is a pleasant greeting.
Our "breakfast" pack was incredible with tasty local treats including, bacon, jams, sausages, honey, fruit platter, bread, local cheeses and a bottle of red wine.
The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the spa bath was a romantic touch.
We went for a morning hike up Mt Ngungun which was only a short walk from the retreat. The hike is challenging but not out of reach for a mildy fit person. The walk takes about an hour, rather than the 2 hours that the signage tells you.
I would highly recommend a stay at Crookneck Retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a thoughtful surprise we had on an extremely hot day with air conditioning turned on and relaxing music in the background! I truly slept like a baby on our first night which is very rare as it takes me alteast couple of nights to adjust to a new bed. Speaks alot about the nice comfortable and clean bed. We loved the peacefulness and its surrounding beauty. So much fun cracking open those delicious macademia nuts to go along with the complimentary chilled wine. Cabin was neat and tidy with the lovely spa bath to relax in. Throughly enyoyed our stay and even got heaps of Bowen mangoes to take home. Highly recommend CrookNeck Retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Arrived on a very hot humid day to celebrate our 34th Wedding Anniversary. Our cabin with the cool air-conditioning turned on and the relaxing music playing, really was a welcome retreat. Beautifully appointed cabins in a lovely setting. Had dinner at the Beerwah Hotel on our first night. But decided to stay in on the second night. Threw a couple of steaks on the BBQ and sat on the veranda enjoying the surroundings and the complimentary bottle of wine. Two very relaxing days. After packing up, we stopped off at Mt Ngungun and climbed the mountain with some lovely views.
If you are looking for somewhere peaceful, clean and cosy. CrookNeck Retreat is the place to go.

Room Tip: The Mango view cabin has wheelchair access in the cabin and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gidda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Love staying at this beautiful retreat. Lovely every time we have stayed here. Food is always tasty and fresh. Cabins are beautiful and clean and there is so much to do. Brett is the most accommodating and wonderful host. 10/10 would recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hello-kellly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Cabin was perfect and the scenery was beautiful....lovely spa bath and delicious food !
Brett was so welcoming even picked us up from the station and dropped us off again...great customer service at this place.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

It was a pleasure meeting yourself and Cecil. We are really happy you guys have had a relaxing time here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent 2 nights at Crookneck about a month ago and it was so peaceful and relaxing, within 24 hours of being back home we booked another wkd away but for 4 nights and we so can't wait, the cabins have everything we need and they are so clean and cosy, we stayed indoors the last time but since we'll be there for longer we will be venturing out to see the sights. Highly recommend Crookneck Retreat, we are counting down the sleeps till we go back, 6 to be exact, and also being returning guests we got a great discount.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at CrookNeck Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thanks for your review.
Definitely worth having a look at the great walking tracks right near CrookNeck.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glass House Mountains hotels
2.1 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
289 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glass on Glasshouse
Glass on Glasshouse
#2 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
205 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Jen's Getaway
#2 of 2 in Glass House Mountains
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CrookNeck Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrookNeck Retreat

Address: 2194 Old Gympie Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Glass House Mountains
Price Range: £104 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CrookNeck Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CrookNeck Retreat is nestled in the Glasshouse Mts on a 10acre orchard.Awake to the sounds of birds and the scents of the bush. Crookneck Retreat backs onto Glasshouse Mountains National Park. Explore a number of trails, walks andmountain climbs in the immediate vicinity - just ask Brett or Megan.Close by is Australia Zoo and within thirty minutes drive are the Blackall Rangeand the beaches of the Sunshine Coast. A gourmet barbeque pack (vegetarian options available) can be arranged to take on your day trip or to enjoy on the deck.After a big day out, the flat screen TV and DVD library may get a work-out. On colder nights, the log fire offers an enticing alternative. CrookNeck Retreat also has a pool and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your CrookNeck Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing