We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a stop over en route”
Review of 7 Hotel Diner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
7 Hotel Diner
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halstead
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OK for a stop over en route”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was compact but had everything necessary. It was quiet and comfortable but my complaint is that there seems to be only one key per room and the other rooms kept knocking to be let back in which I found a nuisance. The toiletries supplied consisted of 2 tiny sachets of hair/body wash and a miniscule bar of soap - disappointing. Dinner was good quality, but it took 2 hours for 2 courses! There seemed to be several parties booked in but not enough staff were on duty. The overall 'theme' was cute which would explain its popularity. The free parking was a bonus.
Tip: ask for a hair drier, they are not standard in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel58Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7HD, General Manager at 7 Hotel Diner, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for your review. Regarding hairdryers we are currently installing hairdryers in all rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    125
    74
    46
    30
See reviews for
91
125
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I nearly always read the reviews, but my kids really wanted the American Diner experience so we paid a visit for dinner.

I can now relate to all the other poor souls who got less than they expected. I'm not a complainer - really I'm not! But I know what I like and I know what customer service means (It means your customers are more likely to come back). Put knives AND forks on the table, know what you have in stock and what you don't. Bring out food in reasonable time and of consistent temperature. Stop charging silly prices for poor quality.

It's the same old blind ignorance scenario that we see so much in the UK. Buy a restaurant, brighten the place up then pay kids to run it for you. I'm not blaming them for the poor service, they're young, untrained and basically don't really care. There's a 10% service charge wopped on your bill (yeah, thanks for that) so they don't expect - or get - any tips either.

The food? Basically a poor English interpretation of what Americans must like to eat. It's bland, fatty and covers various temperatures. My burger was cold, my milk shake was warm. Someone in uniform did walk past and mutter something about enjoying our meals? I didn't quite catch what he said....

Milkshakes to die for? A £5 a pop my wallet died. Just by dropping a well know biscuit into the vita-mix as you whizz up the mixture them doesn't make them special - I can make these at home just as easily.

It would so easy to turn this place around. If you ever read your reviews Mr Owner, motivate your staff, stop cutting corners, see how customer service works in an F&B's, a TFI's or better still a proper american diner where the customers come out with a smile on their face and talk about what they're going to try when the go back next time. Sadly like so many other of your reviewers - and one reviewer equals 20 customers - you won't be seeing me or my wallet again.

2 stars and that's being generous

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SnarlingDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halstead hotels

Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Tastefully decorated rooms, clean and functional. The food is good - but expect a bit of a wait. Don't be fooled into paying for breakfast in advance - it's better to pay when you are there - we almost ended up being charged twice.
The waiters work hard, but beware of one particularly surly waitress. You'll know who she is - she'll slam things on the table, avoid eye contact and mutter 'ta' as she walks away.
The hotel advertises wifi, but it is not useable at all, so don't rely on it for work.
If you're a light sleeper, avoid rooms at the front as it is very noisy - lorries passing all night, loud music from the bar, as well as cigarette smoke from people below.
The play area is handy if you have small children.
If you get a good price, go for it, but if you are paying £60 or over you'd be better paying the extra and going elsewhere.

Room Tip: The front rooms are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Kept waiting along time for drinks order after being seated 10mins. Young inexperienced staff not attentive at all, had to get up and walk round to flag down a waitress few times! food comes out warm halfway eating my meal it goes cold! And we are still expected to pay service charge after being disappointed and unhappy. This place lacks real management and customer service ! Never again!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 70aks2678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms not bad. If on the other hand your larger than average forget the shower. Flat stanley would stuggle getting in. The wifi is like 1990s dial up. The ale in the diner ,well £5.23 a bottle of spitfire aint cheap.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank banjo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is quite a tough review to write because my overall feeling of the hotel is very much tainted by the lack of space and the very boring food but so many other things were really good.

I would give this hotel top marks for cleanliness and also the decor in the room was modern and well maintained BUT it was so small that you couldn't pass another person in the room and the TV was tucked behind a door. It was claustrophobic to say the least. I kept feeling as if there was not enough air to breathe in the room but our window opened up to the car park and the road.

Staff were really friendly and helpful but I could never stay in such a small room again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenhelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7HD, General Manager at 7 Hotel Diner, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked on line through laterooms.com for a Saturday stay, reception was helpful when she couldn't find my booking! Given 1st floor double room with window overlooking car park. Room was clean but I would call it tiny! we paced it out, just under 10ft x 8ft. Bathroom had a corner shower and complimentary toiletries comprised of piece of soap and 2 sachets of hair and body wash. It was a warm night and we had to have window open so heard every sound from outside (and inside as walls thin). Very noisy from cars as motel is located on main road also noise from music downstairs which we woke up to on Sunday morning at 7.30am to the sound of 'Blueberry Hill' resonating in our room. Breakfast was supposed to be included but when we sat down in the 50's themed restaurant we were told breakfast was only to the value of £4.95 which wasn't mentioned anywhere! It took 40 minutes to get our breakfast which was very poor quality, but the waiter/waitress was very good. If you just want to play sardines and you have all the time in the world to wait for breakfast then stay here, otherwise don't bother.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB7GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halstead
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
5.6 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Hotel Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Hotel Diner

Property: 7 Hotel Diner
Address: Hotel Diner 7 London Road | Polhill, Halstead TN14 7DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Halstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 7 Hotel Diner 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Hotel Diner is situated in Kent just a short distance from the M25 Junction 4. We are the perfect destination for families, holiday makers, business guests and uniquely car enthusiasts. We are not simply a hotel attached to a diner, Nor a diner attached to a hotel! We are a place to meet, to relax, do business, to dine and to unwind. Our aim is provide our guests with home from home comforts at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your 7 Hotel Diner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Hotel Diner Halstead, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing