We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and comfortable”
Review of 7 Hotel Diner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
7 Hotel Diner
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halstead
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and comfortable”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Initially unsure what to expect from this re-creation of a 60's diner I was concerned it took the receptionist a worrying 5 minutes to locate my booking. My room at the front was on the main road but the noise disappeared when the window was shut. The room was fine; simple, clean and comfortable, but my friends in the annexe reported much less space in their rooms. No hairdryer supplied and only meagre sachets of shampoo and shower gel provided, but I had read the website in advance so brought my own supplies. Breakfast was included in the £69 fee, and while the food was ample (choice of English or American set breakfast) it would have been nice not to have been restricted to just one coffee in the deal!

Room Tip: Slightly larger rooms at the front, but some traffic noise with window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    125
    75
    47
    30
See reviews for
92
126
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans Herts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked in advance at a price of £109 expecting the hotel to be reasonable but this is what we found, the carpet was worn leading upstairs,very small room so small it had a stool by a mirror but you couldn't pull it out, two small sachets of shower/shampoo, there was tea making but there was no kettle in the room, the shower was so small you struggled to bend down to pick up the bottles that had fallen of the small bottle holder that could only hold one bottle and I am not a large man, there was no hair dryer you had to ask for one which in fairness came quickly, we asked for an iron and ironing board but as the room was small had to iron in the hallway, a small silly point there was no spoon for the tea just a plastic stirrer, at breakfast it said on the booking that we are allowed £4.95 towards it we had the full English which included tea/coffee which was just acceptable, however when I asked for decaf I was told this is extra, at £109 per room I expected more.

Room Tip: Don't go there but if you must book the only suite they have but it will be hot in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveStAlbansHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7HD, General Manager at 7 Hotel Diner, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. As its peak season our rates are a little higher than usual.

All our rooms have kettles however one recently broke so there was a few days whilst we waited for new ones to arrive. I apologies about this. Complimentary drinks should have been offered to you.

Regarding our Suite it is one of the only rooms in the Hotel that has full air conditioning so is lovely and cool, even in the hot summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halstead hotels

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Food at the diner is great, shame about the service. Staff, although friendly, attend to you as little as possible. Boyfriend had his drink slammed on the table by a passing waiter, which slopped most of its contents onto the table with no recognition or apology. The staff love to congregate by the door chatting and ignoring you until you stare them out for service. A lot more training could make this place great but at the moment the service makes this place un-enjoyable. Added 10% service charge is also ridiculous, tipping should be optional! Bad service does not warrant a good tip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LB8540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited in a week for breakfast. Despite some negative reviews a family member recommended the restaurant to us.

The food is great value for money, with plenty of choice. I can only comment on the breakfasts of which there are English and american choices.

Service was quick and the staff are polite.

Love the decor, beats other American themed diners out there and is nice for the kids as it has a decent fenced in play area with slides etc.

Looking forward to having a full meal here soon!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7HD, General Manager at 7 Hotel Diner, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Fri 25th July for one night of passion.
Check in was quick and easy. Room was small but sufficient for our needs. Bathroom clean, nice shower. Although we did notice a used shower gel sachet on top of the shower cubicle.
We'd read the reviews for the restaurant so was a bit dubious as to whether to eat there. We decided to go for it and had absolutely no regrets. Our waiter Jack was very attentive and we didn't have very long to wait for our food. Food was of a very good standard and very generous portion sizes. Highly recommend the 'Elvis' burger.
No aircon in the room but a fan that was adequate enough.
3 minor issues with the room, one being the used shower gel sachet left in bathroom, no spoons on the tea and coffee tray, and some cobwebs in the corner of the room. It would have also been nice for a little shelf in the shower cubicle as I take 3 bottles into the shower and had no where to put them.
Breakfast was lovely. We had a full English and a full American breakfast. Again, huge portion size which after a night with my new lady friend, I was well ready for.
All in all, I had a great stay at the 7 Hotel Diner and would (have) recommend it to everyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redland City, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice place to stay, we stayed for four nights. Rooms are a good size, bit of road noise until the evening but then quite. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Very large breakfast at a good price. Diner has a 50's-60's menu and prices are very reasonable. Down side, rooms do not have air conditioning for warm summer days. Looking forward to coming back next next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Arrive on a Saturday Afternoon...book in was really slow. We had to wait ages while the couple in front check in. As the restaurant was looking busy I went in there to wait. I order drinks which came within ten minutes and was told half hour wait for food. My hubby join me and do did our friend who just arrive. He was told it would be an hour wait for food. Our food arrive and they ask what Our friend and he got his about ten minutes after us. Which was brill. Can not understsnd the wait till seen the size of the kitchen...it is too small for the restaurant size. Shame as people were coming in and then leaving but there were tables for them. The food was lovely and the staff are really friendly.

The room is small but clean and functionable. Only problem very hot night no air conditioning so had to have the window and constant flow of traffic can be noisy.

Breakfast again was slower than most places I have been. A muck up of the order was put right straight away. Good selection and the food again ...great to eat.

One minor hiccup they wash the tables but do not sweep the floor so did not be surprise if you stand on an object...did mention it politely.

Would recommend reasonable priced.


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aqua2swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7HD, General Manager at 7 Hotel Diner, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I apologies for the slow service. Thank you for bringing some of these points to my attention

Hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halstead
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Hotel Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Hotel Diner

Property: 7 Hotel Diner
Address: Hotel Diner 7 London Road | Polhill, Halstead TN14 7DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Halstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 7 Hotel Diner 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Hotel Diner is situated in Kent just a short distance from the M25 Junction 4. We are the perfect destination for families, holiday makers, business guests and uniquely car enthusiasts. We are not simply a hotel attached to a diner, Nor a diner attached to a hotel! We are a place to meet, to relax, do business, to dine and to unwind. Our aim is provide our guests with home from home comforts at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your 7 Hotel Diner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Hotel Diner Halstead, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing