We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Le Saint Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Saint Georges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivonne
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated in the pleasant small town of Vivonne, just off the N10, south of Poitiers. Most of the rooms are in the main building on one side of the Grande Rue, but ours was one of 6 opposite, above the restaurant on the 2nd floor, reached by lift or staircase. Our room was quite small, nicely decorated & furnished with a tiny balcony ( not much of a view, but that's OK for one night ). Free parking is in the municipal car park behind the main building.
The attractively appointed restaurant is very popular with two 3 course menus and excellent food. The wine is pricey for France but a half litre pichet of acceptable red was reasonable at 6euros50.
We heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
21
49
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spalding
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here overnight while travelling south. The rooms are basic, pretty much what you'd expect for a rural French hotel. The breakfast was an adequate buffet with a good range of bread, pastries, cheese and ham. The star part of the stay was the excellent restaurant which is located across the road from the hotel. When we entered, it was packed (always a good sign) with people coming after us being turned away. The service was a little slw but this was made up by the superb food and very friendly staff. We will stay again when next in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I would not advise to stay in this hotel, the room in which we stayed (family) was rather small, all the equipment is quite old and does not look very clean.
In addition the dinner and breakfast were poor. The location is nice however the rest is quite mediocre

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vivonne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I would recommend this hotel highly for a stopover (or longer). Wonderful outstanding food (even for a logis in France). Rooms were really cheap for the standard. The village is pretty and a good place to unwind following a long drive. Lovely park and canoeing. Excellent local market on Saturdays. Lovely small church with medieval wall paintings. The hotel has changed hands since our last stay but the new owners were really pleasant and helpful. Excellent spoken English so no confusion of any kind. Lots of convenient parking. Suggest you check in before removing luggage from your car as the hotel is in 2 halves on each side of the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if mobility is a problem as the stairs are steep. Alternatively stay ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel while dallying on the way to our gite South of Bordeaux. Arrived at 9.00 pm and were invited to eat immediately, didn't need asking twice.Food was superb.
Room was a little on the main street for us (I'm sure I asked for calm), and the ubiquitous moped and bell combination had me out of the sack at the "bonheur".
Comfy, clean, good shower. Ample petite dejeuner from a buffet, and parking at the rear not too far for baggage handling.
As described really.

Room Tip: One off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A nice simple hotel close to Futuroscope, easy to find plenty of parking and friendly hosts.
Rooms were clean and had a number of beds suitable for families sharing.
Other amenities in the village in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stopped overnight on way to SW France. Lugged suitcases between the two halves of the hotel situated on opposite sides of the road as we were not informed which one our room was in.
24 euro menu was pleasant but not unusual . Service was slow becaus eof alarge party which arrived after us. We were wrongly charged at the end of our stay for someone else's restaurant bill.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vivonne
15.8 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Chaunay
58 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Le Bois De La Marche
Best Western Le Bois De La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
221 reviews
10.7 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Auberge du Centre-Poitou
Auberge du Centre-Poitou
#11 of 35 in Poitiers
83 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Sud
Ibis Poitiers Sud
#9 of 35 in Poitiers
439 reviews
12.4 mi away
La Roseraie
La Roseraie
#1 of 1 in Romagne
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Georges

Property: Le Saint Georges
Address: 12 Grand rue, 86370 Vivonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Vivonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Saint Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A resplendent dwelling set in the heart of the historic centre of a handsome village in the Poitou region. The stunning atmosphere and refined comfort are enchantingly irresistible. 31 rooms (some air-conditioned, others for families), 3 meeting rooms, bar, fireside lounge, terraces. Two restaurants, one featuring traditional cuisine, the other bistro-style fare, are an open invitation to the pleasures of family or business dining, banquets and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing