We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great hosts”
Review of La Tannerie

La Tannerie
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chalais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Tannerie
Ranked #1 of 4 Chalais B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Found La Tannerie in a French proprty guide and so glad we did. We spent 6 wks there from mid Sept and loved it. A bit too cool to enjoy the pool but looked very inviting. Great location literally 5 mins walk from all amenities and a great little village life. Having toured France for 3 months Chalais is one of the few villages that shows signs of life during the day with many a bigger town closing down completely between 12-30 and 2-30 but not Chalais. Plus it has a Railway station with connections to Bordeaux which is handy. All in all a great place

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visited in August, for a family wedding. We were made to feel very welcome by Liz and Jeremy.
The accommodation, pool, and gardens are excellent.
We found Chalais a very relaxing place, all with in easy reach other wonderful places to visit.
Looking forward to our next visit!!
Thanks again Liz, Jeremy and Pete.
Steve, Kate and Henry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kate51436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

La Tannerie is situated in the heart of Chalais which is fantastic for walking to the supermarket and more importantly the small selection of restaurants/bars in town.

The gites are comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Even providing washing up liquid, rubbish bags, recycling bags, and tea towels (not provided by all gites!) Free wifi was provided (a god send for teenagers!) and the pool was lovely if a bit on the chilly side. Plenty of seats/beds by the pool. The site, pools and gites were maintained well - a few areas were a touch tired but it fits with the charm of rural France. Plenty of hot water any time of day.

Jeremy and Liz were very welcoming and friendly (as were their lovely dogs and cat.) They certainly went above and beyond for many guests with early airport runs and late party pick ups! Nothing was too much trouble and whether at home or in a local restaurant they were willing to help us out!

I'd happily stay at La Tannerie again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have just finished our second stay at La Tannerie and again it was a great place to stay! The owners, Liz and Jeremy, welcomed us with a short visit over coffee and tea then took us to our gite where they had provided a nice bottle of wine, cookies and all of the essentials for a breakfast the next morning! They were so friendly and welcoming - even invited us to a party while we were here! We stayed for three weeks and hope that we will be able to visit again. Chalais and La Tannerie are great places to use as a "home" base while visiting all the sites in this beautiful area of France. La Tannerie is definitely a "10" in every aspect and we will recommend it to anyone that we know who is coming this way! We also enjoyed using the bikes that were provided and toured the nearby countryside and villages while riding them. Lexington, KY U.S.A.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed in the main house in August 2012.
So often when you arrive in a house in France, there isn't even any salt or pepper. Liz and Jeremy's house is very different, ther were good knives, all sorts of herbs and spices and a welcome bundle of essential foods, including wine!
Liz and Jeremy organised a fantastic evening bbq for all of the guests, where we met her brother. They also suiggested places for us to go and ensured we had a booking for dinner at the chateau. The heated pool was well appreciated by all.
We loved being in a semi-rural position on the edge of town, rather than out in the country, so we were all able to have a drink in the restaurants in the evening and wander round the surprisingly large market.
Highly recommended hosts and property

Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windsor_lad1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

La Tannerie was a completely unexpected delight. We turned into the driveway not knowing what to expect, then came through a curtain of weeping willow to find the sort of French house everyone wishes they could own. Liz, Jeremy and Peter went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome, encouraging drinks on the terrace and inviting all we bed and breakfast guests out for dinner to the local restaurant, where we were treated like royalty because they knew the owners so well. I don't think I've ever felt so depressed leaving a bed and breakfast before. Coming home to a "we miss you already ..." email with a picture of a glass of wine sitting on the terrace was a lovely, lovely reminder of a fabulous time. We can't wait to go back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I find myself looking at some of the other reviews and echoing mostly the positive and just a coupleof slightly negative comments. The Gite we stayed in is probably looking just a little tired downstairs and maybe could have been slightly cleaner. But the double bed was comfortable and it looked like it had been spruced up recently, and the teenagers were happy with their room. The facilities are good with access to English TV in terms of BBC1-5 + ITV2-4 and wi-fi both of which are essential to keep 2 teenagers happy in what is a very quiet town. We visited early April so it was still a little cool to try the pool but it looked like it would be fun in the summer. However what makes this property is the friendliness of the owners Jeremy and Liz. From the welcoming tea and cake on arrival, to the lighting the wood stove for us every night to warm the gite for our return, to the extra mile of letting me watch the Chelsea game with him on his TV, they could not have been more helpful. The location is perfect to explore with 2 hrs to La Rochelle, an hour to Cognac, 35 mins to Angouleme, 30 mins to the Dortogne and Riberac. The one thing I would say is the town of Chalais is very quiet so if you have teenagers rather than young kids this might cause a few 'I'm bored comments'. In summary you pay for what you get and I thought this was good value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickygees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Tannerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tannerie

Address: 26 rue d Angouleme, 16210 Chalais, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Chalais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chalais
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Tannerie Chalais, France - Charente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing