We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Oak Barn”
Review of Old Oak Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Clears
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oak Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Old Oak Barn”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We were blessed with glorious weather during our stay in the Old Oak Barn and the whole trip was just magical. The cottage is excellently equipped and provided lots of entertainment in the way of book, puzzles and DVDs for my 2 children aged 3 & 5. The walks in the woods were wonderful and the peace and quiet was so refreshing. The children especially loved the opportunity to fish in the stream (nets kindly provided!) and the visits to the chickens were real highlights. The lovely patio area provided ample space in the evening to sit back relax, have a barbecue and enjoy the beautiful Welsh countryside. I cannot fault the week we spent at the Old Oak Barn and plans are already afoot to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsatroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We hope you got back to Ireland safe and sound. We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much while over here in Wales and are especially glad that you loved the peace and quiet as well as the beauty around. At this time of year the countryside is stunning. Just hope the birdsong didn't wake you all! Once again thank you for visiting and for posting a review and for uploading some great photos too. We do hope you will be back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Fabulous well equipped cottage, beautiful setting, lovely hosts, delicious eggs, cosy underfloor heating, great barbecue/patio area-we had 3 days cooking outdoors in April!! excellent wooded areas with tree house and swings for kids/adults alike. what is there not to like!! Recommend visiting pendine sands, tenby and Y polyn for a scrumptious meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
What wonderful weather it was when you visited in April. We are pleased you were able to take advantage and cook outside on the patio. We loved your comments in our visitors bok even though written in Chinese! The writing was amazing. Glad you enjoyed the fresh eggs and that the whole famliy got to enjoy the swings in the woods too. It was such a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you also for leaving the barn so clean when you departed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

What is there not to say about our stay at Old Oak Barn!!! Thank goodness for random Google searches. As a single parent with two young active boys, I have to admit that holidays are rarely relaxing for me.........well, Old Oak Barn turned my usual scenario on its head! The converted barn is the perfect retreat. As soon as you step inside, an instant feeling of space is overwhelming, yet it successfully and thoughtfully retains a sense of cosiness you desire from a barn conversion. The truly delightful owners, Charlotte and Jerry, have thought of absolutely everything and are clearly in tune with the needs and wants for both families and couples alike. You can want for nothing, the Old Oak Barn is definitely a home away from home. Charlotte and Jerry were exceptionally welcoming and kind to my children, allowing them to embrace a little bit of their country life such as running with the sheep and collecting the eggs. The Old Oak Barn is perfectly located for exploring and discovering the surrounding areas and towns. As there is so much on the doorstep within approximately 30 minutes, the usual moans and groans predictably heard from my boys as they braced themselves for yet another boring car journey, all but disappeared! Pure bliss! Irrespective of the weather, we all loved exploring in the woods, playing on the swings, fishing in the stream and the general freedom to be had at The Old Oak Barn. As the week drew to a close, it was a little sad to be leaving; one week just didn't seem long enough. However, we are returning and have booked a week for when my mum comes to stay from Australia. A true gem of a find and I cannot recommend Old Oak Barn strongly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 283Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay in Old Oak Barn so much. We always enjoy it when children appreicate their surroundings which yours certainly did! And we look forward to seeing you again and next time I believe with Granny in tow too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Space. Calm. Quiet luxury. A place where you can hear yourself think and mooch around. All amenities you could need. In 75 acres yet close to St Clears village & 6 miles from the sea. Super beds, duvets & shower. Toys, books & wifi with all else necessary for comfort.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsjaboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have had a super week here at the Old Oak Barn, relaxing with our 5 year old, 2 year old and 3 month old! We have loved visiting the local beaches and then returning to the peace and calm of the barn in the evening. The kids loved their adventures into the woods to the hut and rope swing....and their "bear hunt!"

A highlight was feeding the chickens and visiting the swings. We have had a super time and can't recommend this place enough for families with children. Thanks for all your kindness and the beautiful sweet peas Charlotte and Jerry

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filipos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a wonderful, peaceful, away from it all base for a holiday in Carmarthenshire. Very handy for a range of wonderful beaches, castles and other child-friendly destinations, and the accommodation is great for children with lots of toys, garden swings, stream to paddle in etc. But when the children have gone to sleep you can relax on the patio with a beer and enjoy the burble of the stream and birdsong. The accommodation is perfect, clean and modern, and you are only 10 minutes from the shops and amenities of St Clears. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusht0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Old Oak barn is a beautiful cottage in stunning surroundings. Very well equipped and comfortable. Perfect for families, our kids love the garden with swings and the stream. Walk into the woods and you will find a fantastic picnic/BBQ area with swings, seating, BBQ, wooden house and an amazing view across the countryside. Ideal location for the A40/A447 and easy drive to the beaches at Tenby, Saundersfoot, Pendine and attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood and Heatherton. Local wildlife is excellent. Charlotte and Gerry are very welcoming and the children love feeding her chickens! A beautiful, peaceful get away which we plan to visit again and again and again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Clears
2.5 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
20.6 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
455 reviews
1.9 mi away
Llety Cynin
Llety Cynin
#1 of 6 in St Clears
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Coedllys Country House B&B
14.3 mi away
Llwyn Helyg Country House
Llwyn Helyg Country House
#1 of 2 in Llanarthney
308 reviews
14.4 mi away
Canaston Oaks
Canaston Oaks
#1 of 1 in Canaston Bridge
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oak Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oak Barn

Property: Old Oak Barn
Address: Cwmpalis, St Clears SA33 4DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St Clears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Oak Barn offers unique self catering holiday accommodation in a beautiful woodland valley in West Wales 5 minutes from Laugharne and St Clears. Very well equipped - suitable for children. Open all year. WiFi free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Oak Barn St Clears, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing