We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 St Clears B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I have been comming here for years would recomend anyone to stay .I have the excellant breakfast and excellant evening meal .The rooms are clean and tidy .The pool is lovely so is the sauna.Will visit again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnsutton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Hi, stayed at the Forge for a night for work. The rooms are set back from the road so the noise is not a problem. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There was a good TV and the wash room was very clean and modern. I have stayed here a lot in the past but i have never eaten there. I think that was a good move, i had breakfast there this time. I wouldn't recommend this. It was horrible. Its a shame about this, however saying this i will still stay there as i said the rooms are good. There is also an indoor swimming pool and gym.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Have been coming here since I can remember and was home for Christmas. As a special treat we had lunch here.
The food is incredible, everything is homemade and the portions aren't for dieters.
The burgers are the best in the world, homemade and so tasty. My dad has the gammon and it was the size of the plate. Even the kids meals are sizable.

This is the perfect restaurant for any occasion and shall rate as my number one for as long as they are open!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharmingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

we were starving and couldn't find anywhere that served food after half five on a Sunday. very dated inside and we were the only people there. which is never a good start when ordering food in a restaurant. looks like a cafe inside with restaurant prices. the chicken pie was terrible just like a chicken stock cube soaked in wall paper paste and bit of chicken thrown in. can't comment on the rooms as we did not stay here. was very shocked when we had to pay the bill at the end and disappointed as to what we paid for what we ate. the steak was ok i suppose but the area in general is very quiet. would rather have gone to mcdonalds than here to be honest

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jordan2clarke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This motel has not changed since I was last there some 14 years ago. Having said that, it does offer very good value for money. I had a single room and therefore cannot comment on rooms in general, but it was warm and the bed was 'OK' but not brilliant. The big plus is the mini Gym, sauna and pool. What a brilliant way to relax at the end of a day.
The menue I found very limiting as I am a vegetarian and the choice was extremely limited. The standard of food was 'OK' aganin not brilliant but the prices reflected that.
I will stay there again for sure when I am that far into West Wales.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safetysystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

moved from lond to pembrokeshire 8 years ago, and only a few weeks ago we finally stopped there, what can i say but perfect in everyway.love the decor even if it is 70's look it certainly gives the place character, the food is just gorgeous, and the service superb. will be stopping here in future and not your cheap carvery or american style diners, the forge is so far superior. ok it may be a couple of quid extra if that, than your bland toby's etc, but this place is home cooked food and good value 2 cokes and 2 meals come to £16 but filled us up for ages. well done the forge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveanddian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Forge is a West Wales institution which started life as a cafe in an old forge alongside the old A40. It was updated in around the 1970's and hasn't changed much since and which is in fact part of its charm nowadays. Which isn't to say also that the place is not absolutely spotless.

We have been eating in the resturant regularly on our way to and from Pembrokeshire for years. For fresh, well cooked, traditional fare this place is unbeatable. We especially recommend the chicken curry 'alf 'n 'alf (rice and chips), the home cooked ham, the deep fried cod and the old fashoned ice cream desserts (if you have room left). Some of the dishes like the half of roast duck or the mixed grill are for those with heroic appetites!The Forge also serves the best chips we have tasted anywhere - crisp and golden.

The place is staffed by charming local waitresses, most of whom are Welsh speaking.

This is one of our favourite places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huwandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Clears hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
1.9 mi away
Llety Cynin
Llety Cynin
#1 of 6 in St Clears
402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coedllys Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Savoy Country Inn
The Savoy Country Inn
#6 of 6 in St Clears
157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manordaf B&B
Manordaf B&B
#3 of 6 in St Clears
36 reviews
8 mi away
Glascoed Farmhouse
Glascoed Farmhouse
#5 of 5 in St Clears
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge Restaurant & Lodge

Address: A40 | St Clears, Carmarthen, Wales, St Clears SA33 4NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Clears
Price Range: £83 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Forge, we strive to be far more than simply another place to stay - we pride ourselves in our work and enjoy offering guests true Welsh Hospitality where the very quality of accomodation and service make sure that your stay is a memorable one. The Forge has been owned by the Hill Family for almost 50 years developing from a small Blacksmiths shop on the side of the A40 into today's modern complex and adjoining leisure facilities. West Wales is a great place to enjoy during any season and a stay at The Forge is the most comfortable way to enjoy it. We offer both comfort and quality and are ideally situated within easy reach of the beautiful coastlines of both Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. The Forge has 18 rooms situated in modern annexed buildings and all rooms are spacious and furnished to a very high standard. Our Restaurant, over the years, has earned an exceptional reputation amongst both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Forge Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge St Clears, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing