We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 St Clears B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Went for evening meal while on holiday in St Clears, one of the local place to eat. The location isn't brilliant on motorway. The food was excellent, great value and the waitresses that served us were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venus31426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    41
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
41
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for a week whilst working in the area. The room was ok ,very clean and serviced daily. The staff were all helpfull and friendly,the food in the on site restaurant was good always fresh.
Special mention for anghared? The smiling waitress, a breath of fresh air well done girl you got it right:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Waitress serving on Monday night could not of done more to make us welcome . The food was much better than expected , freshly cooked and excellent quality . We will be back tomorrow night to sample more from the lovely menu.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz_Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here twice now in the last month and thought I'd share my experience with Trip advisor.

I ordered the mixed grill and the wife had fish and chips
The food I must say was excellent the mixed grill was one of the best I've ever had..
The service was also top notch I would definitely eat here again would recommend. It is on the expensive side but I don't mind paying if the food quality is right.
Well done to the Forge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Taz695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked this last minute, and planned to stay for a couple of days. On arrival our 'lodge' accommodation was spacious, clean and really quiet and peaceful. Free use of the pool, gym and sauna at any time was great after a hot day. The breakfasts are amazing with the best bacon we have ever tasted. Meals served are very generous portions of basic good, homecooked food. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, even putting themselves out to come in early to cook breakfast when we wanted to leave early one morning. Ended up staying for 6 nights. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy-Lu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerpen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I discovered "The Forge" some years ago when I needed rest on my way from Germany to Ireland. I rented a room for the night and also had dinner in the restaurant. It was a good experience!
The room was good value for the money. I got a small cottage with parking space in front. The room was quite lovely, it was clean and the bed was good. There´s also a electric kettle and tea. Bathroom (shower and toilet) isn´t luxurious and small, but also clean and you get everything you need.
Next journey (September 2011) I allready planned to stay there. I arrived on early afternoon, it was raining cats and dogs. The room was very much like the first time. I killed the time until dinner by using the free wifi, there´s also a gas-station nearby where you can buy some crisps, ber and magazines, so I had a relaxed afternoon.
I had dinner in the restaurant, fillet steak and chips, which was excellent. The price was reasonable, not cheap, but very okay for the quality.
Reception is in the main building, just a very small desk. The staff was very friendly, check in and out was quick.
Next time I´m definitely going there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Davids, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Used to visit on regular and twice in succession the food was not very good. Gave it a miss for the last 18 months and called there last Sunday on our way home. Staff did not give a warm welcome. Service was slow and there were only 8 people in at the time. The food was hot and well cooked. Overall I will not be stopping for food here for a long time again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldcrest O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Clears
1.3 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
7.7 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
451 reviews
7.4 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Savoy Country Inn
The Savoy Country Inn
#5 of 6 in St Clears
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Llety Cynin
Llety Cynin
#2 of 6 in St Clears
368 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Fox and Hounds
The Fox and Hounds
#1 of 1 in Bancyfelin
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge Restaurant & Lodge

Property: The Forge Restaurant & Lodge
Address: A40 | St Clears, Carmarthen, Wales, St Clears SA33 4NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Clears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forge Restaurant & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Forge, we strive to be far more than simply another place to stay - we pride ourselves in our work and enjoy offering guests true Welsh Hospitality where the very quality of accomodation and service make sure that your stay is a memorable one. The Forge has been owned by the Hill Family for almost 50 years developing from a small Blacksmiths shop on the side of the A40 into today's modern complex and adjoining leisure facilities. West Wales is a great place to enjoy during any season and a stay at The Forge is the most comfortable way to enjoy it. We offer both comfort and quality and are ideally situated within easy reach of the beautiful coastlines of both Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. The Forge has 18 rooms situated in modern annexed buildings and all rooms are spacious and furnished to a very high standard. Our Restaurant, over the years, has earned an exceptional reputation amongst both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Forge Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge St Clears, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing