We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield (UK)
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from a very nice seven nights stay at White cottage and have to say that we found everything about the place wonderfull.
We loved the cottage were we stayed for bed & breakfast.
The location is two minutes away from a great little pub and is very nicely placed for touring a lovely part of Devon which still holds on to its quaintness.
If we visit the area again we will stay at White Cottage without hesitation

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveeboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
56
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at the White Cottage for bed and breakfast on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. The rooms are always extremely clean and very comfortable. The owners are always very friendly and eager to please and the breakfasts are amazing. They have a very pretty garden for when you want to relax outside. The property has a car park. There is a bar available although we haven't taken advantage of it yet but we are going back in September for the Goose Fair so who knows. There is a tramway in the village where you can get the tram into Seaton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A very good location although car parking,when we were there, was rather tight.
The public rooms were locked and inaccessible when we arrived at 4 in the afternoon and on other occasions too.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms of a very good standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Golfboy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Have stayed at the White Cottage twice, 2012 an 5/2014. Highly recommend.Owners go out of there way to make you feel at home. Great Breakfast.Super atmosphere.Colyton founded by the Romans 88 ad. Tram to Seaton also great. True English experience. White Cottage 650 yrs old.English full breakfast! Can't be beat.Close to many sites Lyme Reggis, Sidmouth etc.We used buses system from town,From London take train South to Aximinster. Can take bus from there to Colyton.

Room Tip: They have large cottages. Or BB rooms in main house. We stay in main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the white cottage for one night with the family. The welcome couldn't have been more friendly, and the breakfast was fantastic. Will definitely try and stay here again some time. We stayed in the large family room where an additional 'put me up' bed was happily added so that all 3 kids could share with us. There was still plenty of room and all the beds were very comfy. If you are going with kids, take your own DVDs as the TVs include a DVD player. Top quality accommodation at a tremendous price.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gmjoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here just after Christmas 2013 and into New Year 2014. Sorry for the late review. We stayed in one of the stables and it was spotless. Bed was very comfortable and it was a charming property. Owner was polite and helpful. It's right in Colyton Centre and close to shops and pubs. If we ever come down to Colyton again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talkinginwhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have stayed here several times mainly because of the little town of Colyton is a place I find charming and relaxing but also because of the immediate area which is great for day trips and general rambling in the countryside and nearby beaches. It is welcoming and excellent value for money, I have been to similar places that charge at least £20 more per night. Everything is clean and I really liked the garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoney246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
3.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
4.2 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Bakehousei
The Old Bakehousei
#1 of 5 in Colyton
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage

Property: Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Address: Dolphin Street | The White Cottage, Colyton EX24 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing