We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque setting, comfortable accommodation, warm hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barritshayes Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colyton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barritshayes Farm Cottages
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Picturesque setting, comfortable accommodation, warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our three-generational family of seven stayed in the Dairy and the Swallows for three nights recently. It was perfect, as the grandparents could have their separate space to retire to (in the Swallows), but we could gather for daily activity and for a barbecue in the garden of the Dairy. Gordon and Liz made us feel quite welcome in every way; Liz even invited my two young horse lovers to help her feed the horses in the evening! We enjoyed the pool, the tennis courts, the lovely view, and the cozy cottages. They also gave us excellent dinner recommendations (The Holt in Honiton and the Ship Inn in Axmouth), and steered us toward a cliffside walk in Beer, which we all enjoyed at our different paces. :-) We're quite happy to recommend this place and would love to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bilston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in the Swallows log cabin for a short midweek break. Due to unforseen circumstances we arrived very late in the day but Gordon was very welcoming and friendly, as was Liz when we bumped into her later in our stay. The cabin is well equipped and modern but also has a lovely cosy homely feel. Having access to a washing machine and full control over the heating in the cabin was a bonus too. Although Barritshayes is in the middle of nowhere (with amazing views to match!) it is within easy drive of some lovely towns and villages (Honiton, Seaton, Beer and Sidmouth to name a few). A great location for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greentrees09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in The Dairy, one of two self catering cottages, the Dairy having two bedrooms - one with a double bed, the other with a bunk bed. This was our second visit and our mini break was just as wonderful as last year. The games room was a godsend, keeping our small children occupied, and also mummy and daddy. The strong wifi signal in the cottage kept me linked to the outside world, as I had no mobile signal (O2).
The historic town of Colyton is just a short drive away, with Seaton being the easiest coastal town to get to, just a 15 minute drive. Seaton Tramway is well worth a ride, with fantastic views across the estuary.
We were very lucky to get fabulous sunshine for our April break which meant we had a fantastic opportunity to spend time in the fields at the back of the cottages, including wandering up to the stables to say hello to the horses, sheep and cat. The views were amazing from the cottage. All in all a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Of the two self catering cottages, The Dairy's second bedroom is bunk beds and it has a shower i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Barrithayes is a peaceful farmhouse that offers B&B, and a couple of SC holiday lets in converted farmyard buildings. We rented the Dairy, a small but clean and well stocked little unit with a double bed and 2 bunks, which was ideal for a young family. I think it would be a bit of a squash with teenagers, but there is also a well equipped games room (think pool table, table tennis, table football, books & videos) where you could exile your adolescents...

We stayed over the Easter week, and the weather was unseasonably good so we were able to have a couple of BBQs in the little back garden, and enjoy the lovely views from the back of 'the Dairy'.

The hosts, Liz and Gordon, are welcoming and thoughtful, leaving a fridge stocked with milk, butter, eggs, and a cupboard with bread, coffee teabags etc. The beds were made up, and towels provided. There was also cling film, foil, charcoal, loo rolls, washing up liquid, laundry tabs, salt and pepper, oil etc. It means that you could turn up with your clothes and not have to worry about packing the basics, which makes it an easier holiday to prepare.

All in all, a very satisfactory let. I imagine in the heat of the summer this place would come into its own - with outdoor pool, tennis courts and a 20mn drive to the beautiful south Devon coast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGrandissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 5 lovely days in the Swallows cabin in April. Liz and Gordon were welcoming and provided some essentials and flowers on our arrival. Our dog was made welcome. The cabin, which is well equipped and cosy, has a large field for private use from which extensive views can be enjoyed. At night the stars were amazing. The country smells were wonderful. We enjoyed coastal and cross country walks especially enjoying the spring flowers in the lanes and the beautiful river walk to Colyton which is a very attractive town. The farm is very pretty and there is a good games room, a tennis court and a pool which is open from May. The beautiful seaside villages of Branscome and Beer are close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Barritshayes is possibly one of the loveliest places we have ever visited. We have stayed in one of the self catering barn conversions and also the B&B. The accommodation is excellent. It is immaculate. yet comfortable and cosy. Both Liz and Gordon are fantastic hosts, they are incredibly accommodating and friendly. The facilities they offer are tremendous, the pool is simply gorgeous, our 2 children spent most of the days we spent there swimming and having such fun. As for the tennis court and games room, Barritshayes has just about everything to keep young and old alike entertained. The breakfast was delicious!! We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJDare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This delightful farmstay has everything we needed to unwind after a hectic time. Liz and Gordon are classic hosts, warm, respectful and obliging. Our B&B bedroom was large and comfortable, looking out over green meadows. There are also units, some in the old stables, which are very appealing for self catering for a longer stay.

Close by we visited Pecorama, a train-garden with it's own miniature railway to take us around the delightful garden. It also has model railways in glass cases, based on actual places in several countries.

Beer is a beach town with the chalk cliffs of the South Devon Jurassic coast. It was a warm sunny day and we enjoyed lunch in the pub garden overlooking the wide beach. Nearby is a Roman quarry, showing the underground excavations of limestone for significant buildings through the ages.

Wonderful

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colyton hotels
1.5 mi away
Smallicombe Farm
Smallicombe Farm
#3 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
2.1 mi away
The Old Bakehouse
The Old Bakehouse
#1 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cobblers
The Cobblers
#5 of 5 in Colyton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barritshayes Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barritshayes Farm Cottages

Property: Barritshayes Farm Cottages
Address: Barritshayes Farm Northleigh Road, Colyton EX24 6DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Colyton
Hotel Class:4 star — Barritshayes Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secret Devon hideaway to share with family and friends. Whether you are interested in an activity holiday or a quiet getaway Barritshayes has it all. The Jurassic Coast is just a few miles away and the stunning scenery in an 'AONB' is home to abundant wildlife. There are wonderful views and an outdoor heated SWIMMING POOL, GAMES ROOM and TENNIS COURT. 4* cosy cottages for a winter break, open all year. Explore our 8 acres of land which includes croquet lawn, tennis court, children's play area, paddocks with horses and sheep, a productive vineyard and apple orchard, and take in the splendid panoramic views from the land which surrounds the house and cottages. Click here to find out more about the Vineyard and Apple Orchard ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barritshayes Farm Cottages Colyton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing