We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Old Bakehouse with my film crew last year and after a hectic run our two day stay was bliss! Francis made us feel at home straight away. Nothing was to much trouble, the breakfast was wonderful, the rooms clean and cosy. It was so relaxing I had to constantly remind myself I was working and not on holiday! It has wonderful surroundings, a rare gentle old village feel, pop over to the pub across the road for friendly folk and a fantastic Steak and Chips! We had a pint and even joined in on the quiz, great fun and lovely memories!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
52
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a lovely stay and would have liked to have stayed longer. Frances made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and the breakfast was great with plenty of choice.
The location is great for visiting the area as most thins are a short drive away. We would recommend this to anyone and will look forward to a returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Warm friendly welcome from Francis with a breakfast just how you would want it. Knowledge of the area is fantastic when i asked Francis for directions. There are no restrictions on when you can come and go unlike some i have stayed in.I will certainly stay again in the near future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had a very comfortable stay, every need was well catered for. The rooms were well equipped and the breakfast was wonderful, with a great selection of cereals and spreads. Colyton is a very pretty little town and an easy drive to many points of interest. We certainly hope to come and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay here. We are delighted that your stay was a success and we look forward to welcoming you back here some time.
With thanks,
Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Frances really made me feel welcome after a long, exhausting day. The Old Bakehouse is a real delight, olde worlde and charming, clean and tidy.

The breakfast was absolutely brilliant with sausages to die for. I have no hesitation in recommending The Old Bakehouse.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smile P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable here for our overnight stay, and Frances's knowledge of our requirements for gluten free food made the stay much easier. Loved the extra touches such as access to a residents' fridge for fresh milk. Frances seems keen to provide every home comfort. It has a goodlocation right in the middle of a very pretty village.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I recently stayed in the Old Bakehouse for the second time whilst on buisiness in the area. A very warm friendly welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
I would thouroughly recomend the Old Bake House.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to do the review, I'm delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us again,
Regards, Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
1.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.2 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
1.6 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakehouse

Property: The Old Bakehouse
Address: Lower Church Street, Colyton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300 year old characterful Grade II Listed Building with some original features. The Old Bakehouse is a 4star silver rated B&B housing twin, double or family ensuite rooms. Single occupancy rooms are available, and we offer group self catering breaks.Situated in the Saxon town of Colyton, nestling in the Axe Valley, and 3 miles from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast at Seaton.The Old Bakehouse is ideally located near Lyme Bay and between the coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth , on the borders of East Devon and West Dorset.We offer a warm welcome with a friendly, personalised service to all our guests, with free on site secure parking, use of our guest lounge and free wifi. Facilities are in place and graded for walkers and cyclists.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order using local produce wherever possible.Room service, packed lunches, afternoon tea and buffet functions/ parties are available to order.Iron, hair dryer , tumble drier, drying room and fridge for guest use are also in situ.We pride ourselves on offering high quality accommodation and facilities , and short breaks are a speciality.Open all year round , The Old Bakehouse is a great base for exploring the area by car, bicycle, on foot or by the local Seaton Tramway. Ideal for antique hunters,bird watchers,tram/ train enthusiasts, beach goers, fishing,golfing, horse riding or just walking on the East Devon Way or South West Coast path or cycling on the many routes around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakehouse Colyton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing