We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andy and Mary G's Return to home town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knottingley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Andy and Mary G's Return to home town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great welcome. Fantastic old building. 5 star room. Excellant food. The most friendly proprietor you could wish to encounter.

The above comments are from the heart, this was our annual visit to my home town made exceptional by Frances and the girls, as usual. Over the many years we have visited the 5 star treatment and accomodation is always as good as the last visit. If anything each visit gets better.

There is something for everyone in the area, sand and sea, walking, birdwatching, trams, stately homes, fantastic gardens and much more.

Frances is a font of information for places to visit in the area and has a very good stock of tourist information.

We would reccomend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted if we achieve a memorable, positive stay for our guests. It is lovely that you also recognise our continuous attempts to strive for a perfect stay, and our constant updates and new elements we introduce into the business. We enjoyed having you and look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Many thanks,
Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
52
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Meare
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A beautiful building set in the heart of a wonderful quaint village, with all the ingredients for a perfect week or weekend away including an extremely warm welcome from Francis and her staff. Upon arrival you are made to feel at home right away,with onsite parking (Handy in such a busy village) and Francis on standby to help with anything you cannot manage, settling into the Old Bakehouse couldn't be easier.
The room was extremely clean,from watching some programmes such as 'Four in a Bed' we did have a little explore around the room (We don't get out much!) and we couldn't find a single thing to complain about. We found it to be a perfect size,the shower was wonderful and the towels soft. We had ample room to store all our clothes for the wedding and the room helped make our weekend,it was also one of the cheaper places we could find but that was not at all reflected in our stay.
Breakfast was absolutely 5 star and Francis and her team could again not be anymore helpful,the food was plenty and tea,coffee and juice kept flowing. Set in a wonderful room with plenty of trinkets to keep the eyes amused, the 200 year old building gets shown off very well.
We came to Colyton for a wedding but we feel we may end up visiting Francis in her wonderful building again,perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we may get the chance to welcome you back here again sometime. We really enjoyed having you!
Regards, Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Well, just returned from my second visit to the Old Bakehouse in as many months, and again it did not disappoint. Frances the Proprietor is fantastic; she makes sure every detail is right and your comfort and enjoyment is her priority. The rooms are fresh and clean and those all important extras like matching decor, towels, bedding, fan, extra blankets, full size kettle and array of refreshments makes it feel like a real home from home. The standard of breakfast choice is top notch and delicious. Nothing is too much trouble! I would recommend Colyton as a great place to stay when visiting East Devon as it is so well located for all the nearby tourist attractions. Thank you for another wonderful stay and see you again soon!

Room Tip: No. 1 Blue Room is lovely - I have stayed there twice but I'm sure they are all just as good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaroom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to receive honest feedback to ensure we are offering a good personalised service. It keeps us on track and encouraged!! We very much look forward to welcoming you back here.
Many thanks,
Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a really lovely, clean and friendly place the Old Bakehouse was. The building is beautiful and Frances, the proprietor, was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her. When shown to our room, I was amazed at how clean and fresh everything was, even down to the bedlinen matching and the towels not only matching but were so soft and lovely. It was hot when we were there and bottled water was put in our rooms which was an excellent thought on the part of Frances and we were able to sit out in the evening in the garden which finished our day well. What can I say about breakfast? It was freshly cooked for us (anything we wanted) and gave a great start to the day. More tea, coffee, toast or anything else was available and appeared on the table in no time. We went on the railway from Colyton to Seaton. This was the greatest experience and fun. We saw so much wildlife on the trip in wetlands and amazing countryside. I can't wait to get back down there. I haven't relaxed so much in years. THANK YOU SO MUCH FRANCES AND ALL YOUR HELPERS.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for a very kind and positive review. The feedback is a great motivator and very supportive to myself and the staff. We are always thrilled when we know are guests are happy and have enjoyed all we have to offer!
Many thanks and looking forward to welcoming you back here some time.
Best wishes, Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Let me tell you that I have never stayed in a b&b (nor fancied doing so) but really needed a little break to get away from everything.... so I booked the Old Bakehouse after reading the reviews on tripadvisor.... On arrival we were made to feel so welcome and relaxed..It was great to have parking on the premisses.. The room was lovely and we didnt want for anything throughout our stay. Even down to bottled water in our room.. Clean towels and bedding whenever we wanted.. Nothing being too much trouble for Frances the owner... Even the young ladies who helped were polite and so helpful if you needed anything...What can I say about breakfast?? Best meal of my day!! You can order anything you want and its yummy....Luckerly the weather was great allowing us to enjoy the beautiful garden .... We went on the tram from the village into seaton enjoying wonderful views and wildlife (great value) Sidmouth is a very short drive for a lovely day out....All in all I cannot wait to return 10 out of 10 from me

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are greatly encouraged by the feedback and are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to come back again.regards, frances and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Old Bakehouse is a beautiful character building set in a lovely Devonshire village. This Bed and Breakfast was selected after looking at previous reviews on Tripadvisor. The Old Bakehouse lived up to its reviews the breakfast was excellent, excellent quality and lots of choice. The room was immaculately clean and fresh. There were nice touches, for example shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were provided. A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback! It's great encouragement and keeps us on the right track. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay- very clean and nice, great breakfast, and wonderful service! Only wish we could extend a week! A nice short walk from the renowned Seaton Tramway Colyton Station, great bird viewing from the trams and orientation to the walking trails in the marsh. Adjacent to the seashore yet hidden away in a great walkable village. Thanks Frances for a great week!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Do hope you make it back again for a proper holiday!
Regards,
Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
1.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.2 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
1.6 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakehouse

Property: The Old Bakehouse
Address: Lower Church Street, Colyton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300 year old characterful Grade II Listed Building with some original features. The Old Bakehouse is a 4star silver rated B&B housing twin, double or family ensuite rooms. Single occupancy rooms are available, and we offer group self catering breaks.Situated in the Saxon town of Colyton, nestling in the Axe Valley, and 3 miles from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast at Seaton.The Old Bakehouse is ideally located near Lyme Bay and between the coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth , on the borders of East Devon and West Dorset.We offer a warm welcome with a friendly, personalised service to all our guests, with free on site secure parking, use of our guest lounge and free wifi. Facilities are in place and graded for walkers and cyclists.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order using local produce wherever possible.Room service, packed lunches, afternoon tea and buffet functions/ parties are available to order.Iron, hair dryer , tumble drier, drying room and fridge for guest use are also in situ.We pride ourselves on offering high quality accommodation and facilities , and short breaks are a speciality.Open all year round , The Old Bakehouse is a great base for exploring the area by car, bicycle, on foot or by the local Seaton Tramway. Ideal for antique hunters,bird watchers,tram/ train enthusiasts, beach goers, fishing,golfing, horse riding or just walking on the East Devon Way or South West Coast path or cycling on the many routes around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakehouse Colyton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing