We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable,cosy and clean”
Review of The Old Bakehousei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bakehousei
Ranked #1 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comfortable,cosy and clean”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Another great weekend stay,lovely welcome from Frances and staff,never disappoints,look forward to next year's visit,is very near lots of lovely places to visit,such as Branscombe and beer and lovely location to be in, total relaxing stay, highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your positive comments, all very encouraging for us all here.
Always love to see you here. Hope to see you next year, all being well.
Regards,
Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
55
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We took a weekend trip to Axminster for the River Cottage Canteen (which was impressive, by the way), and stayed at the Old Bakehouse, which is a charming building. The owner, Frances, was a fantastic host and made us feel welcomed throughout our stay. Colyton is a quaint town and easily accessible to the Jurassic Coast via a short tram ride. Overall, It was a great trip in the Devon countryside!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonder-lust2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put a comment forward. It is great to have all feedback so we can monitor what we offer. Always so delighted that guests are happy staying here, and have a good overall experience. We really enjoyed leaving you all here.
Happy Christmas and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I'm told that Saturday nights in Colyton aren't what they were a few decades ago. I spent one recent Saturday night in the company of a group of fifty-somethings, if they'll excuse that general description of them, who, I am sure, painted the town very red in their day. They made a very good fist of this more recent attempt.

The combined 110th birthday party that night was the reason I was there, the Old Bakehouse was the place chosen by my very best friend for us to stay. Not least because I was celebrating my own 53rd the following day.

The welcome at the Old Bakehouse is second-to-none. Frances is a warm, friendly and welcoming host who provided us with a large pot of tea on our arrival and wiped down the garden seats for us after recent wet weather so we could enjoy the pleasure of sitting outside.

Our room was bright, comfortable and spacious enough for our short visit. While the bath was small this was not a disadvantage as a shower is all I usually require during a weekend away.

This stay was part of my birthday present and Frances had been pre-warned. Having enjoyed a wonderful, if late, night I awoke to a breakfast table sprinkled with birthday greeting, a personal card and a small present - all done out of a desire to be a warm and welcoming host.

I am vegan and when booked, Frances clearly had no difficulty in confirming her willingness to cater for my dietary requirements. In fact, my breakfast was superb, and a far cry from standard attempts at vegan catering by mainstream hotels. I was presented with an options menu the evening before and enjoyed a beatiful fruit platter and cooked breakfast that included tofu.

Frances is someone who, clearly, is willing to go the extra distance to ensure her guests have the best possible experience and does so for all the right reasons. I have nothing but praise for the Old Bakehouse experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukvillafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback your comments from your recent visit.
We are thrilled that you had a great experience here, after all that is what it is all about for us.
Delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and birthday. We really enjoyed meeting you both and welcoming you here.
Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back again sometime.
Many thanks, and best wishes, Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have been visiting this delightful B&B for the last fifteen years ... when I need a mini break ... and it has never disappointed! Ideally situated for access to many beautiful places both inland and on the coast.
Breakfasts remain a highlight & the refurbished bathroom with its new range of toiletries is hugely successful!
The ratings speak for themselves.
Frances, you excel every time, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your support and feedback. We are always very happy to welcome customers back here. We all enjoy giving the best we can and constantly look for ways to continue improvements and updates. So glad you enjoyed another stay here.
Grateful thanks, Frances and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Fantastic welcome and a warm drink from the proprietor Frances. A beautiful old building, with very modern décor, really comfortable room with matching furnishings and ultra soft towels the bedding being changed mid week and the towels much more frequently. I was in a "single" room with a double comfortable bed and lots of room and wardrobe space, en suite, kettle an assortment of tea and coffee and biscuits. Also a very comfortable lounge where you can sit with your own drinks of an evening The food is 7 star, lots of choice for breakfast, nothing is too much trouble for Frances and the girls. Colyton is a lovely quaint village and is central for visiting East Devon or beyond, and Frances is a mind of information of where to go with an abundance of leaflets.. I will definately be visiting for a third time in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: I was in a single room at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. Always keen to get feedback so we can continue to up our game here. We are thrilled that your experience and stay here was all that you wanted.
We'll be delighted to see you again here sometime.
Thank you. Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knottingley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great welcome. Fantastic old building. 5 star room. Excellant food. The most friendly proprietor you could wish to encounter.

The above comments are from the heart, this was our annual visit to my home town made exceptional by Frances and the girls, as usual. Over the many years we have visited the 5 star treatment and accomodation is always as good as the last visit. If anything each visit gets better.

There is something for everyone in the area, sand and sea, walking, birdwatching, trams, stately homes, fantastic gardens and much more.

Frances is a font of information for places to visit in the area and has a very good stock of tourist information.

We would reccomend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted if we achieve a memorable, positive stay for our guests. It is lovely that you also recognise our continuous attempts to strive for a perfect stay, and our constant updates and new elements we introduce into the business. We enjoyed having you and look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Many thanks,
Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meare
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A beautiful building set in the heart of a wonderful quaint village, with all the ingredients for a perfect week or weekend away including an extremely warm welcome from Francis and her staff. Upon arrival you are made to feel at home right away,with onsite parking (Handy in such a busy village) and Francis on standby to help with anything you cannot manage, settling into the Old Bakehouse couldn't be easier.
The room was extremely clean,from watching some programmes such as 'Four in a Bed' we did have a little explore around the room (We don't get out much!) and we couldn't find a single thing to complain about. We found it to be a perfect size,the shower was wonderful and the towels soft. We had ample room to store all our clothes for the wedding and the room helped make our weekend,it was also one of the cheaper places we could find but that was not at all reflected in our stay.
Breakfast was absolutely 5 star and Francis and her team could again not be anymore helpful,the food was plenty and tea,coffee and juice kept flowing. Set in a wonderful room with plenty of trinkets to keep the eyes amused, the 200 year old building gets shown off very well.
We came to Colyton for a wedding but we feel we may end up visiting Francis in her wonderful building again,perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehousei, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we may get the chance to welcome you back here again sometime. We really enjoyed having you!
Regards, Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
4.2 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
435 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakehousei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakehousei

Property: The Old Bakehousei
Address: Lower Church Street, Colyton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300 year old characterful Grade II Listed Building with some original features. The Old Bakehouse is a 4star silver rated B&B housing twin, double or family ensuite rooms. Single occupancy rooms are available, and we offer group self catering breaks.Situated in the Saxon town of Colyton, nestling in the Axe Valley, and 3 miles from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast at Seaton.The Old Bakehouse is ideally located near Lyme Bay and between the coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth , on the borders of East Devon and West Dorset.We offer a warm welcome with a friendly, personalised service to all our guests, with free on site secure parking, use of our guest lounge and free wifi. Facilities are in place and graded for walkers and cyclists.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order using local produce wherever possible.Room service, packed lunches, afternoon tea and buffet functions/ parties are available to order.Iron, hair dryer , tumble drier, drying room and fridge for guest use are also in situ.We pride ourselves on offering high quality accommodation and facilities , and short breaks are a speciality.Open all year round , The Old Bakehouse is a great base for exploring the area by car, bicycle, on foot or by the local Seaton Tramway. Ideal for antique hunters,bird watchers,tram/ train enthusiasts, beach goers, fishing,golfing, horse riding or just walking on the East Devon Way or South West Coast path or cycling on the many routes around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bakehousei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakehousei Colyton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing