We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent rural getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Picket Mead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Phil Step...
1 review
“Excellent rural getaway”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a fantastic holiday in a lovely rural setting, helped by sunny days throughout the week. We had a great time with very friendly locals in the village. The cottage is extremely old and so you do need to be aware of low beams and some damp areas. As stated in the details, electricity and logs are extra so you need to account for the cost of these which is likely to wipe out your deposit (however we didn't feel this was unreasonable). The owner Marion is always very helpful. Overall a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to bear in mind additional heating costs (having opted for a non all-inclusive cottage).
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
A firm which specializes in old buildings has now treated and re-plastered the damp area at the back of the living room.

As we have had an exceptionally cold April this year with very chilly nights, the cost of electricity has proved to be more than usual.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila B
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Devon Cottage in wonderful setting”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Set in a small hamlet next to the church this cottage is in a lovely setting.
The pictures on the website do not do the cottage justice, all the rooms are a good size, even the single bedroom. Yes the doorways are low on the ground floor as is part of the ceiling in the main room but this is an old building and it just adds to the charm. There is a secure garden which my 3 year old grandson loved and was great for a bbq.
All the rooms are well furnished and the beds are very comfortable, we all enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the future.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great cottage in a wonderful setting, very peaceful a good place for a family holiday or a quiet relaxing break
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAllen66
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Country Cottage”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My friend and I hired this cottage for two weeks in June, even though the pictures and information about the cottage was what we wanted it excelled our expectations. Every room was more spacious than we expected, and we enjoyed every moment we stayed there. The owner was a most delightful lady and extremely friendly and could not go more out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The cottage had every facility you could imagine whether it was rain or shine. It was set in a quite village between a church and a village hall where both did not disturb you at any time. By the end of our holiday we wished we didn't have to leave and cannot wait to enjoy another holiday there as soon as possible.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussiefro...
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint charming cottage for cultural experience but difficult to find without satnav”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has everything we needed, it was clean and I had expected it would have been smaller for it's age. We were visiting from Australia and I chose Picket Mead because it was interesting and rural. We were visiting relatives in Seaton and reasonably priced accommodation was difficult to find for that weekend.
After driving down country lanes to reach Southleigh my 14 year old son thought the trip worthy of a rally stage but do not let that daunt you. The cottage overlooks a beautiful church also dating about 1600's and I awoke before my children and enjoyed a walk through the church yard and into the paddock next door down to the creek where the dairy cows grazed.
Marion welcomed us and even provided some milk and teabags. We did not have any meals at the cottage and I wish we could have stayed a little longer. It would be a great place to get away from civilization and relax for the weekend although the TV was tiny we did turn it on one morning but a I think it would have been better to have played a board game from the cupboard.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Hard to find
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
We have now installed a new Panasonic TV with 24 inch screen and purchased a separate DVD player which we have attached to the TV.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrWatson6
Milton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice quirky devon cottage”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

very nice cottage, very quirky typical of its age. low ceilings, uneven floors, stripped pine floors upstairs.
the cottage is well furnished and has a lovely wood burner in the lounge.
the low beams are a bit of a pain, literally! and if you are 6ft + prepare yourself!
also the stairs are very old, and not for the aged or infirm. they could do with updating to make them safer. kitchen well equipped with toaster, micro, oven etc.
well furnished throughout, although eclectic, nice bathroom and shower, loads of hot water. beds are comfortable and firm. clean throughout. TV is tiny, views are lovely.
Cottage is in Southleigh which is a bit of a trek (1mile plus!) from the main road, which means small lanes, reversing when people come the other way etc, but you can't not like the setting, for peace and quiet its hard to beat.
off street parking and very quaint.
only thing that was a real shame is no WIFI or Broadband. which if its not a bother to you , great. but for me it would hinder booking again. 3G is there in sporadic parts of the cottage, and mobile signal is poor. if you like being in touch with the outside world, its a real pain.
the owners were very nice, and perhaps will think about WIFI as an added extra in the future, as for some, its really needed these days.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
As the cottage is at least 300 years old the ceiling in one section of the living room is quite low, as are three of the doorways. However, the kitchen/dining area, which was added at a later date, is fine for height, as is the entire upstairs.

During the winter a handrail is to be installed at one side of the stairs and the existing balustrade will be strengthened at the same time.

We are also seriously considering installing wi-fi for the beginning of the new season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful setting, quaint cottage.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a lovely week at the end of July/beginning of August. We were made very welcome by Marion (the owner) and enjoyed our week. The cottage is full of character with the low beams and the lovely log burner for the evenings. We visited various coastal towns close by and especially enjoyed our relaxing visit to Branscombe which was recommended by Marion's family who were staying next door.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character of the cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianH186...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, tranquil setting”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012

The cottage is set in a lovely valley, overlooking the church. It is surrounded by farmland, although the coast is only a few miles away along country lanes.
A wood burner in the large living room adds to the homely feel, as do the free standing units in the well equipped kitchen. There is ample space in all the bedrooms which have lovely views down the valley.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: The muddy roads
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.