We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picket Mead”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Picket Mead

Front view of Picket Mead
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Picket Mead
Back view of Picket Mead and Garden Sitting room / dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Front view of Picket Mead
Back view of Picket Mead and Garden
Sitting room / dining room
Sitting room
Dining room / sitting room
Sitting room / dining room window
Front door
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
View into back garden from sitting room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Landing
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen garden door
View from across the valley - arrow shows cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MAllen66
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Picket Mead”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This will be the fourth year running my friend and I have stayed in this beautiful cottage, The cottage is always spotlessly clean and there are always fresh flowers put in the windows when you arrive and you get a warm friendly welcome from the owner. this year we had the privilege of seeing two local weddings while we were staying here.
The scenery is lovely and the peace and quiet is wonderful. just what is needed to escape the busy life around town . There are some nice local pubs just a short drive from the cottage where they serve some really good meals. we have booked again for next year as we love the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
I'm so glad that you continue to enjoy the cottage and it's surroundings and look forward to welcoming you again for your fifth year

Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review. I should like to respond to the points made.

As stated in the details Picket Mead dates from the 16th century and is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

Although there are new damp proof floors in the sitting room and kitchen, the walls have been re-plastered and breathable paint used, in common with most old properties that do not have a damp course due to their age, it is very difficult to eliminate all damp. Additional draught proofing will be carried out shortly.

There are two storage heaters downstairs and an additional storage heater upstairs, which work on off peak electricity, but when asked if they would like them switched on, the guests declined. There are also several free standing heaters available.

As the website states in detail electricity is free of charge up to the stated figure, but any additional electricity used has to be paid for at the current price and all logs used are charged for at cost.

The wood burner which was swept and checked earlier in the summer is reliable and should only need intermittent attention.

In order to safeguard as many features as possible, we retained the winding, wooden staircase. There is a very strong rope balustrade, secured with wood which we recommend guests to use when ascending/descending the stairs.

One of the photographs of the cottage on the website shows its location in a beautiful valley in the small village of Southleigh. It is true that the surrounding lanes are narrow, but there are many passing places and these lanes enable Southleigh retain its rural location and resist development. Colyton with its pubs,shops and other amenities is just 4 kilometres away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth P
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful old cottage with wonderful peaceful scenery”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed in this really lovely old cottage with original features, but with the modern day equipment. It's in a really lovely and beautiful peaceful setting in east Devon. Very cosy and comfortable. Marrion the owner is lovely and ready to please everyone .We will return to this cottage again soon .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAllen66
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Like coming home”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a joy to be at Picket mead again from 11th to 25th June 2016. Another delightful holiday in a quiet village in a delightful old cottage. No matter what the weather there is always something to do in and around the area, plenty of places to ramble and plenty of places to sit and enjoy the views. When we arrive at Picket Mead it feels like home with the warm and friendly welcome from the owners. Plenty of room to accommodate many to stay. Facilities when we will return again.include heaters and log burner but have never had the need to use these. Looking forward to

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne G
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Time out to relax”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This was our second time of staying at Picket Mead. We found the cottage clean, comfortable and welcoming. It is a delightful cottage and an ideal base for exploring the area by the coast and inland. As we stayed in the early autumn, evenings were cool, so we appreciated being able to relax in front of a log fire after a day walking in the fresh air or exploring the towns and villages nearby. Our time away staying at Picket Mead was relaxing and refreshing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful yet convenient location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
1 review
“Halloween holiday”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We have stayed at Picket Mead on a couple of occasions and we will return as it offers us exactly what we are looking for.
If you want noise, 5 star comfort, and theme park activity then don't come! However if you desire a peaceful, relaxing, autonomous break, time in a quintessentially historic location in an old character cottage with little interference from the outside world this is it.
This is not to say that you are cut off, far from it Picket Mead can offer a central Base or a quiet retreat, it is what you make of it.
The facilities offer choice. You can use as much or as little of what is provided by the owners, in which ever way suits your lifestyle. Walks,coast, public houses and towns are all around you and although the access to the cottage is along single tracked lanes this helps to stop casual passing traffic.
The beds are comfortable, cottage is clean ( even with a log burner) and logs are provided at a small cost.
No local shops within comfortable walking distance so a car is a must...but who cares!
Owners are very friendly and helpful and willing to accommodate you...just ask.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armstrong...
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here in the Easter break and we were no happy at all. The cottage have a very bad smell which I get as it is old. Damp on the walls, very very dusty and the upstairs floors are all very slippery. Mats are out down but they slide all over the place they do not have any backing on the to prevent a fall. Bath panel coming off. all the furniture in the cottage is very old and dated to a point it is so worn and very uncomfortable. The much furniture in this cottage it's not needed. A plug socket is installed right on the guard rails to the cot. God for bid if a baby was in the cot and they put their finger in it. And the deposit for the electric well what a rip off that is because you will not get a lot back. No going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
We were rather surprised to receive this review as we had been told how much these guests had enjoyed their Easter holiday. They even said that they wanted to come for another holiday next year.

As part of the refurbishment, the walls of the cottage had been re-plastered and damp proofed, but as the cottage is several hundred years old it is impossible, as stated in the details, to guarantee total elimination of damp.

Before guests arrive we always spend at least five hours cleaning the cottage thoroughly and making other preparations to welcome them. Additionally, when necessary, we turn on the heaters at our cost the night before in readiness. The cottage was definitely not dusty and certainly did not smell.

The upstairs floors have been professionally sanded and sealed and are not slippery. These guests did not have a baby using the cot, but when a baby does come we always insert a socket protector in the socket near the cot, provide additional socket protectors and ensure there are no trailing wires near the cot.

If guests prefer not to have mats on the floor they can easily place them in the bottom of the fitted wardrobe or elsewhere.

The side bath panel fits to the back and front panels in the normal way.

All the beds are relatively new and in good clean condition and the cottage is furnished, as the photographs show, with a mix of modern and antique furniture. As it is spacious there is plenty of room for guests to move around. However after these guests had left, we did discover that two items of furniture had been damaged and these have now been repaired.

As stated on the booking form, .electricity is charged at cost, per unit used.

Nevertheless, if the guests had discussed any problems with us during their stay, we would of course have rectified any justified concerns.

We always try to make guests comfortable and give good service as shown by the other reviews received.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing